Sydney - Los Angeles Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Sydney-Los Angeles route
Virgin Australia
United Airlines
Virgin Australia
Global
Hawaiian Airlines
Hawaiian Airlines
Hawaiian Airlines
Spread the word...
Sydney
Los Angeles
Delta Air Lines
Global
52.4 total score
22 reviews
50% Recommended
45% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Los Angeles route
56.7 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
Hawaiian Airlines
Global
78 total score
14 reviews
79% Recommended
86% Value for Money
3.9/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Los Angeles route
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Qantas Airways
Global
52.6 total score
26 reviews
46% Recommended
42% Value for Money
3.2/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Los Angeles route
68.4 total score
3 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.7/5 Customer Service
United Airlines
Global
27.5 total score
34 reviews
12% Recommended
24% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Los Angeles route
49.7 total score
4 reviews
25% Recommended
75% Value for Money
2.8/5 Customer Service
Virgin Australia
Global
70.8 total score
15 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.8/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Los Angeles route
71.1 total score
6 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.7/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Tue, 02/25/2014 08:06 AM
LAX » SYD
From Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
5 out of 5
Food was excellent and "foot net" was very helpful in economy
This was my first long flight and I was dreading being on a plane for 15 hours. I took the flight from LAX that left at 11:55 pm. I was a bit shocked at the leg room. I just assumed these longer flights would have more space than the standard planes we have just flying from state to state in the US. I was wrong. I'm only 5 ft. tall and 115 pounds but could hardly move my feet. I did put my bag under the seat in front of me so that limits space but there is no way you can easily get out and get to your bag if you need it from a window or middle seat. Most of the passengers are asleep on this flight so you would have to wake someone up to get your bag or pee. TIP #1 - Drink very little :) Drink a lot before you get on the flight and pee before you start your travels to keep yourself from being dehydrated but you're either going to be thirsty or have to wake people up to pee. If this is an issue for you, I would select an aisle seat. It's very hard to get out on a long flight because people have headphones and pillows and blankets and under seat luggage and the wait is long at the bathroom. TIP #2 - You will not be able to lean very far forward to get stuff out of your bag in front of you so pick a bag that you can easily zip and unzip without looking and put the absolute minimum in it. TIP #3 - Your TV can move a little and you need to memorize where the buttons are before they turn off the lights. When the person in front of you reclines you will not be able to see your TV that is on the seat in front of you but it does move. I didn't realize this until the trip was almost over. Also, they turn off the lights on this nighttime flight and it's pretty dark. Turning on your light is extremely distracting to the people around you so you need to just memorize where the buttons are on the tv so when you wake up you can use it. When the person on the aisle turned on her light it was right on the face of the middle person's seat who was asleep and they instantly woke up. It's very hard to get to sleep on these long flights so if you can help it don't wake people up. They have these little foot nets in economy that I thought were very funny at first but they were amazing for feeling more like you were reclining. My husband is 6 ft tall and they worked for both of us. I recommend using these to get your feet in another position while sleeping. The entertainment on the tv was awesome. There were probably more than 20 movies to select and some tv programs also. The food was very good also. They served us a dinner when we got on and then a breakfast in the morning. It was a lot of food and it was very tasty.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Advertisement
Thu, 01/30/2014 08:15 AM
SYD » LAX
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
2 out of 5
Poor First Class
This is the second time I have flown United Airlines in their United First cabin on their 747-400. The fleet is now ageing and the First class cabin is in need of a good overhaul, in fact their business class cabin looks much better although some what more crowded than First class. Emirates first class knocks spots off of United First, my advise would be to save your money and fly Qantas on their new A380. United Airlines really needs to up their game if they want to retain customers on their LAX-SYD routes, especially as there are other better carriers to choose from.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Sun, 10/27/2013 01:37 AM
SYD » LAX
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
5 out of 5
Virgin australia syd-lax
My flight to lax was perfect! There was good service and excellent facilities. I also felt very safe on board. I would highly recommend Virgin Australia.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Tue, 05/07/2013 02:22 AM
SYD » LAX
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
5 out of 5
SYD - LAX
I flew V Australia with my family a few times now, and there is no other airline i would fly with. The staff are very helpful, entertainment great, facilities good. The only down side about Virgin might be there food. Other than that, they are good value for money and highly recommended
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Sat, 05/04/2013 03:01 AM
SYD » LAX » HNL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu) via Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
1 out of 5
Worst travel experience ever.
We flew Hawaiian Sydney to LA, LA to Las Vegas, Las Vegas to Hawaii and are due to fly back to Sydney tomorrow. We have had nothing but problems. We have a 1 year old and do not expect special treatment however I do expect a level of service which should come with paying the fare. We have to pay $75 extra for a bulk head seat however for all 4 flights have been unable to do this due to a technical problem which they tell us has something to do with travelling with an infant however can't tell us how to overcome this. They lost our bags between Honolulu and LA and provided no financial assistance in the first 24 hours when we needed it the most. All of my husband and my daughters clothes etc were inside and it took them 3 days to find the bag and get it to us. They told us we would receive 30 dollars a day after the first 24 hours however they are fighting us about this now also. And they will not give a cent for my daughter whose clothes were also in the bag stating she is not a full fare paying customer. The majority of the hostesses are rude and not helpful at all. We received no information from them in regards to seatbelt safety etc when it came to our daughter and had to ask. The last thing as a parent you want to do is inconvenience other passengers however they make flying with a child horrific as once again, we are unable to book and pay for the bulk head seats through web check in. They had the cheek to tell us that the only way they could help us was for on our last day to catch a cab to the airport and check in that way. We told them it would cost us 130 dollars round trip and we couldn't with our one year old and they couldn't care less. They are a disgrace. I will never ever fly them again and if you are thinking of booking your holiday with them don't.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Sat, 03/09/2013 01:34 AM
SYD » LAX
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
2 out of 5
First Class!!
This flight was my first experience of first class!! I personally wouldn't rate United first class at all, I have flown on other airlines that has a better economy class. Really United need to do a complete over haul of their cabin staff on long haul, no wonder the service is rubbish, when most of the flight attendants are older than your grand mother!!
Recommended: No
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Poor
Mon, 11/26/2012 12:13 AM
MCO » LAX » SYD
From Orlando International Airport (Orlando) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) via Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
2 out of 5
Cheap, No Frill, keystone cop flight attendants
Flight from Orlando to Lax was typical...Overbooked and all scrunched up on 737 aircraft. When I asked if I could have a second bag of penuts, the attendant told me that some airline charge for penuts. Hey, keep your penuts lady. This airline has really gotten cheap and rude. Flight was smooth though. La to Sydney was a smooth flight also, but Delta's International flight attendant service scrapes the bottom of the barrel. Be sure to take your own BBQ wet nap cause there are no hot towels and they only give you one wet nap. I ask if I could skip dinner and eat later. Attendent say no, the food would probably be gone if I didn't eat when it was served. I had a glass of wine and when I asked what kind it was the attendent told me it was boxed. Total dingbat. You are offered a lot of water to drink though but service was pitiful. The times I went to the restroom, I always saw a flight attendent eating. Now I know where the food went. Very rude attendents. They kept bumping themselves and their carts into one another and the seats, then just laughed. Funny once but after hour number 10, it was just plain stupid. It was like watching the Stooges. If at all possible, I will not take another International flight with Delta. Too many other airlines are out there that treat passengers with much more respect and offer quality service. What s disappointment Delta turned out to be. A very long flight made to seem longer because of the attendants. Never again.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Fri, 11/16/2012 03:38 PM
SFO » LAX » SYD
From San Francisco International Airport (San Francisco) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) via Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
4 out of 5
good flight
was booked on united but they canceled flight and put me on delta for my return trip back to SYD, the plane a lot nicer then the untied 747 enjoyed nice sleep friendly staff plane was on time and clean good end to Vegas holiday prefer delta over untied slightly only for newer planes
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Fri, 11/16/2012 03:30 PM
SYD » LAX » LAS
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to McCarran International Airport (Las Vegas) via Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
4 out of 5
Cheap Vegas trip
under 1000 to Vegas had never flown united before and only on them this time for the price so I purchased the Econ plus for extra leg room and worth every cent for that little bit extra room made the 14 hour flight to lax a good trip the flight was nice crew professional transfer in lax to Vegas smooth my return was via sfo and this is where things could have been bad. I was in the untied lounge and advised that the SYD flight has been cancelled as I was there about 5 hours early due to incoming flight from Vegas the staff managed to get me onto a delta flight to lax then to syd and surprised me with upgrade to business which had lie flat bed made a great party week in Vegas end great and I got some much needed sleep on the plane
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Wed, 05/30/2012 05:19 AM
LAX » SYD
From Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
Treated like dirt!
My wife and I have been using Qantas in the past on a yearly basis to visit our family in Australia. We used VAustralia airline on the last two occasions. On our last flight from LAX to Sydney and back again, customer service was horrible. Cabin staff, including ground crew, were very rude and treated us like dirt. Especially the ground crew in Sydney dealt with us in a Gestapo like fashion. During the flight, when asked for an additional pillow, we were told none are left, yet later on they were carrying pillows to the back of the plane. They changed their rules as they felt. The food was horrible and on flight to Sydney we were offered a snack during the flight between breakfast and dinner, but not on the flight to LAX. The seats were so hard that after few hours it became incredibly uncomfortable and unbearable to seat. During the flight to Sydney, air conditioning was left on at full blast and although both of us were heavily dressed, we froze by the time we arrived to Australia. I did ask stewardess if she could tone it down a bit but I was told it couldn’t be controlled. I could go on and on about our horrible experiences with VAustralia. Bottom line, I have informed my family on both continents about it and to be aware. We fly regularly to Australia to visit our families and we will never be using this airline again. Wrote to corporate offices about it, and with no surprise, they just shrugged us off.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Mon, 2012-06-04 15:32

I have already flown with Virgin Australia and found their customer service quite good. But I believe you can travel with some staff who are not always happy to work some days. I have already noticed that ground staff often are more unfriendly than inflight staff. I am not sure Qantas or other airlines flying the same route have a better service.

Mon, 04/23/2012 12:27 PM
SYD » LAX
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
5 out of 5
Amazing airline
Wait for a special and you can get a return flight to America for around $1000 bucks!! So helpful, loads of inflight entertainment!! Will fly again
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Fri, 12/23/2011 09:26 AM
PER » SYD » LAX
From Perth Airport (Perth) to Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
Appaling customer service.
Seats were lousy, food was lousy (for what it cost), service on the plane was so-so, customer service on the ground was rude, uncaring, and very unprofessional.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Fri, 07/08/2011 02:23 AM
LAX » SYD
From Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
Horrible service
They still cannot manage A380 properly... Horrible service!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Sat, 05/28/2011 09:19 PM
SYD » LAX
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
2 out of 5
Basic budget flight
Extremely cramped for legroom in economy - I am 5'6" (168cm) and my knees touched the back of the seat in front. Reasonable recline. No personal screens, only overhead screen which was difficult to see the bottom and near impossible to read any subtitles or print. Food average airline.
Recommended: No
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Thu, 11/25/2010 11:49 AM
SYD » LAX
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
5 out of 5
Very pleasant experience
I travelled with my family on a modern and clean plane with great entertainment system. We prebooked our seats to be sure to have the best seats available with generous legroom and the ability to have the four of us seated together. Very good crew, the staff were friendly and helpful. I liked the food and drinks served on board. Good value for money.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Sat, 10/23/2010 06:30 PM
BNE » SYD » LAX
From Brisbane International Airport (Brisbane) to Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
4 out of 5
A good experience
1h30 stopover in Sydney, between Brisbane and Los Angeles, and return flights -> 4 flights with Qantas. Overall a good experience, except some turbulences areas on the second flight between Sydney and Los Angeles (but it's not related to Qantas performance!). The service was rather good with an efficient and friendly staff. The only point of disappointment was the lack of good movies available: I read my book instead. I wouldn't hesitate to fly with them again.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent