Mauritius - London Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Mauritius-London route
Emirates
Emirates
Air France
Global
Air Mauritius
Air Mauritius
Air Mauritius
Spread the word...
Mauritius
London
Air France
Global
40.1 total score
18 reviews
28% Recommended
39% Value for Money
2.3/5 Customer Service
Mauritius-London route
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
Air Mauritius
Global
78.7 total score
8 reviews
75% Recommended
88% Value for Money
3.8/5 Customer Service
Mauritius-London route
56.7 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
British Airways
Global
46.6 total score
23 reviews
39% Recommended
43% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
Mauritius-London route
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
Emirates
Global
54.3 total score
33 reviews
45% Recommended
55% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
Mauritius-London route
84 total score
2 reviews
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
3.5/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Mon, 07/20/2015 04:49 PM
MRU » DXB » LGW
From S. Seewoosagur Ram. International Airport (Mauritius) to Gatwick Airport (London) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
3 out of 5
ok
plane was ok dubai airport is horrible
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Poor
Advertisement
Mon, 10/27/2014 11:05 AM
MRU » LHR » EWR
From S. Seewoosagur Ram. International Airport (Mauritius) to Newark Liberty International Airport (Newark) via Heathrow Airport (London)
4 out of 5
BA offers a very professional service
Mauritius-Gatwick 24th September 2014. British Airways. B777-200 Usually for my roughly twice-a-year trips from Mauritius to the UK I don’t use the BA nonstop service. So as I settled into my seat at the back end of the economy cabin on the BA777-200 flying to London (Gatwick) and prepared myself for the almost 12 hour long nonstop sector, I asked myself the question… what am I doing here on British Airways ?… It’s an old 777-200 with three abreast seating throughout ‘World traveller’ section. I am at the window & I had to pay quite a bit extra on the fare to be sure of a preferred window seat Then the final disadvantage, that BA operates Mauritius to Gatwick-, and I had to transit/connect for my New York flight at Heathrow Airport. Then I remembered – I wanted to tryout the BA Dreamliner to the USA and their new A380 for the return from LA . The total fare on BA using midweek service and only one stop-over on the way out (although for 19 hours I could overnight in London.) revealed that quite a substantial economy was possible over doing the MRU-LHR sector on another airline and then connect transatlantic– so here we are- getting the advantages of a through fare and having to take in the disadvantages of an airport change in London.. No Airline flying out of Mauritius offers flights to New York through Heathrow. I paid in advance for a seat selection, for all the sectors. MRU-LGW/LHR-EWR/LAX-LHR/LGW-MRU. and monitored the seats maps on ‘Manage my booking’. Here’s a tip. 24 hours prior to departure all the remaining unbooked and paid in advance seats are ‘released’. However if you think that by checking in on line 24 hours in advance you will get the whole choice of all the remaining ‘available’ seats- think again. I checked the seat maps or my flights a few hours before the deadline and saw lots of ‘available’ places. when I checked again just exactly 24 hours prior to departure – I was surprised to see almost no available seats were left for online check-ins and those that were ‘available ‘ were not worth having! So, where had all those previously ‘available' seats gone in that short time? I have no proof but can only presume that the airline retrieves them and does not make them available to on line check-ins. I also noted when checking in on-line from Mauritius that I could not check in all the way through to New York even though I was going straight through. I had to re-check in the LHR-EWR sector in the UK which I could not do 24 hours in advance-as I was still in the air!. BUT be warned from my experience. If you don’t book & pay for a specific seat and hope that. ‘On line check in’ passengers will get the pick of what is left over 24 hours in advance- think again….at least on BA So beware, it seems that on-line check-in passengers who have not already chosen and paid for their seat are at a distinct disadvantage as far as seat selection is concerned. The flight Mauritius-Gatwick is a long day flight and all seating in three abreast. In my opinion the IFE on BA is abysmal. I could not find any films that I wanted to see –or any music that I wanted to listen to- unless you are interested in almost unknown musical groups. But that’s a matter of opinion. The on board service and the food selection offered was very good. The flight on Sept 24th from Mauritius to Gatwick was on time and safely operated. The flight Heathrow-New York (Newark). The Dreamliner flight that I had so much looked forward too was marred by a long delay at Heathrow. The 16.30 pm departure on Sept 25th was listed as having a New Departure time of 17.40 (you notice not a delayed time or a late time – but a New Time). This was then amended to an even later ‘new’ time – and intending passengers grouped around the Customer Service desk in Terminal 5 to get news on the situation. A delay due to technical fault was announced- there were some raised voices on the resulting inconvenience. Refreshment vouchers for 5UKL were offered. The flight eventually took off at 18.30 and landed in Newark at 21.30 local time. I had been informed in advance that many passengers had found the Dreamliner’s of BA not living up to the name, finding the seats narrow and cramped with no leg room and less personal space. I found the seats OK. The window shade is electronically adjusted-but is also master controlled by the crew- so it is they who decide if and when you can see out of the windows or not The reason for the delay was variously explained from a technical problem by the ground staff, to a delay in positioning the aircraft from the maintenance base to the gate, by the crew. I’m not sure I would like to do a very long flight in a Dreamliner – as it is all three abreast seating in World Traveller. I would prefer to opt for an A340 or A330 which mostly have lots of two abreast seating. For the return trip on Wednesday 8th October from LAX to LHR – I had booked & paid for a seat on the upper deck (it was not cheap), and again observed on the seat map that there were very few seats left for on line check ins 24 hours in advance. I wonder if the ’available’ seat are retrieved by the airline and held back for Airport check ins. I was pleased to see that at LAX check in for BA those passengers who had already checked in on line were given priority check in at specially designated desks and avoided a long queue Cabin baggage storage on the Upper deck of the A380 is a problem. It pays to get on board early and literally ‘bag’ a place. The advantage of a window seat on the upper deck is that there is a cupboard area between the seat and the window and by bringing a cushion –or a bag to lean on – I was able to get the best night’s sleep ever on a long overnight flight. In the morning I asked the cabin attendant to request the person in front of me to upright her reclined seat so that I would have room to manage my breakfast. She informed me that she was not permitted to wake people up. So I had to manage as best I could. In fact breakfast was little more than a croissant in a box. I then wondered what would happen for the landing if the person in front of me was still asleep. I was amazed to see that she was allowed to continue to sleep with seat reclined during the landing! On the return Gatwick to Mauritius on October 14th I had booked the only two abreast seats at the rear of the World traveller section- and it was worth the money (quite a lot of money!). No problem with a reclined sleeper in from this time and the hot and full breakfast offered on this flight was most welcome and enjoyed. A good flight and a good crew. Thanks BA.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Thu, 05/22/2014 08:37 PM
LHR » MRU
From Heathrow Airport (London) to S. Seewoosagur Ram. International Airport (Mauritius)
1 out of 5
Very poor customer service
Air Mauritius is the worst Airline I have ever dealt with. We had recently relatives from Mauritius come to England for a visit. During their stay one of them became ill and the doctor would not let him fly due to some radioactive treatment he received and confirmed this in a letter. I sent emails to three different addresses from Air Mauritius asking to postpone the flights back to Mauritius. I had no response at all, no communication from the airline. Several phone calls to the airline always ended in: You can change the flight now but it costs you between 135 Euro and 210 pounds depends where we phoned. Stating in the terms and conditions on Air Mauritius' website that if a passenger is to fall ill abroad fees should be waved? The office people had no authority to make decisions. We were promised answers at a later date and failed to do so. So we had to change the flight to a later date for ridiculous money. The final examination did not go too well and the doctor had to do some more treatment. So the flights needed to be changed again. We phoned again and sent all sorts of paperwork and received exactly the same customer service. We paid again 280 pounds for changing flights. On their return flight finally our relatives arrived in Mauritius with a 1.5 hours delay and a wet shirt (water was dripping all night from the top of the plane). Air Mauritius does not know what customer service is, they understand only money. Conclusion: Air Mauritius, never again. Emirates, BA, Condor, and Air France are a better choice.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Mon, 10/08/2012 10:19 AM
MRU » DXB » LHR
From S. Seewoosagur Ram. International Airport (Mauritius) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
5 out of 5
I think Boeing selected the best design option for ‘double’ deck mega jumbo’s.
As I hate night flights I chose to do the Mauritius –London sector in stages. An evening flight to Dubai.(Thursday and Saturdays-EK 3701 leaving Mauritius at 18.20) with a two night stopover in Dubai and then a day flight (EK 5) departing Dubai at 14.15 to London Terminal 3. However a Dubai 96 hour visa on my Mauritian Passport sells at 50UKL a pop so I shall think twice before doing it again. A friend told me once whispered to me- Go to Dubai but Don’t buy. I have remembered it, Customer service at the Emirates Mauritius office was impeccable. Polite, quick and efficient. I couldn’t have asked for better. One slight hic was when I was informed a couple of days before leaving that the seat I had requested 6 months in advance (when I paid my ticket)was not available on the 777 type that would now operate the service. So be informed that 49AB JK is not available on some of Emirates 777-300’s & this is not always clear on the website seat map provided for the flight. . I was moved to 48B. Not what I wanted but not the end of the world. I was still in the two abreast seats at the rear of the Economy cabin. The EK flight Mauritius Dubai was absolutely full- on time and OK. Cabin service and flight deck announcements all perfect. Some of the Mauritian cabin crew assigned to the service made the trip extra friendly. At Dubai’s most modern International airport I was surprised to notice that we were bussed from the Ramp to the Arrivals Terminal. Also , even at that time of night we got snarled up in ramp traffic and runway crossings and the trip took a full 20 minutes. Two days later and I checked in on-line for the EK5 Dubai to London. An Airbus 380. I had selected at seat at the front of the economy cabin. I was looking forward to the A380 and have to confess that I was disappointed. I am mystified by the design of the nose section of the A380 which seems to be designed round a large staircase, which uses up a huge area of airborne real estate and which it seemed, no one used! (On the flight I was on it was roped off). The upper deck passengers on Emirates A380’s(first and business) are boarded by an upper deck ramp and the main deck passengers (economy) board through main desk ramps. No one uses this huge staircase,either during boarding or during the flight. The boarding announcements at Dubai were too loud , distorted and incomprehensible. I do not like the Ovoid shape of the A380 fuselage. The A380 has more space ,but often it is wasted space. It is not where you want it! For instance, whereas the seat pitch is the same cramped up for legroom as any other aircraft, but there is increased space is between the window seat and the cabin wall- where you don’t want it. To reach the overhead comfort controls- you have to stand up to reach them which is difficult when wearing a seat belt. This is not a plane to fly if you want the view. To see out of the windows- you have to crane your neck. On the upper deck you hit a pane of Plexiglas a full four inches away from the window, and that after leaning across a storage cabinet. A bit better than the main deck, but not much. The siting of the cockpit mid-deck seems to me to result in a lot of wasted space especially on the upper deck.. The forward toilets on the main deck are up a mini staircase and on exiting the toilet it is like coming out on stage and one is conscious of rows and rows of eyes examining ones posture and clothing adjustments! In my opinion Boeing made the best option for design on the 747 with a double bubble shape- and the cockpit firmly sited on the upper deck and passengers seated on the lower deck-right up into the nose. The Staircase on the 747-400’s is discreetly sited in the galley structure, and is used! However the cabin of the A380 is noticeably quiet – much quieter than the rear area of the 777. The A380 also seems to have wider seats than the cramped cabin of the 10 abreast seating that Emirates has opted for its 777’s. Sorry Airbus, but if I have the choice on Long Haul. , I would choose the B747 over the A380 every time. Sorry Boeing but I would chose the A330 or the A340 over the B777 every time. This is mainly because of the amount of two abreast seating available in the Airbus Aircraft. (and yes I do know that the 767 also has lots of two abreast seating, which is so much more comfortable on long haul). As Airbus advert states- after climbing over 35,000 ft who wants to climb over four more !
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Tue, 03/27/2012 09:58 AM
LHR » CDG » MRU
From Heathrow Airport (London) to S. Seewoosagur Ram. International Airport (Mauritius) via Charles De Gaulle Airport (Paris)
4 out of 5
Air France pays compensation for delayed baggage consequences.
In October 2011 I flew from London Heathrow Terminal 4 to Mauritius on Air France ( with a change of planes in Paris). On arrival in Mauritius next day I was informed that my bags had not arrived on the same plane(presumably delayed in Paris during the plane change) and that they would be coming on the next Air France flight next day-i.e. 24 hours later. But I was only in transit in Mauritius for 12 hours on my way forward to Rodrigues Island. I completed formalities and went to my pre-arranged rented accommodation. As I had no hand bags and only had what I stood up in, and was travelling on , I needed to purchase essential toiletries and a change of clothes. I did this essential shopping from my own funds . Two days later my bags were delivered to me in Rodrigues. I submitted my claim for my necessary purchases to Air France & some weeks later received a message to say the matter was being dealt with. Yesterday , 6 months later, I received assurance from Air France that my claim has been accepted and they will send me a cheque . Thanks Air France !
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Tue, 12/20/2011 11:16 AM
MRU » LHR
From S. Seewoosagur Ram. International Airport (Mauritius) to Heathrow Airport (London)
5 out of 5
A No Problem trip on Air Mauritius.
I travelled on Air Mauritius from Mauritius to London. It was a 12 hour long, day flight. I selected the day flight as it means I don’t upset my sleep timetable, and can start work without having to sleep off a night flight. But 12 Hours!? It was ‘no problem’. The Air Mauritius Airbus 340 has two by two seating. Wonderful . I avoid three abreast seating on long haul at all costs. The plane looked beautiful inside as well as out. Seemed like it was new. The plane was full totally. The seat pitch was a bit tight – they could do with spacing them out an inch more. .. however.. that’s economy these days. But the on board service was excellent with all that you could want for eats and drinks, and the AVOD in-flight entertainment was working and had a good selection . The time passed quickly with food drinks, films and interesting views from the windows. (and a nap in between, something I never manage on a full night flight) Unfortunately Air Mauritius do not operate day flights from European points to Mauritius. The cabin crew- all Mauritian were friendly and polite and very helpful. Flight deck announcements were timely informative and professional. Most of the passengers were tourists going home after their holidays… but everyone seemed to be happy! Flight was on time and smooth. One word of caution. My flight was OK , but Air Mauritius is a small Airline with only 5 Airbus 340’s and two Airbus 330’s on long haul so there isn’t much margin left if there is any delay or disruption to normal operations. Last word. My fare on Air Mauritius was very competitive, and their Kestrel Flyer scheme gives advantages that can make using them even more tempting.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Fri, 2011-12-23 07:48

I was looking for the information.Its good to know about it.Seems to be you really had a great time there..

Regards