New York - Fort Lauderdale Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
New York-Fort Lauderdale route
American Airlines
American Airlines
American Airlines
Global
Delta Air Lines
Delta Air Lines
Delta Air Lines
Spread the word...
New York
Fort Lauderdale
American Airlines
Global
33.5 total score
13 reviews
23% Recommended
31% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
New York-Fort Lauderdale route
100 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
5/5 Customer Service
Delta Air Lines
Global
52.1 total score
26 reviews
50% Recommended
46% Value for Money
2.8/5 Customer Service
New York-Fort Lauderdale route
43.3 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
Spirit Airlines
Global
22.1 total score
35 reviews
9% Recommended
9% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
New York-Fort Lauderdale route
37.8 total score
3 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Mon, 10/27/2014 10:58 AM
LGA » ATL » FLL
From La Guardia Airport (New York) to Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale) via Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (Atlanta)
3 out of 5
Mostly good trips on Delta.
I selected the flights and managed to get them paid for on line using my Mauritius issued Credit Card and all this from Mauritius. I did it myself on the easy to use Delta Website. I booked well in advance to be sure of flights and seats selection. A couple of weeks after selecting, booking and paying I had an email informing me of a schedule change on the outward journey. It also involved a complete change of equipment and seats. I accepted the equipment changes (from a 737-800 and 757-200 to an MD88 and 737-900, and managed to re-select the seats I wanted). Later on there was another schedule change alert sent-but this time it was just a new timing for the flight- at one hour later from the original time Baggage. The fares on Delta are very reasonable (in my opinion) and offer a much better deal than using American (BA’s partner airline in the One World Alliance.) All hold baggage has to be paid for –only carry aboard baggage goes included in the fare (nothing is for 'free' despite what they tell you). There was another slight snag as my travel companion noticed a one letter omission on the ticket print out – no ‘s’ on the end of his middle name. So I emailed Delta to ask if this was likely to be a problem at check in. They replied with the rules-i.e. names on identity document and tickets must match – but kindly added –‘don’t worry you will be OK at check-in’ which was a comfort. So we did an online check in from our Hotel. It worked out OK. Saturday Sept 27th 2014. Baggage drop at Le Guardia Delta Terminal was easily done. Nice flight in an MD90 all on time. Delta offer you a complimentary soft drink or coffee and the famous Delta ‘Cookies’. The flight from Atlanta to or Lauderdale was in one of Delta’s new Boeing 737.900ER’s skillfully and smoothly piloted through some stormy weather. Very good IFE and Maps on the touch seat back screen. Next Flights Oct 5th 2014 Fort Lauderdale-to Los Angeles via Detroit. These sectors also underwent schedule & equipment changes in the weeks prior to flight. These changes even took seatguru.com by surprise and were not registered on their site. The MD88 from FLL-DTW became a 757-200 and the flight from DTW to LAX changed time, changed flight number (from DL1223 to DL19) and equipment- from a B767-300 to a B757. FLL to DTW was notable for the fact that the Captain retrieved some dollar bills that fell from my pocket in security- and even remembered to remind me of the event as we left the plane at DTW. Very good flight and excellent- (indeed- exceptional) Flight deck announcements about things to see on the ground on the route. Check in at FLL was exclusively on self op machines with only baggage tags needing assistance from a counter clerk. Elderly travellers may find this a bit daunting. I noted that on the flight from DTW-LAX my carefully chosen seat requests had been arbitrarily changed without my being notified . DELAY The flight DL 19 on Sunday October 5th was announced as being delayed due to the fact that the flight crews were operating another flight which was due to arrive in DTW 15 minutes before our scheduled departure time. This situation became worse when the crew did not turn up at all. What happened to Delta’s rostering !! A good question. And this, for a flight that had originated in London (DL19 LHR-DTW-LAX) Public address announcements were made- requesting the missing crew- by name (!) to report for duty. No one turned up Eventually after over an hour of waiting, of the cabin crew needed, only three of the four required for a 757 turned up and it seemed that after a two hours delay and wait that an off duty member was hauled in at short notice. Eventually we got away, only to land late at a very busy LAX and find the assigned gate already occupied and a wait of 15 minutes for the gate to be free and then a towing in to enable us to disembark. Passengers who were due to connect/transit to flights to Australia and New Zealand must have missed their flights. Apart from this incident, all my Delta flights were OK
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Advertisement
Tue, 07/29/2014 07:16 PM
LGA » FLL » DFW
From La Guardia Airport (New York) to Dallas Ft. Worth International Airport (Dallas) via Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale)
1 out of 5
Worse flight experience
The booked me for the wrong flight and would not help me change to the right one and wanted to charge me the fee. They kept saying to call back for compensation. I called 4 times and no one would help me. The worse customer service i have ever encountered
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Sun, 10/13/2013 05:15 AM
LGA » FLL
From La Guardia Airport (New York) to Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale)
1 out of 5
Spirit is the worst!
Got overcharged and ignored by their customer service Their continued existence is a mockery of decent business practices and corporate social responsibility. It's time we do something about it! Join Us! http://www.fspiritair.com/
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Mon, 10/07/2013 02:49 PM
LGA » FLL
From La Guardia Airport (New York) to Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale)
1 out of 5
Inconsiderate Service Very Nasty Unprofessional
I will never fly Delta again. I arrived 30 minutes before flight and they would not let me board. They sold my ticket for a higher price and made me pay $100 more to get on next flight. I needed to because I was flying to Florida for my grandmothers 80th surprise party. Customer service was so rude and nasty. Please if you are reading this review choose another airline.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Mon, 05/28/2012 01:25 AM
FLL » LGA
From Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale) to La Guardia Airport (New York)
4 out of 5
Turbulence!!
We flew flt 174 fort laud-laguardia the price was good Ive been on spirit before and i knew what to expect. If u pay online everything is actually cheaper and u get to save some $$$ . The customer service was just averge as long as ur nice to ticket agents theyre nice to u. Now what caught my attention is that right after take off there was so much turbulence the plane was shaking side to side and everybody was screaming. I got so nervous and the flight attendants noticed and after it passed they were looking for those of us who were scared and asked us if we were Ok. When I went to the restroom there was a young flight attendant "Santiago" and I asked him about what had happened earlier and he explained to me how the weather works and how sometimes storms don't show up on the radar and how it is not a big deal and the planes are brand new our plane was 6 months old and they are actually build for any kind of heavy weather. He then promised me no more turbulence as it seemed the weather was gonna be ok all the way to New York and he offered me some ice even tho i already purchased a bottle of water. Overall i though the behavior of them was very professional and i dont know if he was lying or not but they sure made me feel better and it looks like they actually have their stuff together. Overall when we left i thanked him and a nice lady flight attenant for their help and they said 'thats what they are here for'. If only all of spirit employees were like that i think it would even be worth to live the horror of seating in those horrible seats.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Wed, 02/22/2012 08:48 PM
JFK » FLL
From John F. Kennedy International Airport (New York) to Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale)
5 out of 5
Great Airline Every one should fly it!!!!!!
Great airline, and even getting beeter. they have the youngest fleet and great aadvatage program
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent