Toronto - Georgetown Flight Reviews

Spread the word...
Toronto
Georgetown
Fly Jamaica Airways
Global
20.7 total score
35 reviews
6% Recommended
17% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service
Toronto-Georgetown route
16.4 total score
7 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.6/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Fri, 05/05/2017 06:09 PM
YYZ » GEO
From Pearson International Airport (Toronto) to Cheddi Jagan International Airport (Georgetown)
1 out of 5
Wild West Service In Guyana
I don't really like to write reviews, despite all my hiccups once I am home I would forget and move on, but, I asked myself, how will this attitude help others? Do I really care enough to create awareness? Well after a horrible ordeal on my last trip to Guyana two weeks ago, I have decided I say just how I feel. Service is very important especially when you are paying with your hard earned money. I always read reviews before going on trips, and some times you have to give a blind eye to some. But I wish I had looked up the reviews before I booked. First of all when I called in two weeks before I travelled, I was lied to telling me that th aircraft was fully booked, because it's Easter everyone is going to Guyana. So I quickly secure the seats. To my surprise half the aircraft was empty....funny eh? Then after speaking with some people, I learned I paid like $200-300 more than most people on the flight......anyways, so much for my wonderful contact I have, HE ripped me OFF. The aircraft is very old. While in the air, breathing mask was dropping down, luggage compartment overhead was flying open ( mind yo there was no turbalance) The service in Georgetown Guyana is horrible. There's no order, you have to drag your luggage to check in, then drag it some where else For customs, all confusion, with no help. What really makes me upset this trip is upon arrival, we waited 3hrs for our luggages, which we got but one missing. We have decided to leave because we were tired and no one couldn't find our luggage, a letter was issue to us that our luggage was lost. Since this is an additional suitcase I brought, I paid $150 CDN for it. About midnight a call came in the luggage was found. I told them to deliver it which they refused to do, next day they called to say they can deliver it for a fee of $30 bucks. I told them before they do so they should open the luggage(since it was not locked) and check to see if the items were spoiled (I had pershible items) I was told they were spoiled and it needs to go In the garbage. I contacted the rep. Whom I booked my flight with to file a claim, I asked to please make this easy for me since I do not want anymore stress. Folks, I must let you know I was also robbed at gun point while there, 4 armed bandits stormed the house I was staying at just as it got dark and robbed us, thank God we are back home safe to our kids. This incident has traumatized me and I am hoping In time this horrible memory will fade away. I lost a lot, I did airline of my robbery. I lost a lot since I was there to do charity work and vacation in one, but thank God my life was spared to see another day.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Advertisement
Fri, 01/06/2017 08:23 PM
GEO » YYZ
From Cheddi Jagan International Airport (Georgetown) to Pearson International Airport (Toronto)
1 out of 5
Untrained employees!
They have no customer services abilities, need to be trained how to speak to the their customer especially when the airline can not provide the services to theirs paying customers. My flight going to Guyana delayed for FIVE HOURS,finally got there and guess what? NO BAGGAGES. Three days later then we got our stuff.Now returning to Toronto they had no room for my hand pieces in the the plane, so I spoke up because I didn't want my hand pieces to be check baggages because I had electronics,jewellery and other stuff I needed for my children. So because I spoke I was the one " acting like an ass" Yes security was called in who called me an Ass. I WILL NEVER USE FLY JAMAICA AGAIN!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Mon, 12/19/2016 09:31 AM
YYZ » GEO
From Pearson International Airport (Toronto) to Cheddi Jagan International Airport (Georgetown)
1 out of 5
Experience
I am a mother of three children a 10,8 and a 1 year old. One of the things that upset me is that my two older children was assigned different seats from where I was seated. My children was in the front of the plan,while I was in the back of the plane with my baby, I spoke to the attendants and let them know that my kids were not sitting beside me and both of them are under the age of 16 years old and they told me to have a seat, once everyone is seated they would ask any passengers to change seats. I was happy that 2 of the passengers was will do exchange their seats for me and I thank both attendant and passengers . The next thing is our flight was suppose to leave at 9:00am and did not leave Toronto until 11:30am which u know set back Everyone whole day. Our plan landed in Georgetown Guyana at 5:30pm we all were thankful that we landed safely. To add to everything that was going on when I got to pick up my luggages it was not their. So now as a mother you have three young children on vacation with no change of clothes,my one year old has no diapers, wipes , clothes or formula and you heard your luggages will not arrive until Tuesday December 20,2016. Now I feel as if they know they plan is only suppose to take a certain amount of luggages let your customers know that their is a chance that your luggages will not arrive the same time as you. Now my family had different activities for myself and children to do while we are on vacation and will not be able to do so until our luggages get to Guyana on Tuesday and that's if theirs space on the plan. I do not recommend this air line at all
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Fri, 09/25/2015 10:56 PM
YYZ » GEO
From Pearson International Airport (Toronto) to Cheddi Jagan International Airport (Georgetown)
1 out of 5
NEVER AGAIN! BEYOND DISAPPOINTED!
This airline is beyond FUCKED UP! We were travelling from Toronto Pearson International Airport on to Georgetown, Guyana arrived 2 hours before the the departure time, we then check-in and I must mention we had a BROWN ASSOCIATE who behaved like a perfect fucking bitch saying that we are baggages were overweight when the limit for checked in baggage is 50 lbs per suitcase and 22 lbs for luggage, however, one of our suitcase was 39.2 lbs to be specific and the other was 52 lbs; he weighed them side by side and he made us pay $75 CAN for overweight suitcases when it was not overweight. When the time came for boarding they told us that we couldn't keep our luggage in the over head cabin they took it and packed it where they keep all the suitcases. How convenient is Fly Jamaica then? 0 out of 100 I'd say! They are a waste of time and money! I rather sail with a ship to get to my final destination than to fly again with is airline. ABSOLUTE WORST!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Fri, 09/25/2015 10:52 PM
YYZ » GEO
From Pearson International Airport (Toronto) to Cheddi Jagan International Airport (Georgetown)
1 out of 5
NEVER AGAIN! BEYOND DISAPPOINTED!
This airline is beyond FUCKED UP! We were travelling from Toronto Pearson International Airport on to Georgetown, Guyana arrived 2 hours before the the departure time, we then check-in and I must mention we had a BROWN ASSOCIATE who behaved like a perfect fucking bitch saying that we are baggages were overweight when the limit for checked in baggage is 50 lbs per suitcase and 22 lbs for luggage, however, one of our suitcase was 39.2 lbs to be specific and the other was 52 lbs; he weighed them side by side and he made us pay $75 CAN for overweight suitcases when it was not overweight. When the time came for boarding they told us that we couldn't keep our luggage in the over head cabin they took it and packed it where they keep all the suitcases. How convenient is Fly Jamaica then? 0 out of 100 I'd say! They are a waste of time and money! I rather sail with a ship to get to my final destination than to fly again with is airline. ABSOLUTE WORST!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Wed, 08/20/2014 06:12 PM
YYZ » GEO
From Pearson International Airport (Toronto) to Cheddi Jagan International Airport (Georgetown)
1 out of 5
DO NOT BOOK WITH FLY JAMAICA
I was scheduled to travel with Fly Jamaica on July 11th 2014 out of Toronto Pearson to Georgetown, Guyana. Upon reviewing the customer statements on this website, I've found that my experience is much like that of the other travellers. This airline is a complete NIGHTMARE to deal with. I was confident upon booking, and of course glad to save a few dollars with what seemed to be a last minute booking. On the date of travel, we received an email stating that the flight was delayed until the next day. There were 5 travellers in total (myself, my sister, her spouse, and their 3 & 5 yr old children). The flight was scheduled for departure at 9am, so we were up at 530 to arrive for 7am check-in, security etc. Once we arrived at the airport the check-in line was ridiculously long and we were wondering if we would even make it to our flight on time. A Fly Jamaica representative advised us that the flight had been delayed until 1130am (somewhat of a relief due the short time we had left). Our 1130 departure never happened. We boarded the plane (almost 12pm), and sat there for over an hour due to "mechanical" problems. They said the plane was missing a part...?????. The passengers (some who were experiencing this for the 2nd time) were obviously annoyed and we were given food vouchers while we waited (a minute offering compared to what was to follow). After over 2hrs of waiting they advised the passengers the flight was NOW cancelled. Passengers rushed to the Fly Jamaica offices in the Pearson Terminal and due to the nature/urgency of travel, the manager made arrangements for some to board a CARIBBEAN AIRWAYS flight that would be leaving that evening. There were approximately 143 passengers scheduled to travel with Fly Jamaica. The manager in the office claimed that they would be chartering a jet to depart on the 13th (he said the CEO of the airline was in the process of making this arrangement). So once again, we put our trust (whatever little was left) in Fly Jamaica. They made hotel arrangements and we waited to travel on Sunday. With no calls to update us, we called to verify the flight status. We were given SEVERAL different responses, and due to the lack of communication/awareness and customer service across ALL channels, we opted for a refund. This is where the airlines shady business practices REALLY come into play. I decided to write this letter to warn ALL passengers who are considering travel with Fly Jamaica. DON'T DO IT!!!! I wish I read the reviews before booking because I would have paid a little more to avoid such a nightmare. It's been 6 weeks and we HAVE NOT received our refund. I've called their offices several times (from Guyana to Kingston), and am constantly given the run around. One minute they are in the process of issuing the refund, the next they tell me that nothing has been posted. I've called the airlines well over a dozen times, attempting to get some definite information with over $4,000 in limbo. I advise any travellers PLEASE save yourself the hassle. It's already exhausting to fly, and my experience continues with no provision of such a service. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BOOK WITH FLY JAMAICA!!! There's more to the shady practices than meets the eye. My experience may end with legal action but ANYTHING to ensure that they don't continue doing this to people. An ABSOLUTE nightmare!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Thu, 02/06/2014 06:36 AM
GEO » YYZ
From Cheddi Jagan International Airport (Georgetown) to Pearson International Airport (Toronto)
1 out of 5
horrible customer service
Our flight was delayed from 9am to 4pm, despite the weather condition, the customer service was horrible. We missed our connecting flight and the manager made us wait 45 min infront of the office without giving us an update. We had to knock then he told us he was waiting on a call. He went outside to smoke a cigarrette, all smiles, made us wait 2 hrs for a shuttle bus, sending us in -15 + windshield back and forth telling us the shuttle bus was here then advising us its the wrong bus, after supposedly checking that it was our bus. We were 4 and they could only accomodate 3 of us. We waited 40 min for our bags which cost us our connecting flight. On our way to guyana, 28/01/2014, our flight was delayed 1hr due to a mechanical issue. Departing Guyana, their engineer had to check out a part and we were delayed again. Now we are at the airport waiting 7hrs for the first connecting flight to montreal. I dont recommend fly jamaica. I will never fly with them ever again. This is the 1st and last time. The employees run around like headless chickens, call us liars when we have proof. I recorded the conversation on my cellphone. They dont know how to speak to their customers.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor