Melbourne - Sydney Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Melbourne-Sydney route
Virgin Australia
Virgin Australia
Virgin Australia
Global
Virgin Australia
Virgin Australia
Virgin Australia
Spread the word...
Melbourne
Sydney
Jetstar Airways
Global
31 total score
27 reviews
19% Recommended
33% Value for Money
1.8/5 Customer Service
Melbourne-Sydney route
17.1 total score
5 reviews
0% Recommended
20% Value for Money
1.2/5 Customer Service
Qantas Airways
Global
46 total score
36 reviews
36% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
Melbourne-Sydney route
36 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
Tigerair
Global
21 total score
11 reviews
9% Recommended
9% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
Melbourne-Sydney route
17.3 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Virgin Australia
Global
61.2 total score
18 reviews
56% Recommended
56% Value for Money
3.3/5 Customer Service
Melbourne-Sydney route
93.3 total score
2 reviews
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4.5/5 Customer Service
Scoot Airlines
Global
31 total score
129 reviews
19% Recommended
30% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
Melbourne-Sydney route
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Mon, 02/02/2015 02:21 AM
MEL » SYD » SIN
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Changi Airport (Singapore) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
SCOOT RESPONSIBILITY TO HONOR CUSTOMER PAID TICKET
Ticket bought during the promotion to celebrate Scoot airline carried 4 million passengers. with confirm code U7GTSZ (SCOOT) and CDVNZM (Virgin) after I paid Scoot fully using VISA credit card. Melbourne to Sydney, flight no:VA 823, date 21/01/2015 Sydney to Singapore, flight no:TZ 1, date 21/01/2015 Singapore to Perth, flight no:TZ 8, date 09/02/2015 Perth to Melbourne, flight no:VA 696 date 09/02/2015 on the 20/01/2015 at late night the scoot staff from Philippine called to inform that the flight to Singapore through Sydney is confirm they will be no problem. They will be problem for the flight from Perth to Melbourne on the way back on 09/02/2015. The reason she told that they are no more seat on the flight and the next few day flights. As she on the phone, I check the internet I found out that she is not telling the true and tickets is still available for sale.I told her to fix the problem. The worst thing happened on the morning 21/01/2015 when do the check in the counter staff told me that the seat is not confirm as Scoot have not pay Virgin for the flight.The counter staff advise me to buy the ticket to Sydney as Scoot already confirm the flight from Sydney to Singapore, if I missed the flight they will be no refund. Please investigate and make sure my flight home will be fully confirm, return the extra money I paid for the Melbourne to Sydney sector, as a women I'm very worry to be stuck alone, for Scoot please play clean don't spoil your Singapore Airline reputation, please be responsible...thank you adiman 0478630226 0413173856
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Advertisement
Sun, 12/14/2014 10:41 AM
SYD » MEL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne)
1 out of 5
Rude, unhelpful and totally uncaring Airline Staff
Tigerair changed the flight of a minor , from Sydney to Melbourne by a couple of hours such that the minor was not able to get on a connection flight to London. Tigerair staff were rude , uncaring and refused to refund the airfare so that the minor could catch another flight to make the connection. Finally I had to buy a second ticket on another airline so that the minor could catch that flight to London. I would not recommend this airline to anyone. This airline is set up to Con passengers and to make money. Their rules are set up to benefit them only. I would recommend to avoid traveling on Tigerair. I intend to spread the word about this airline in as many ways as possible to stop them from cheating passengers !
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Thu, 12/05/2013 09:53 AM
MEL » SYD » DPS
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Bali Ngurah Rai Airport (Denpasar) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
4 out of 5
Very enjoyable
Love the direction that VA is going with its branding, customer service and product. On our outbound direct flight from MEL the crew were excellent, very professional whilst remaining friendly and energetic throughout the 6hr flight. As it was a day time flight the 737 was comfortable although its a very basic business class seat even for a 737. They also can only furnish you with a minimal selection of beverages due to the small galley. The wifi inflight entertainment worked well but to make full use of it bring your own ipad instead of using one of VA's and make sure you download the app before you get on the plane. Our flight home via SYD was a late night flight and the seats were no good for sleep. The staff were professional but lacked a little warmth. I kid you not we disembarked at gate 1, used electronic passport control, picked up our bags and had checked in for our domestic flight in less than 20 minutes. Most of the staff and the domestic check in were to busy comparing nails but the manager took care of us. Only in Australia would 6 hours be considered a short haul international flight ;) but seriously this flight is really calling out for a bigger plane for passenger comfort and I'm sure they could fill it as all our flights were completely full.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Tue, 10/08/2013 02:22 AM
SYD » MEB
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Essendon Airport (Melbourne)
1 out of 5
Unorganised, Chaotic and Stressful!!
Unfortunately I travelled with Jetstar over the long weekend as it was cheaper than other airlines, and they beat tiger airways by 10%. I have never flown with them before and thought I would try the airline out as I was told by friends that it was only an hour flight so it would be fine. It was ridiculous - so chaotic, unorganised and there were no staff at any of the gates. Firstly my online check-in was not working, so I called their help desk and the lady on the phone was not even listening to what I was saying and was completely patronising. On my return flight, there was no identification of the flight number or time at the gate, gate changes over the speaker that were incorrect nor ANY STAFF there to help with any queries. Both flights were extremely delayed and the flight crew were not helpful (just stood around while people were flustered and worried about where to put their baggage as there was no room). Bags were moved by the flight crew and they did not inform the passengers. It took over 35 minutes to board the plane. The most annoying part about the whole thing was that the lines to board were crazy - we were told to line up (didn't even hear the staff as it was not said over the intercom), once we were all lined up and waiting in line (which was very long mind you) they decided to change the way in which to board to seat 19 - 37 first (this created so much chaos and the passengers were getting very frustrated because at this point the flight was already delayed by 25 minutes). On both my flights the flight hostesses were rude, very unhelpful and kept hitting the back of my seat without apologising. I would never fly with jetstar again, it was an awful experience. It was not smooth, easy or stress free (as you would know it is alrwady stressful trying ot get to the airport on time, checkin in etc.) My flight outbound had a huge delay - 1.5 hours and I was not informed by sms nor email or a phone call. Jetstar needs to pull up their socks. The price difference is the only thing going for this airline and majority of the time it is still expensive. Sorry Jetstar I would not recommend your airline.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Sun, 05/26/2013 06:21 AM
SYD » MEL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne)
1 out of 5
Booking problems which I had to pay extra for
I wanted to book a flight and Jetstar's website didn't work (tried 4 times) followed their instructions to contact the airline, but no number printed next to this instruction. Rang to explained the problem, got cut off. Rang again re-explained the problem. Had to pay an excess because I made the booking by telephone, which I had to do cause their website didn't seem to work with my Safari browser. Asked to speak to a supervisor, but none were available, which I wasn't surprised about given what had already gone on. Agent gave me a $50 off voucher so the price was the same as on the web, but couldn't apply it to the flight I booked as it only applies to future flights. The whole process took over 30 minutes, compared to my experience booking online with Virgin Australia which took less than 5 minutes. Once I use the voucher, I will never fly with Jetstar again. This was one of the worst customer experiences I have ever had and they just didn't seem to care at all. Jetstar/Qantas should be ashamed of themselves.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Fri, 04/05/2013 11:15 AM
SYD » MEL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne)
1 out of 5
Qantas has gone down the toilet!
I have lived in Australia my entire life and use to love flying Qantas - years ago it was a wonderful, world class airline. In the last fifteen years it has gone from excellent to absolutely appalling. Qantas use to pride itself on its safety - but we all know that whatever they may say, they've recently had serious incident after serious incident. It really is profits before people. On a recent flight from Sydney to Melbourne - "dinner" consisted of 1 napkin and a greasy, disgusting "pie" in a plastic bag - it was truly revolting. I would be so embarrassed servicing that slop to a customer. As for the seats - they are seriously uncomfortable to the point where you actually talk to the people next to you and say things like "these seats are just dreadful." No leg room, terrible pitch - very very uncomfortable! Whoever this seat"designer" is Qantas keeps going on about should have been sacked. The seats are actually borderline ridiculous. If they were even 1mm smaller, they would be completely non-functional. I won't be flying Qantas again - save your money people - with all the choice out there, fly an airline who actually cares about its paying customers!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Mon, 03/04/2013 08:42 AM
MEL » SYD
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
2 out of 5
Horrible service
Flew flight TT578, MEL-SYD and TT611, SYD-MEL. First flight was cancelled due to bad weather on previous flight. Communication was lacking for around an hour. First they announced that the flight was delayed and after another 20 minutes they announced it was cancelled. After that it was total chaos as the under-staffed crew had to handle 200 passengers. First available flight was 3 days later so we had to drive instead to reach our destination on time. Car rental + gas = $500. On the returning flight we had originally paid for 20 kg of luggage but as we had more, we tried to upgrade it. It's not possible to do online, where they tell to call them. We tried 3 different call center numbers (One wonders why they have so many) from 2 different phones - all giving a disconnected line. With a smug smile and a condescending attitude we were told at the airport, that it was our problem if their call center were too busy (because of the beforementioned bad weather conditions). We were forced to pay $40 for 2kg extra. Conclution: Avoid this company. Do yourself a favor and choose someone more competent and service-minded.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Wed, 02/27/2013 12:36 PM
MEL » SYD
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
Threatening and Abusive Staff
I was booked for the JQ2 flight departing Melbourne at 17-40. I tried to check-in on line earlier that day, and was advised that it was not possible… On arrival at Terminal 2 delayed by road conditions, I searched for the Jetstar area, not being familiar with Melbourne. I tried to use a kiosk to check-in. I was relieved that I had arrived at 16-50. I received a card advising that I should report to the ‘service desk’. All the queues for check-in were very lengthy; I called to a female member of staff and asked for her advice as I was concerned that the flight was closing imminently. I was polite, smiling and engaging. She responded abruptly said it’s an international flight, with no more information. I repeated, please help me, I do not understand. She just repeated “its an international flight; join the queue.” I replied I am flying to Sydney, how cnn that be an international flight?” She told me I had missed the flight and need to rebook…” Again, I expressed my confusion. I approached a male, who later confirmed that he was the Check-in Manager; who radioed and walked away, again without explanation, just saying, the girls will rebook you. In the queue, it was apparent that there was a long line of customers behind me with similar problem. We were all confused and did not have clear itinaries or special messages to advise of the nature of an international flight. At the check-in I overheard the customer in front speak to the assistant; stating that she was “gloating”. From where I was standing her manner was abrupt, hostile and rude, not particularly engaging the customer. She then served me, and I was charged a $100 rebooking fee. I expressed that this was unfair, given that there were so many customers sharing the same problem. I stated it must be a systems issue. Similar to the previous experience, she was abrupt, unapologetic, and devoid of any empathy for the stressful and confusing situation. She just stated you were on the Bali flight. I responded that “No… I was on the Sydney flight.” I then stated I found her manner inappropriate and rude; and similar to the previous customer, I have the impression she was gloating over our misfortune. She proceeded to berate me… “How dare I accuse her… I do not know what I am talking about….” I asked her three times to desist. The customer service manager also tried to stop her three times. She was scowling, stood up and seemed to reach across the desk in an aggressive manner. She was visibly angry and aggressive. Due to her attitude, I asked for the AFP to be called. She continued that she could have charged him $500 and didn’t, giving me details of how he had made several errors etc. I said that discussing the passenger’s issues was unnecessary and inappropriate; Throughout the exchange, I was assertive, polite and did not raise my voice. I was complaining articulately, and was accused by the staff of causing a disturbance. I appreciate my insistence may be a delay to reducing the queue, but I was behaving reasonably, supported by other passengers. I believe that the staff were not dealing with my concern appropriately, and were seeking to silence my dissent. I again requested that the customer service manager call the AFP, as I was concerned that the situation had escalated and wished to raise my compliant and concerns with independent neutral people present. The request was ignored three times. I was advised that unless I stopped complaining or causing a disturbance, I would not be permitted to fly. I emphasise, I did not raise my voice, nor did I swear, nor did I threaten the staff. I was exacerbated by the response. Several passengers freely gave me their cards and email addresses. I also asked the people behind me if they had witnessed the experience. They were similarly shocked and gave me their contact details. I was then taken aside, and told if I did not leave the area, I would not be permitted to fly. I reluctantly left the area. The situation was unpleasant, threatening and abusive. I found the initial issue stressful, and the staff experience very distressing. Several customers witnessed this exchange, and I asked them for their details, which I received. Six other unknown passengers gave me their details, in support of my concern. They expressed their concern about how I was dealt with. Several stated that they just wanted to stop the complaint by threatening that I would not fly, an abuse of authority; rude and offensive; unwilling to explain or assist. About a month ago I was involved in a serious incident on another airline, where I restrained a passenger and a plane was diverted to Melbourne (after he was secured by hand restraints). I was concerned about the escalation of aggression on flights, and the role of staff in escalating problems. This experience although less serious, had significant deficits in customer care, empathy and indeed if a passenger behaved in the same manner as your staff, they should quite rightly not be permitted to fly…. I do not take kindly to being threatened, treated unreasonably, denied explanation and being subject to rudeness and hostility. At the very least, I would suggest that your staff receive appropriate refreshers in de-escalation and customer care. Empathy, information and courtesy would have been helpful. I was outraged and very distressed by the experience, tried to contact the Jetstar phone line; was being put through to a supervisor after all my contact details were recorded. At this stage, the line went dead. I resorted to social media to express my complaint, as Jetstar appeared unwilling to responsively address the issue. My intention was to speak to the media. I feel very strongly that Jetstar failed the test of reasonableness in providing information to passengers (especially when it is different from usual domestic flights), the failure of on-line check-in, the arrival experience at check-in, the manner in which your staff spoke to a number of customers, my personal experience and exchanges with three members of staff at check-in and being threatened, abused and manipulated into not voicing a fair and reasonable complaint. On arrival at Sydney I searched out a customer care desk; was greeted and dealt with respectfully by a member of staff called Christine. Although she could do nothing an referred me to the complaints website; at the very least I felt heard and respected. Interestingly, none of the staff at Melbourne wore name badges. The JQ2 systems issue aside, which I now know is a common experience (and certainly was this evening), the attitude by the manager and his staff was at best ambivalent and provocative. I protest in the strongest possible terms and look forward to a personal apology from those staff.
Recommended: No
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Very Poor
Fri, 08/24/2012 02:10 AM
MEL » SYD » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
Jetstar_Lost luggage, lengthy check-ins twice each way, rude staff_Not worth it!!
I travelled from Mel to Honolulu but had to stop via Sydney with husband and 2 kids. It is not made clear by Jetstar anywhere on their info that when flying to Honolulu from Melbourne you have to collect your luggage, pay $20 cab fee to move to int'l terminal in sydney and face another lengthy line up again to board the international flight. In most other airlines your luggage is moved seamlessly by the airline and put onto the plane. This resulted in one hour of lining up in Mel and then another hour and ten minutes at Sydney plus 2 lots of security plus a 3 hour wait for the int'l plane. Same in reverse for way back. When we arrived in Honolulu our checked bag did not arrive. It was lost by Syd baggage handlers. It took 5 days for Jetstar to locate it and get it to us. No apologies! On return back from Honolulu we were reluctant to check in luggage (understandably!) so took most of our luggage on board. We each had a standard roll-on bag and a small handbag/backpach each. Honolulu Jetstar was fine with our take on luggage but when we got to Syd after 10 hour log haul flight and another 45 mins lining up to get to Mel the check-in staff decided our take-on luggage was too heavy (we had 11 kgs each for combo of roll-on & handbags - 1kg over limit - which was fine by Honolulu Jestar staff) so Jetstar Syd fined us $70 before we could board Mel flight. We then had to line up another 25 mins to pay this fine at a separate service desk. I was complaining about this to my daughter in line and was told by the Jetstar staff member I wasn't allowed to complain or she would ban me from returning to Mel (I was not yelling or swearing _ I'm an academic by trade so very mild mannered)!! When lining up to get on board plane from Syd to Mel the women behind me told me she only paid $35 for this flight (all 100kg's of her with roll-on luggage)- which was half what we paid to check on one 11 kg bag!! This was very galling. Don't use Jetstar for int'l flights involving domestic changeovers. It's not worth the time, effort and money particularly on way home when you are exhausted from long-haul flight and faced with more hours of waiting in long check-in lines, 3 hours wait for domestic plane and rude Aussie Jetstar staff (the USA Jestar staff were charming by comparison). This poor service in Aus is part of the reason QANTAS is losing so much money. They have lost me as a customer forever.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Mon, 01/02/2012 12:52 AM
MEL » SYD » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
You get what you paid for!
Very poor service as soon as a booking is made. I had to change the time on the last leg of connecting flight 2 months before departure in order to attend a friend's wedding, but were told there was absolutely no way i could do that. I offered to pay for an entire new flight but was told that my luggage would still be put on the original flight during transit. In the end, my luggage were actually returned to me during transit ( don't know why customer service agents think lying is acceptable), and missed out on the wedding even though i could have booked another earlier flight with whichever airline i liked. Cabin crew were uninterested and rude at best, one told off my friend for allegedly having her phone on after landing,and when this particular cabin crew found out it was actually off, no apology was given. The worst service ever received onboard an aircraft. It seems this budget airline thinks that given their prices are lower, it is a privilege to be allowed on their aircrafts, just unbelievable!! NEVER again! NOT worth the little savings you might get!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Tue, 12/13/2011 07:57 PM
SYD » MEL
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne)
5 out of 5
Excellent customer service
I recently had to make significant changes to an existing booking via the customer service call centre. The help, advice and service I received made me feel like a VIP. Nothing was too much trouble. I was treated as a valued customer. I was even offered advice about saving money on the change of booking fees. The friendly, professional and personal service is very much appreciated. Many thanks!!!!!
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Sun, 02/13/2011 04:33 AM
MEL » SYD
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
3 out of 5
Tired plane; pleasant staff
Flew on one of Qantas' old 767s, which really are tired and worn now, on a domestic flight. Flight attendants spent some time working on the disabled toilet door, with a broken vacancy indicator. Sounds like it had been a problem for a while. To be fair, Qantas was planning to move to 787s early - but of course the Dreamliner has been delayed. In the meantime, the 767s provide a comfortable flight, but hardly one which makes you thrilled to be on board. Qantas staff are efficient and pleasant - but again are not trained to make the passenger feel special. The constant mantra is that "safety" is the priority - but, if you think about it, in an emergency passengers are more likely to follow crew instructions if they think the crew are absolutely dedicated to passenger care. Hence, encouraging crew to do more for passengers pays off in more than one way - as many Asian and Middle Eastern airlines have learnt. The question for Qantas now is whether it wants to be a "legacy" carrier - as they call the established US airlines - or to update its aircraft and its staff training to be one of the world's great airlines. Over to you, Mr Joyce.
Recommended: No
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Satisfactory