Melbourne - Honolulu Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Melbourne-Honolulu route
Qantas Airways
Qantas Airways
Qantas Airways
Global
Qantas Airways
Air Australia (Strategic Airlines)
Qantas Airways
Spread the word...
Melbourne
Honolulu
Jetstar Airways
Global
30.3 total score
21 reviews
19% Recommended
33% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
Melbourne-Honolulu route
13.3 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Qantas Airways
Global
49.8 total score
28 reviews
43% Recommended
39% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
Melbourne-Honolulu route
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
Air Australia (Strategic Airlines)
Global
50.3 total score
32 reviews
41% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
Melbourne-Honolulu route
58.9 total score
6 reviews
50% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.5/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Mon, 08/26/2013 04:28 AM
MEL » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
4 out of 5
Pay extra $25 for seat allocation.
Our Qantas flights to and from Honolulu were more than satisfactory, and the customer service from cabin crew was excellent, however, I was un-aware, that if you prefer to get an allocated seat prior to 24 hours to check-in, Qantas requires a payment of $25 per person per sector, ( free with-in the 24 hours ) Checking the flight seating on-line, aprox: 3 days before our flight, I noticed that 90% of the seats displayed as " occupied " and since my partner and I would prefer to be seated together, we paid the extra for 2 seats together, on our return flight, we checked-in, with-in the 24 hour period and found that almost 97% were displaying as occupied, ( 4 seats vacant ) but at the HNL airport check-in we were able to get the seats we requested. This leaves me with the feeling that Qantas blocks out the seats, in order to get people to pay the additional fee, in the fear of being seated separately, I certainly hope I am wrong.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Advertisement
Fri, 08/24/2012 02:10 AM
MEL » SYD » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
Jetstar_Lost luggage, lengthy check-ins twice each way, rude staff_Not worth it!!
I travelled from Mel to Honolulu but had to stop via Sydney with husband and 2 kids. It is not made clear by Jetstar anywhere on their info that when flying to Honolulu from Melbourne you have to collect your luggage, pay $20 cab fee to move to int'l terminal in sydney and face another lengthy line up again to board the international flight. In most other airlines your luggage is moved seamlessly by the airline and put onto the plane. This resulted in one hour of lining up in Mel and then another hour and ten minutes at Sydney plus 2 lots of security plus a 3 hour wait for the int'l plane. Same in reverse for way back. When we arrived in Honolulu our checked bag did not arrive. It was lost by Syd baggage handlers. It took 5 days for Jetstar to locate it and get it to us. No apologies! On return back from Honolulu we were reluctant to check in luggage (understandably!) so took most of our luggage on board. We each had a standard roll-on bag and a small handbag/backpach each. Honolulu Jetstar was fine with our take on luggage but when we got to Syd after 10 hour log haul flight and another 45 mins lining up to get to Mel the check-in staff decided our take-on luggage was too heavy (we had 11 kgs each for combo of roll-on & handbags - 1kg over limit - which was fine by Honolulu Jestar staff) so Jetstar Syd fined us $70 before we could board Mel flight. We then had to line up another 25 mins to pay this fine at a separate service desk. I was complaining about this to my daughter in line and was told by the Jetstar staff member I wasn't allowed to complain or she would ban me from returning to Mel (I was not yelling or swearing _ I'm an academic by trade so very mild mannered)!! When lining up to get on board plane from Syd to Mel the women behind me told me she only paid $35 for this flight (all 100kg's of her with roll-on luggage)- which was half what we paid to check on one 11 kg bag!! This was very galling. Don't use Jetstar for int'l flights involving domestic changeovers. It's not worth the time, effort and money particularly on way home when you are exhausted from long-haul flight and faced with more hours of waiting in long check-in lines, 3 hours wait for domestic plane and rude Aussie Jetstar staff (the USA Jestar staff were charming by comparison). This poor service in Aus is part of the reason QANTAS is losing so much money. They have lost me as a customer forever.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Thu, 02/16/2012 06:57 AM
MEL » BNE » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu) via Brisbane International Airport (Brisbane)
5 out of 5
great experience despite my worry
guess i have to stop reading bad reviews...i had a great flight, the cabin crew were awesome (and australian). very happy. would definately fly with them again. i think an airline is great because of its service, which is ultimately its crew...and ours was great. i only regret not taking the crew managers name because he was so great to me!!
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Fri, 01/27/2012 02:11 PM
MEL » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
1 out of 5
Hopeless
Cabin old and dated with no working inflight entertainment. Rude cabin crew who were more interested in reading their magazines than serving you. Food was unedible and when I asked which wines were available it was met with a response of " none worth drinking". I think she thought she was being cute but it was a mix of truth and sarcasm. Much improvement required in staff training and some money spent on sprucing up the aircraft to bring it to an acceptable level. I don't expect to see them around for too long at this rate!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Fri, 01/27/2012 04:37 AM
MEL » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
1 out of 5
Not Happy Jan!
I was quite looking forward to flying with Air Australia on my recent trip to Hawaii. Sadly I was disappointed. On the way to Honolulu the staff were very nice and friendly. However, my seat would not recline and the seat in front of me was in a fully reclined position which made it rather uncomfortable. Luckily for me the seat beside me was vacant and I managed to curl up on both seats and sleep for a while during the flight. The plane was not very clean either, dirty seats and crumbs on the carpet. I asked for the cheese and biscuits advertised on the menu and was told that unfortunately they had not been loaded on the plane so I chose not to have anything. There were a few times where we hit rough patches and were advised by the pilot (I presume) to fasten our seatbelts until the light went out. It was nice to be informed. Matters got considerably worse on the way home. At Honolulu airport we arrived 3 hours ahead of departure and made our way to the Air Australia desk, which is beside other Australian airlines. There were no signs indicating where to line up and a staff member said all the Australian flights are being checked through this area. So we waited and when we got to the head of the line we were told that Air Australia were at the other end of the terminal. So then we had to wait a considerable amount of time to be checked in. A sign indicating the direction of where the check in is at the unmanned Australian Airlines information desk would have been very helpful. This time I was travelling with my partner. The seats we were allocated did not recline – unfortunately for us the seats directly in front of us did so we had our TV monitors in our faces….. and they were not working! The lights were also not working which made reading difficult. So no in-flight entertainment, no lighting and upright seats with the seats in front of us reclining. On a 10+ hour flight! As the plane was quite full staff were unable to relocate us. I was offered a torch if I wanted to read. A few times the seatbelt sign came on but no announcement was given at any of these times. Staff appeared stressed – how can they be proud working for an airline that has substandard conditions for its passengers. We were offered nothing in way of compensation – we still had to pay for our poor quality food. On arrival in Melbourne we found our way to the baggage carousels. The monitor at carousel 3 indicated that our luggage will be arriving. We waited 40 minutes until there were no more bags. There were other passengers from our flight waiting as well. Upon asking at the baggage desk we were told that our luggage is on carousel 6. There had been no announcement of the change of carousel. This was very poor indeed to say the least. I understand that Air Australia is an airline new to taking commercial passengers and I am willing to accept a hiccup or two. However the condition of the plane, the lack of information and direction at the airports leave much be desired. These are observations that I was able to see. I shudder to think of what may be happening in the background with cleanliness, maintenance and staffing morale. I have raised these issues via their feedback email and have not received a reply. Not good enough really.
Recommended: No
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Mon, 01/23/2012 12:53 PM
MEL » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
4 out of 5
Good Value
Just completed a MEL - HNL flight in Business Class and for the price paid, was pleasantly surprised. This route is not operated by Atlas Jet aircraft or crew...which seems to be the biggest cause of concern from the below reviews. The Air Australia cabin crew were proactive, friendly and could not do enough. Business class cabin has certainly seen better days (ex Swiss Air A330) but for the price paid, the seats did the job. IFE was average but noise cancelling headphones were good. Food was actually quite nice but the plastic glasses and lack of linen was disappointing. Give Air Australia business class a chance...perhaps not Atlas Jet.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Mon, 01/23/2012 08:34 AM
MEL » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
4 out of 5
Great crew, smooth flight
As this was my first flight with Air Australia I wasn't sure what to expect, but I must say that for the most part I was pleasantly surprised. The cabin crew were friendly and energetic throughout the flights and were more than happy to have a chat and meet our various requests. On the way over the captain even came over and shook my hand and made a fuss of my young son. The flight was on-time on both legs of the trip and the wait in the line for check-in was reasonable both times. Sure, the condition of the cabin was fair, but hey, for the rock bottom price I paid for a trip to Hawaii I really can't complain! Would I fly with them again? You bet.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Tue, 01/17/2012 04:05 AM
MEL » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu)
1 out of 5
I won't fly strategic again
Melbourne to Honolulu. One hour queue to check-in (no online check-in available). Departed at 19.35 (35 min delayed) dinner served at 23.00 and not even water was offered to passengers. Request to bring my daughter's dinner in advance denied due to priority on passengers from row 20 (we in row 38 and had to wait 40 min to be served which is unacceptable for young kids). Entertainment not working and requests to fix it ignored. Out of 3, at least one toilet was out of service. Price just a bit cheaper compared with other airlines when they are in sale. In summary, it was like flying with tiger but international instead of domestic which make the suffering a lot longer. I won't fly strategic again.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Mon, 01/02/2012 12:52 AM
MEL » SYD » HNL
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Honolulu International Airport (Honolulu) via Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney)
1 out of 5
You get what you paid for!
Very poor service as soon as a booking is made. I had to change the time on the last leg of connecting flight 2 months before departure in order to attend a friend's wedding, but were told there was absolutely no way i could do that. I offered to pay for an entire new flight but was told that my luggage would still be put on the original flight during transit. In the end, my luggage were actually returned to me during transit ( don't know why customer service agents think lying is acceptable), and missed out on the wedding even though i could have booked another earlier flight with whichever airline i liked. Cabin crew were uninterested and rude at best, one told off my friend for allegedly having her phone on after landing,and when this particular cabin crew found out it was actually off, no apology was given. The worst service ever received onboard an aircraft. It seems this budget airline thinks that given their prices are lower, it is a privilege to be allowed on their aircrafts, just unbelievable!! NEVER again! NOT worth the little savings you might get!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor