Sydney - Kuala Lumpur Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Sydney-Kuala Lumpur route
Airasia
AirAsia X
Airasia
Global
Malaysia Airlines
Malaysia Airlines
Malaysia Airlines
Spread the word...
Sydney
Kuala Lumpur
AirAsia X
Global
47 total score
11 reviews
36% Recommended
55% Value for Money
2.3/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Kuala Lumpur route
34.7 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
100% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Airasia
Global
40 total score
12 reviews
33% Recommended
42% Value for Money
2.1/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Kuala Lumpur route
52.7 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
Malaysia Airlines
Global
60.7 total score
12 reviews
50% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.1/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Kuala Lumpur route
48 total score
5 reviews
40% Recommended
40% Value for Money
2.6/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Fri, 04/26/2013 06:13 AM
SYD » KUL » BKK
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok) via Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
1 out of 5
Worst Business In The Sky
The worst business class check in service I have encounted check in took 20 minutes at Sydney International Airport. 3 staff just sitting talking doing nothing. I asked for assistance to put bags on conveyor I was told no. I explained I had a damaged arm I was told my problem not there's. Lounge was truly awful worst I have seen. Lounge staff told me that I was not able to complain as there was no one to complain to. Minimal hot food choices 3 soups or spaghetti. The spaghetti was still semi frozen with the smallest serve I have ever seen. Tiny bar with very basic choices. Very small basic buffet selection cheap dips a few deep fried frozen items & not much else. 1 waitress for whole lounge. The so called sports bar was just set up like a bistro with TV's & no food except fruit. No TV to inform you of flight had to keep asking staff. Stewards on flight fantastic. Food very average. I asked for a different wine none available I asked for a Baileys they had run out. Slide bed was truly awful I had no sleep at all so uncomfortable. I was hoping for a bit of rest at Kuala Lumpur Subang International Airport. The business class lounge was larger that Sydney but truly awful after 4 attempts I gave up getting a cup of coffee the girl was to busy texting on her phone & talking. I asked for a pot of tea what is that the girl asked. Hot food choices, chicken sausages, baked beans, grilled tomato or fried noodles. I asked for eggs none available I was told. Toast yes but no butter. I arrived at lounge at 5.30am staff were all just sitting around talking & texting on mobile phones. 1 was even laying on the floor. shower was truly filthy. No attempt to clean. Provisions non existent. Staff did not care at all.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Advertisement
Sat, 10/27/2012 04:31 PM
SYD » KUL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
3 out of 5
Very very old plane and quite expensive
From Sydney to kl there are not a lot of direct Flight options. Air Asia or Malaysian air. The ticket was relatively expensive (about 1400€ return) Checkin went smooth, staff was firefly and web checkin proved to be a good investment as there was no line at all. The and was a really old 747, my seat was broken and did not quite go back. Entertainment had to be rebooted 4 times an was still not working so seats needed to be changed. Staff was ok friendly and the food was acceptable. Overall for this price not good value for money, air Asia is about half the price with similar service
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Fri, 10/19/2012 03:45 PM
KUL » SYD
From Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
Worst airline ever
So - trying to get home. Flight out of Bangkok on AIRASIA was delayed, then delayed again. They got me to KL only to miss my connection. They put me in a 2 star hotel with no hot water in the middle of nowhere - next flight is in 24 hours - now at airport - flight is DELAYED again for 6 hours. I'm here at 9pm and flight now leaves at 5:30am. They won't put me up in a hotel again because "it would cost them too much money". I just had to shell out 170RM (about US$70) to get into a "premium lounge" just inside the terminal AirAsia will not pick up the cost. #AIRASIA = #FAILASIA Never fly AIRASIA. It is not worth the risk - spread the word. They are supposed to be the BEST AIRLINE EVER several years running - trust me - they SUCK. #FAIL #FAIL #FAIL
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Wed, 2012-12-05 00:31

Did you have travel insurance?? You would have been able to claim if you did. If you did not you are stupid and it is your own fault.
Hervey

Wed, 07/25/2012 07:42 AM
HKT » KUL » SYD
From Phuket International Airport (Phuket) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) via Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
3 out of 5
Below usual standards
I have flown Malaysian Airlines a number of times but did not enjoy this trip. The plane was clean however had a lot of things not working mainly the entertainment systems,and the toilets where not pleasant by the end of the trip. The staff although friendly where not attentive and seemed to ignore calls for assistance. Once something was requested it was often not supplied. We did not receive our requested window seat and where instead in the middle of the plane. The flight was completely full and you could tell! The meals where good,but it was difficult to get a drink on this flight. The entertainment system once it was working didhave a good selection of TV and movies. Although I would recommend Malaysian Airlines it would be on the basis of my previous trips definately not this one.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Wed, 07/25/2012 07:10 AM
SYD » KUL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
4 out of 5
Pay for extra leg room!!
Our experiance with Air Asia was good. I booked through expedia which was easy. They do offer a number of upgrade options but you need to weigh this up with the cost of a normal airline when deciding who to travel. I paid extra for extra leg room which was well worth it, the meals we received where good and at $3 to $7 not expensive, so the price was still significantly cheaper then other airlines. They do not have enough entertainment units for hire, as I found out about this before hand we took our own DVD player, but this could have been quite boring on an 8 hour flight though. The plane was clean. The staff where really nice and quite helpful. I would recommend Air Asia, however remember they are a low cost carrier and if you enjoy the frills (like snacks and a blanket) the other airlines provide this wouldn't be for you.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Wed, 04/25/2012 04:39 AM
SYD » KUL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
2 out of 5
Non flight customer service
Flights and flight crew are acceptable for a LCC . The non - flight service is zero and any problems cannot be addressed by Air Asia. They cannot be contacted by telephone and are slow to respond to emails. The staff do not have the knowledge or authority to address the issues raised. Just hope that you do not have a problem to resolve with Air Asia.
Recommended: No
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Very Poor
Wed, 06/29/2011 06:27 AM
SYD » KUL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
5 out of 5
5Star airline
i am a regular flyer with MAS and have always had 5 star service from both the ground staff and cabin staff. The ground staff at SYD airport are always friendly and always very helpful as i travel with young kids that can b a handful at times. I always receive extra assistance without even having to ask and my kids are kept entertained by the check in agent as well as acknowledged! I have flown Singapore Airlines a few times and cannot compare the two! The agents at SIN look at my kids and roll their eyes as though they are extra work for them to check in. MAS staff always show a great deal of friendliness. Cabin staff are also very helpful and assist us with all our needs. I have been on a flight that was delayed leaving SYD late last year and the experience was pleasant as staff were doing everything they could to keep us updated. although information wasnt always pesent, it was obvious that ground staff was passing on any info they knew as soon as they knew it. For the "Guest" above that complained about the delay from CPT-KUL-SYD, if you were at all educated in aviation you would know that aircraft engineers do not stand at the gate and relay info to ground staff on the hr every hr. they are busy fixing the problem for YOUR safety! And as for hotels, at short notice there isnt always the first choice of hotel available for 300+ passengers thats near the airport. Stop being selfish.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Mon, 2011-08-29 15:50

I agree with you. Malaysia Airlines is a 5 star airline, but I'm not sure they'll remain in the coming years due to their current financial problems. They may have to reduce their cost and downgrade their service. Not to mention that they may be bought by AirAsia! Not sure about the future of MAS.

Tue, 04/19/2011 08:44 AM
CPT » KUL » SYD
From Cape Town International Airport (Cape Town) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) via Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
1 out of 5
Delayed flight - very poor customer service
SYD-CPT (via KUL) return My wife, two young children and I were scheduled on Malaysia Airlines flight MH0202, Cape Town to Kuala Lumpur on Thursday, 14 April at 13:40. The flight was delayed due to an electrical fault.From the beginning the Malaysia Airlines customer service was atrocious! Information was sporadic. Malaysia Airlines representatives were non-existent. On the 14th, we were kept on a hot, uncomfortable plane whilst engineers were trying to identify and fix the problem. When we were finally told to disembark and wait at the gate, there was no information being relayed for hours to the passengers. We were given a paltry ZAR60 per passenger to buy refreshments from the one and only cafe in the departure lounge. Then we had to queue for more than 2 hours to get some refreshments. When we finally got to the start of the queue, there was no food and drinks left! We eventually we got put up in a hotel. A conference room (Duncan room) was supposedly set up where passengers could be updated by the the Malaysia Airlines representative. However, the representative was nowhere to be seen. Instead we were met by two employees from the handling company that knew no more than what the passengers did. Despite the Malaysia Airlines representive being at the hotel, it was nearly impossible to get hold of him as he was spending most of his time away from the passengers and on his phone. Only after a passenger uproar did we finally get an update by 1pm, only to be told we will be tentatively put on a flight 2pm on Saturday, 16 April. On Saturday, 16 April, when were were back at the airport to check in (again!) there was absolutel chaos! My family and I were queing for more than 1 and a half hours hours before reaching the check-in desk! When we finally boarded the plane, the plane departed 2 hours late! During the flight, it was discovered that the entertainment system did not work. So after all, we had to endure an 11 hour flight on a supposedly repaired and checked aircraft, with no inflight entertainment. We arrived in Kuala Lumpur 2 hours late and then again had to queue for hours to get our onwards boarding passes to Sydney, only to learn that we had a 13+ hours wait till the 22:10 MH0123 flight to Sydney! Although Malaysia Airlines put us up in a hotel, the hotel was an hour's bus ride from the airport. You would have thought that after all the waiting and queing Malaysia Airlines put its passengers through, it would put the passengers up in the hotel that was right there at the airport. We finally arrived in Sydney Monday morning - 3 days later than when we originally should have arrived! This means both my wife and I had to take 2 additional days off work to recover from the jetlag, exhaustion and stress from the ordeal. I will never fly Malaysia Airlines again, nor recommend it.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor