Sydney - Honolulu Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Sydney-Honolulu route
Hawaiian Airlines
Hawaiian Airlines
Hawaiian Airlines
Global
Hawaiian Airlines
Hawaiian Airlines
Hawaiian Airlines
Spread the word...
Sydney
Honolulu
Hawaiian Airlines
Global
78 total score
14 reviews
79% Recommended
86% Value for Money
3.9/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Honolulu route
82.7 total score
7 reviews
86% Recommended
86% Value for Money
4.1/5 Customer Service
Jetstar Airways
Global
30.3 total score
21 reviews
19% Recommended
33% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
Sydney-Honolulu route
43.7 total score
5 reviews
40% Recommended
40% Value for Money
2.4/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Wed, 10/16/2013 01:56 AM
ITO » HNL » SYD
From Hilo International Airport (Hilo) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) via Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
3 out of 5
ok economy
Hilo to Sydney via Honolulu web check in went well purchased preferred seats for Honolulu to Sydney cost $75 seat 14B . Hilo to Honolulu HA 121 850am departure seat 1B first class lounge at Hilo very basic free wifi and coffee and soft drink pre boarding done correctly on time departure quick 50 minute flight just enough time for a coffee and and a biscuit Honolulu to Sydney HA 451 seat 14B the reserved seating bulk head seat cost 75 extra boarding called in correct order except kids get priority again. my bulk head seat is spacious as a economy seat can be. I would have preferred the seats in row 11 but they were blocked for the entire 24 hour period during check in. rows 11,12,13 are behind business and are separated from rest of economy providing a quieter trip not long after take off very friendly stewardess Krystal offers cocktails dewars scotch and diet coke about 2 hours into flights refills and dinner served I'm spoilt with first class food but would give this food a 4 out of 5 for economy and free after dinner clean up again friendly flight staff offer more drinks, I did notice they were counting my drinks was a little off putting but being responsible so was in 2 minds there was a lot of young families traveling with babies ranging from newborns to teenagers all were reasonably behaved for a 10 hour flight. there of course was one family who thought it was ok for their children to play a portable DVD player without head phones so all the cabin could hear it. while I'm complaining I would like to thank the old man in 15B who would hit the back of my chair every time I would nod off I guess that's the joys of economy travel on the way to Hawaii business class I got 6 hours sleep on way to Sydney economy even the premium seat I for 1 hour sleep
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Advertisement
Sun, 10/06/2013 04:44 AM
SYD » HNL » ITO
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Hilo International Airport (Hilo) via Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
5 out of 5
Great trip
Hawaii travel 5th October SYD-HNL-ITO This is my 10th year as a dedicated Hawaiian air traveller for long distance trip syd to HNL and Hilo also to LA and Vegas also started to use their HNL to JFK this year and looking forward to their expansion with new aircraft purchase planned. Today's trip started on the 4th October at 2000 When I attempted to use the web check in 24 hours prior with no success. I called their Tech support they advised "computer glitch " was preventing my check in I am lucky I am a gold Pualani member so I called their dedicated line after about 25 minutes they were able to upgrade my syd-HNL flight and my HNL-Hilo which is good business on Hawaiian is normally very good. 5th October Check in was a breeze with the dedicated business and Pualani member line and with express pass through immigration, I was In the air New Zealand lounge in no time. The person service from the Hawaiian airlines station manager Kathy keeps me a very happy loyal customer she greeted me on my arrival which is service you wouldn't never get flying a bigger airline This air NZ lounge has improved over the past few years it was getting tired and food mediocre. But gladly today much better I really like the self help bar. My flight is scheduled for 2000 departure I noticed in bound flight arrived on time. Boarding started on time and again children first before business this always annoys me. Once onboard was offered welcome champagne or juice the seat is wide leather seats they don't lie flat but are still very comfortable they have power for your iPad or iPhone I had 1B drink orders for after take off were taken Take off on time and as soon as we levelled off drinks started to flow I had a few chivas regals before dinner there also was a cheese plate Dinner 3 options for dinner were veal mash potato asparagus with baby carrots, catch of the day with choi sum and scallions, pumpkin ravioli with sage butter and cream sauce. I had the veal and catch of the day and it was fantastic. Breakfast was strawberry yogurt fresh fruit plate country style potatoes and crab and scallion omelette, also fantastic. The cabin crew were very attentive and professional I managed to get a good couple of hours sleep and rested for my next flight HNL to Hilo Got through customs fairly fast but maybe they could looking into express path for business passengers like in Sydney At the transfer desk no Hawaiian staff there to send my bags to Hilo so had to take them to the inter island terminal myself. Once there was easy to drop off bags and head to the priority security line Honolulu to Hilo again seat 1B a quick 50 minute flight no problems arrived on time and bags were quickly available Over all a 5 star trip very pleased and look forward to many more Hawaiian trips
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Tue, 06/11/2013 11:06 AM
ITO » HNL » SYD
From Hilo International Airport (Hilo) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) via Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
5 out of 5
great
trip Hilo to Sydney via Honolulu 10th June Hilo check in great was quick bags booked all the way to Sydney i still get the lounge due to gold status and basic lounge coffee soft drink and wifi in Hilo Hilo to Honolulu seat 7b 850am flight left on time pleasant crew at Honolulu lounge access again basic good wifi coffee soft drink no food or snacks available and lounge is a long walk from international gates friendly staff and quiet place to relax before 10 hour to Sydney Honolulu to Sydney business HA451 seat 1H thanks to Gary and the gate team for welcoming helpful and friendly attitude plane boarding procedures were business and wheelchairs first as it should be then children and pualani gold and platinum, this way I get 2 glasses of champagne before take off lol this is one of my frustrations of Hawaiian the inconsistent way of boarding I have traveled to Vegas. SFO oakland Lax Maui Hilo HNL SYD and have found all have different processes for pre boarding this needs to be a procedure not pick and choose I hope Hawaiian look at settings this as a rule plane left on time clean and new airbus welcoming crew after take off spicy crab sushi with pickled ginger and cocktails 45 minutes after take off nice timing drinks scotch and diet coke ran out of scotch after 2 drinks so it was Jack Daniel's and diet for some of the trip this is a habit on Hawaiian of ruining out of scotch in business the nice flight attendant went to Econ and stole there's so went from chivas to dewars both nice any way dinner food salmon in rice paper himalayan rice macadamia nut pesto and salad very impressed desert was the best Ice cream truffle strawberry sorbet with bailies over Ice amazing cocktails constant and staff attentive when asked for some thing for the long flight before arrival an Hawaiian style high tea was served which included savories and sweets very nice arrival as usual quarantine spray the plane this is the worst part if u are like me and don't trust the government when they say its safe asbestos was safe at one time due to the airbus only utilizes one door business must walk back through economy to get off so not first off the plane but we are given priority customs forms to fast track forms through customs and immigration bags are tagged first class priority and come through very quick tonight this is alway a hit and Miss I have complained many times about waiting for my first class bags that come off last not tonight great first off this will be my last review until oct when I fly SYD- HNL HNL- Hilo Hilo- HNL HNL -JFK and the same in return I love traveling Hawaiian it has been my airline of choice for over 10 years from Australia to all my usa destinations I have always found it friendly and professional qantas and jet star don't even compare and air New Zealand would be ok of there wasn't a stop over in new Zealand my only complaint is Sydney airport customs they give you an express path ticket when in business and first and that line was huge at Sydney tonight when I questioned customs the man said " we don't care about express path " I said so no recognition for first class or business he said " he doesn't give a shit" I no this not Hawaiian airlines issue but is customs issue but only way to get customs to fix their rude staff is airlines to complain about bad treatment of their premier customers. in front of me was a man from London first class on emirates who would have paid a lot more then me and he was treated the same was told " I don't care what class u travel customs is custom" by the aggressive customs male agent. over all a great flight and always recommend Hawaiian to all USA destination Brett.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Sat, 06/01/2013 08:21 AM
JFK » HNL » SYD
From John F. Kennedy International Airport (New York) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) via Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
4 out of 5
At last, a decent US airline!
After a medical emergency in New York, United Airlines left us stranded. Hawaiian were really helpful. Not only that, they are an airline that at least compares with non-US international carriers in terms of service and attitude. Unlike United! Only way to go from Sydney to New York, with a nice stopover in Hawaii.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Sat, 05/25/2013 09:29 PM
SYD » HNL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
5 out of 5
Sydney to Honolulu 25/5/2013
Hawaiian as pualani gold member first off SYD -HNL HA 436 2000 depart SYD on time seat 1 B USB power available check in smooth friendly and personal as u would expect for a pualani gold member I little hick up at web check in but easily fixed the station manager (kathy) and her team are very good in SYD she has been a great leader since she started at Sydney over 6 years ago off to the air New Zealand lounge for some drinks and snacks it was a little over crowded at the start due to united canceling their flight to SFO in bound plane arrived on time was cleaned and ready for on time boarding I had my fav seat 1b I like the isle and 1A was vacant any way I am biased as flown Hawaiian for 7 years and 6 at gold status and this year platinum my experiences with the on board crew have sometimes been let down compared to the ground crew but this Is not the norm boarding is always a push and shove in Sydney and they start with children which annoys me business or 1 st should always go first why do children who don't pay get priority odd on the airbus there are 3 set of seats after business 11 12 13 then a completely separate section for the rest of Econ. which in my opinion should be restricted to adults and maybe make a premium economy section after being seated champagne was nice but rushed due to all the kids getting in first there are only 9 people in business and 3 flight attendants so good service so far after take off hot towels and customs forms handed out and announcement for Econ pass about respecting the rights of business and not coming forward tables were set for cheese biscuits and cocktails served still 9 hours to HNL very nice i did miss the blue cheese normally served staff friendly and professional scotch very nice quality chivas dinner was served less then 1 hour into the flight after cocktails presentation A+ and staff handling prep A+ I had steak and pumpkin ravioli and I have to say wow very nice dessert wow again taste buds in over drive no diet today after dinner I was asked about being woken for breakfast which I wanted to be and gave my coffee order to be woken up to a nice coffee and breakfast would be nice after dinner the lights were turned down and window shades requested to be closed so people could sleep time for a few more cocktails the chivas flowed freely the bathroom nice lay out it had face mist, moisturizers and good hand cream flowerers a nice touch the lead flight attendant was very attentive and made sure my drink was refilled. I honestly couldn't fault any flight attendant tonight sleep as always is hard for me the seats are not lie flat but are still comfortable leather recliners breakfast served about an hour out of Honolulu it was fruit coffee, omelette, yogurt, and a potato and tomato mix with Danish as sweet coffee was very nice as was the rest of breakfast overall comment regarding on board crew I have to say on my many flights on Hawaiian this was a new crew for me and they worked well not overly intrusive very professional and attentive in Honolulu I only have 1hour 15 minutes to make trough customs and my next flight I made it through customs in 15 mins transfer desk at Hawaiian not working today had to take own bags to inter island terminal over all a great flight and what I have come to expect from Hawaiian business class
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Sat, 05/04/2013 03:01 AM
SYD » LAX » HNL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu) via Los Angeles International Airport (Los Angeles)
1 out of 5
Worst travel experience ever.
We flew Hawaiian Sydney to LA, LA to Las Vegas, Las Vegas to Hawaii and are due to fly back to Sydney tomorrow. We have had nothing but problems. We have a 1 year old and do not expect special treatment however I do expect a level of service which should come with paying the fare. We have to pay $75 extra for a bulk head seat however for all 4 flights have been unable to do this due to a technical problem which they tell us has something to do with travelling with an infant however can't tell us how to overcome this. They lost our bags between Honolulu and LA and provided no financial assistance in the first 24 hours when we needed it the most. All of my husband and my daughters clothes etc were inside and it took them 3 days to find the bag and get it to us. They told us we would receive 30 dollars a day after the first 24 hours however they are fighting us about this now also. And they will not give a cent for my daughter whose clothes were also in the bag stating she is not a full fare paying customer. The majority of the hostesses are rude and not helpful at all. We received no information from them in regards to seatbelt safety etc when it came to our daughter and had to ask. The last thing as a parent you want to do is inconvenience other passengers however they make flying with a child horrific as once again, we are unable to book and pay for the bulk head seats through web check in. They had the cheek to tell us that the only way they could help us was for on our last day to catch a cab to the airport and check in that way. We told them it would cost us 130 dollars round trip and we couldn't with our one year old and they couldn't care less. They are a disgrace. I will never ever fly them again and if you are thinking of booking your holiday with them don't.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Sat, 09/22/2012 04:23 AM
SYD » HNL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
1 out of 5
Do us all a favour Alan Joyce & close Jetstar down.
Having booked a flight from Sunshine Coast to Melbourne on JQ 2 yrs ago and then on the morning of the flight to be told the flight was cancelled I was not expecting too much on a Bne-Hnl via Sydney flight Sept 2012. I was not disappointed. The first flight Bne-Syd delayed nearly an hour. The second leg delayed 2 hours.No updates on delays just short tempered passengers harassing short tempered staff.Qantas never wanted Jetstar and it shows,It was obvious they only started it up because Virgin was pinching a heap of market share from Qantas. Virgin wins the budget airwar hands down. I and many other passengers on the HNL flight were absolutely disgusted and saying they will NEVER book JQ again. As a comparison we flew the now defunct Air Australia to HNL in Feb of 2012 FOR HALF THE JQ FARE and the experience was galaxies ahead of JQ.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Fri, 08/24/2012 02:10 AM
MEL » SYD » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
Jetstar_Lost luggage, lengthy check-ins twice each way, rude staff_Not worth it!!
I travelled from Mel to Honolulu but had to stop via Sydney with husband and 2 kids. It is not made clear by Jetstar anywhere on their info that when flying to Honolulu from Melbourne you have to collect your luggage, pay $20 cab fee to move to int'l terminal in sydney and face another lengthy line up again to board the international flight. In most other airlines your luggage is moved seamlessly by the airline and put onto the plane. This resulted in one hour of lining up in Mel and then another hour and ten minutes at Sydney plus 2 lots of security plus a 3 hour wait for the int'l plane. Same in reverse for way back. When we arrived in Honolulu our checked bag did not arrive. It was lost by Syd baggage handlers. It took 5 days for Jetstar to locate it and get it to us. No apologies! On return back from Honolulu we were reluctant to check in luggage (understandably!) so took most of our luggage on board. We each had a standard roll-on bag and a small handbag/backpach each. Honolulu Jetstar was fine with our take on luggage but when we got to Syd after 10 hour log haul flight and another 45 mins lining up to get to Mel the check-in staff decided our take-on luggage was too heavy (we had 11 kgs each for combo of roll-on & handbags - 1kg over limit - which was fine by Honolulu Jestar staff) so Jetstar Syd fined us $70 before we could board Mel flight. We then had to line up another 25 mins to pay this fine at a separate service desk. I was complaining about this to my daughter in line and was told by the Jetstar staff member I wasn't allowed to complain or she would ban me from returning to Mel (I was not yelling or swearing _ I'm an academic by trade so very mild mannered)!! When lining up to get on board plane from Syd to Mel the women behind me told me she only paid $35 for this flight (all 100kg's of her with roll-on luggage)- which was half what we paid to check on one 11 kg bag!! This was very galling. Don't use Jetstar for int'l flights involving domestic changeovers. It's not worth the time, effort and money particularly on way home when you are exhausted from long-haul flight and faced with more hours of waiting in long check-in lines, 3 hours wait for domestic plane and rude Aussie Jetstar staff (the USA Jestar staff were charming by comparison). This poor service in Aus is part of the reason QANTAS is losing so much money. They have lost me as a customer forever.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Tue, 04/03/2012 10:40 AM
SYD » HNL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
5 out of 5
great airline
I have been using Hawaiian from 2002 I travel to Hawaii atleast 3 times a year and use them for flights to mainland USA and found them to be the airline to use jetstar is a joke qantas to expensive I have travelled both Econ and buisness the ground staff at Sydney are excellent and have had mostly great cabin staff but as with all places there is that 1 or 2 staff that should not be there but over all the airline to use for Hawaii and mainland US they have good connections and destinations to mainland US including NyC LA San Fran las vagas direct flights and connecting flights to all the hawaiian islands
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Sat, 01/14/2012 11:28 AM
SYD » HNL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
4 out of 5
JQ Business = QF Domestic Business
Overall a good trip return to Hawaii. You get what you pay for with JQ Business Class, its the same seat as domestic business on QANTAS so not good for sleeping. I recommend row 1 for room, ease of moving in and out of seats and sleeping....well..dozing. The worst part of the trip was check in at SYD which we stood at the front of the the line for some 20 minutes. The first 5 minutes the check in agent was serving a family (granted they were being painful) and after serving them she disappeared and never came back! It was 15 minutes before the JQ supervisor realised the business class line wasn't moving and assigned someone to check us in. After that the experience was good. We (due to FF status) were able to use the QF First lounge although the service staff seemed a little overwhelmed this time. We had a new clean plane and an international crew who were polite and efficient. The food was also at the level of QF domestic business and therefore was fine. The IFE was limited in its selection but OK. The flight was on time. The return trip was also good with efficient check in, tiny but good QF Lounge, an older A330 plane this time but the seat seemed to have a little more room between them and my seat had a broken foot rest, The flight left on time was uneventful much like the flight over. The IFE on the older planes is a Digiplayer which I thought was to be replaced by iPads by now but not for us. Its not Business Class by international standards but more like Premium Economy and darn site cheaper than the old 767s with a similar seat and a much larger price tag that QF & HA use.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Tue, 01/10/2012 11:23 AM
SYD » HNL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
4 out of 5
Excellent
No complaints at all flight arrived half an hour ahead of schedule into honolulu . Staff were very friendly . My partner and I were given the first two seats in economy so we had lots of leg room . Will definitely fly with jetstAr to honolulu again .
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Mon, 01/02/2012 12:52 AM
MEL » SYD » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
You get what you paid for!
Very poor service as soon as a booking is made. I had to change the time on the last leg of connecting flight 2 months before departure in order to attend a friend's wedding, but were told there was absolutely no way i could do that. I offered to pay for an entire new flight but was told that my luggage would still be put on the original flight during transit. In the end, my luggage were actually returned to me during transit ( don't know why customer service agents think lying is acceptable), and missed out on the wedding even though i could have booked another earlier flight with whichever airline i liked. Cabin crew were uninterested and rude at best, one told off my friend for allegedly having her phone on after landing,and when this particular cabin crew found out it was actually off, no apology was given. The worst service ever received onboard an aircraft. It seems this budget airline thinks that given their prices are lower, it is a privilege to be allowed on their aircrafts, just unbelievable!! NEVER again! NOT worth the little savings you might get!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor