Virgin Australia Reviews | Opinions of Virgin Australia shared by travelers



Virgin Australia

Virgin Australia logo
IATA code:VA
ICAO code:VAU
Alliance: Virgin
Overall Satisfaction:
3.2 out of 5
58.8% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with Virgin Australia.
58.8% of people who wrote a review think Virgin Australia offers a good value for money.
41.2% of people who wrote a review think Virgin Australia offers a excellent customer service.
Classes of service
Economy
82.4%
Business
17.6%
First
0%
Customer Service
Excellent
41.2%
Good
23.5%
Satisfactory
0%
Poor
11.8%
Very Poor
23.5%
Virgin Blue was rebranded as Virgin Australia on May 4, 2011. V Australia, a long haul international airline, was absorbed by Virgin Australia on 7 December 2011 and ceased to operate under the V Australia name. The New Zealand-based airline Pacific Blue was also rebranded and absorbed into Virgin Australia in December 2011. You can now submit your review for V Australia, Pacific Blue and Virgin Blue on this page.
Spread the word...
Plan a trip
Popular Destinations
How is Virgin Australia ranked...?
#1
50.3 total score
32 reviews
41% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#2
46 total score
36 reviews
36% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#3
64 total score
17 reviews
59% Recommended
59% Value for Money
3.5/5 Customer Service
#4
29.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#5
27.2 total score
8 reviews
13% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.9/5 Customer Service
#6
19 total score
8 reviews
0% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service
#7
28.8 total score
26 reviews
15% Recommended
31% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#1
75.8 total score
15 reviews
73% Recommended
73% Value for Money
3.9/5 Customer Service
#2
64 total score
17 reviews
59% Recommended
59% Value for Money
3.5/5 Customer Service
#3
50.3 total score
32 reviews
41% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#4
46 total score
36 reviews
36% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#5
100 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
5/5 Customer Service
#6
29.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#7
27.2 total score
8 reviews
13% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.9/5 Customer Service
#8
19 total score
8 reviews
0% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service
#9
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#10
28.8 total score
26 reviews
15% Recommended
31% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#1
86.9 total score
7 reviews
86% Recommended
86% Value for Money
4.3/5 Customer Service
#2
69.8 total score
6 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.7/5 Customer Service
#3
64 total score
17 reviews
59% Recommended
59% Value for Money
3.5/5 Customer Service
Not rated

Virgin Australia Reviews

"no reservation after ticket paid for by points"

Review

Virgin Australia does not care about their frequent flyer velocity members. Points fully deducted from velocity account and airport taxes paid in full. I arrived at check in only to be told that i did not have a reservation for the flight. I had to travel on another airline and pay for tickets at full price. Virgin Australia runs a dishonest loyalty program. They are just as bad as the low cost carriers. Will think of other ways to spend up the points and will never again fly with them. Back to Qantas FF.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review
Advertisement

"Horror!!!"

Review

Have you noticed that short haul International tickets you purchase from VA are COMPLETELY non-refundable? Get a load of this: http://www.virginaustralia.com/au/en/plan/fees-surcharges/short-haul-international All you get is the 12 months credit for future purchases (if any), less $120 fine for cancellation. After 12 months, the credit "expiresa", i.e. the company retains al your money. Good luck!!!

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review

"Very enjoyable"

Review

Love the direction that VA is going with its branding, customer service and product. On our outbound direct flight from MEL the crew were excellent, very professional whilst remaining friendly and energetic throughout the 6hr flight. As it was a day time flight the 737 was comfortable although its a very basic business class seat even for a 737. They also can only furnish you with a minimal selection of beverages due to the small galley. The wifi inflight entertainment worked well but to make full use of it bring your own ipad instead of using one of VA's and make sure you download the app before you get on the plane.

Our flight home via SYD was a late night flight and the seats were no good for sleep. The staff were professional but lacked a little warmth. I kid you not we disembarked at gate 1, used electronic passport control, picked up our bags and had checked in for our domestic flight in less than 20 minutes. Most of the staff and the domestic check in were to busy comparing nails but the manager took care of us.

Only in Australia would 6 hours be considered a short haul international flight ;) but seriously this flight is really calling out for a bigger plane for passenger comfort and I'm sure they could fill it as all our flights were completely full.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Good
Cabin:Business Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review

"Virgin australia syd-lax"

Review

My flight to lax was perfect! There was good service and excellent facilities. I also felt very safe on board. I would highly recommend Virgin Australia.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Excellent
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review

"SYD - LAX"

Review

I flew V Australia with my family a few times now, and there is no other airline i would fly with.

The staff are very helpful, entertainment great, facilities good.

The only down side about Virgin might be there food.

Other than that, they are good value for money and highly recommended

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Good
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review

"great service"

Review

my wife and I flew from melbourne to hobart in business class on flight va 1332. 26.04.2013
i had the flu and my wife has a dietary problem with capsicums, the flight attendant went out of his way to accommodate both problems and made the flight very enjoyable
thanks very much

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Excellent
Cabin:Business Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review

"Don't take diving gear on their flights!"

Review

I must first provide an explanation: When the safety demo is shown to passengers - a buoyancy compensator
is used (not a life vest or jacket) with 2 cords to pull. Each cord is attached to a 28 gram 3" lg CO2 cylinder for
inflation. If there are 200 passengers - there are 400 cylinders on each flight. Which means they are safe to
have on any aircraft.
Our original flight was missed because they changed the time. I just paid about $1,000 for the 3 of us to
catch Virgin Au to Sydney because we had a connecting flight to go to Auckland. Just before take off I was
told I had to leave the plane with my check in or fly without it because my buoyancy compensator used in
snorkeling had a 28gr CO2 cylinder attached. I told them to unscrew it. They said they could not unless I
stayed behind to watch. When we landed in Sydney I was told the pilot thought it over and said if I called
and gave permission, they could remove it from the bag. I also had 4 spare ones in the their original package
that were also taken (without permission). It took 3 days and many ph calls to finally get my bag. At one
point I was told my bag was lost. Then I was told it was in quarantine. I called customs and they said they
don't quarantine bags. The delivery guy was going to wait another day if I had not called again. It caused me
to miss a tour. On the way back we stopped in Fiji for a dive. No one had any cylinders so I had to risk my
life by taping up the hole where the CO2 screwed in. Most of my life I've wanted to go to these 3 countries
and now thanks to them I hope I never see them again. All of this because they can have 400 cylinders on
board and they just had to ruin my vacation of a life time over just one. I hope others can find out just how
stupid Virgin Au airline is.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review

"Business class treatment Wow (CBR-SYD Fail)"

Review

Booking business all the way from Canberra was not quite what I expected. The international leg from Syd was truly amazing, however the CBR to SYD was less then expected. They charge me $40 for 3.8 kg excess even though I was moving permanently to the UAE and explained that to them and the Sydney girls said there is no way they should have done that. But overall flying with VA Business was amazing. Awesome seats, meals, service and entertainment.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Good
Cabin:Business Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review
Wed, 12/05/2012 11:18 AM
4 years ago

Hi mrtracy, I think the route Sydney-Abu Dhabi is operated by Etihad and Virgin Australia is codesharing with Etihad... So when you say that the international leg from SYD was truly amazing, you are talking about Etihad.

Sat, 12/15/2012 10:56 AM
4 years ago

Hi nip

Under the codeshare agreement you can actually end up on either airlines equipment which has lead to some confusion/disappointment on occasion for customers. Great on this occasion that mtracy enjoyed her VA experience.

Sat, 12/15/2012 12:03 PM
4 years ago

No. Both legs were actually operated by VA aircraft and crew. The Canberra to Sydney leg was a propjet with no business class and not a good experience (charged $40 for 3kgs even as a VA Gold member), but the VA aircraft and crew Sydney to Abu Dhabi were excellent.

"Delayed Flight"

Review

I am absolutely disgusted in Virgin Airlines, all i've heard about them in the last month or so has been all bad then I have my own flight with them and it has already been delayed for 5 hours. I don't understand how this can happen when there was another virgin flight to Adelaide leave at 3pm and we are having to wait untill 5...well thats what they are telling us. Why would you not let the people who had already been waiting for 2 hours get on that flight and let the other people wait. It's a fucking joke and i will never be flying with them again and will only give bad reviews and tell whoever I can what a shitty company it is, you expect this from tiger...not virgin.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review

"Treated like dirt!"

Review

My wife and I have been using Qantas in the past on a yearly basis to visit our family in Australia. We used VAustralia airline on the last two occasions. On our last flight from LAX to Sydney and back again, customer service was horrible. Cabin staff, including ground crew, were very rude and treated us like dirt. Especially the ground crew in Sydney dealt with us in a Gestapo like fashion. During the flight, when asked for an additional pillow, we were told none are left, yet later on they were carrying pillows to the back of the plane. They changed their rules as they felt. The food was horrible and on flight to Sydney we were offered a snack during the flight between breakfast and dinner, but not on the flight to LAX. The seats were so hard that after few hours it became incredibly uncomfortable and unbearable to seat. During the flight to Sydney, air conditioning was left on at full blast and although both of us were heavily dressed, we froze by the time we arrived to Australia. I did ask stewardess if she could tone it down a bit but I was told it couldn’t be controlled. I could go on and on about our horrible experiences with VAustralia. Bottom line, I have informed my family on both continents about it and to be aware. We fly regularly to Australia to visit our families and we will never be using this airline again. Wrote to corporate offices about it, and with no surprise, they just shrugged us off.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Virgin Australia review
Mon, 06/04/2012 03:32 PM
5 years ago

I have already flown with Virgin Australia and found their customer service quite good. But I believe you can travel with some staff who are not always happy to work some days. I have already noticed that ground staff often are more unfriendly than inflight staff. I am not sure Qantas or other airlines flying the same route have a better service.