London - Singapore Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
London-Singapore route
Singapore Airlines
Singapore Airlines
Qantas Airways
Global
Singapore Airlines
Singapore Airlines
Singapore Airlines
Spread the word...
London
Singapore
Qantas Airways
Global
46 total score
36 reviews
36% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
London-Singapore route
41.9 total score
5 reviews
20% Recommended
20% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
Singapore Airlines
Global
56.9 total score
23 reviews
48% Recommended
48% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
London-Singapore route
55.3 total score
4 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.8/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Tue, 09/06/2016 03:32 PM
LHR » SIN » MEL
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
Hopeless airline that fails in basic customer service
This airline fails in every aspect of customer service. Check in staff were slow and disorganised. Flight was extensively delayed by hours and ground staff had no idea of what was going on. Service was okay on flight. However at the transit area, no one knew what was happening with people coming off the delayed flight and had missed onward connections. Overall a very poor airline that cares very little about its customers. This airline is not recommended and will be choosing another carrier in the future.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Advertisement
Mon, 04/22/2013 07:03 AM
MEL » SIN » LHR
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
Never fly Singapore Airlines
In September last year I booked flights with Singapore Airlines for May 2013, from Melbourne to London, with a stopover in Singapore. I wanted to book preferred seating straight away, but my travel agent said that it was too early. In January this year, the travel agent booked preferred seats for my wife and I on the Singapore to London and London to Singapore sectors, being the long haul flights. We got the seats we wanted, paid for them, and we thought all was set. Last week when I was reviewing my booking online, I noticed that we no longer had preferred seats allocated to us. I went to see my travel agent, who didn't believe me at first, but after checking discovered that we had indeed lost the seats. She immediately called Singapore Airlines and they informed her that there had been a change of aircraft, so all preferred seat allocations had been lost. By the time we discovered that we had lost our paid for seats, all preferred seats had been taken by other passengers. Singapore Airlines did not inform us that we had lost our paid for preferred seats, they did not refund our money, and they refused to bump any other passengers who had booked preferred seats after we had. And to add salt to the wound, they allocated my wife and I seats that weren't together. Singapore Airlines are not an airline that honours their bookings. Just because you have booked a seat first and paid for it does not mean you will get it. They have now offered to refund our money, but I told them the money is not what is important, we want the preferred seats. My wife suffers from panic attacks when in a confined space for a long period of time, which is one of the major reasons we booked the preferred seats. The airline didn't care - they said all they could do was offer a refund. If they had have notified me back when the seats were cancelled, I would have booked more straight away on the new aircraft. This will definitely be our first and last trip with Singapore Airlines. Don't believe the nonsense that they are one of the world's best airlines. If you are considering flying with them, change your mind now and choose another airline.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Wed, 2013-04-24 06:24

An update on my review - Singapore Airlines have now reinstated our preferred seats on one of the sectors, and they have seated us together on the other sector. I would now rate the airline higher than I did originally, but it seems I can't modify my original rating or review. It has still been a very stressful time trying to get the airline to fix up the stuff up they caused, but all looks better now.

Mon, 2013-05-20 20:50

Have Always Found Singapore Airlines very good in both Econ. And Bus Class. in all respects on the ground and in the air over many many years of flying with them....well done SA

Mon, 04/08/2013 10:54 PM
MEL » SIN » LHR
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
4 out of 5
A380 - the best Qantas experience
Having flown Qantas for many years, so I thought I knew what to expect but was pleasantly surprised with my first experience of this great A380. Apart from the lovely newness of it, economy was really very comfortable. The netting as a footrest helped there, the entertainment the best. Apart from that too, the plane seemed quieter, the take off and landing seemed smoother and the food was really nice. Even the attendants seemed to do a better job than my experiences on 747's or domestic. Would never hesitate to use Qantas again when flying in an A380, it was pretty near as good as it can get while flying economy.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Sat, 12/29/2012 11:39 AM
LHR » SIN
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Changi Airport (Singapore)
5 out of 5
Always a good experience
I have flown with SQ a number of times on this route, as well as other routes throughout Southeast Asia.I have always found the service to be of a high standard. The food and IFE on all flights is very good. Staff are friendly and attentive. I have never experienced any significant delays. SQ can be expensive, however if you keep an " eagle eye " on their website a few months before your trip, you will generally find a reasonably priced ticket, comparable or even better than it's competitors. I would highly recommend Singapore Airlines. Some people have said in the reviews that their service levels have fallen. For me personally I have not found this to be the case.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Fri, 08/24/2012 11:28 AM
PER » SIN » LHR
From Perth Airport (Perth) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
2 out of 5
Not as good as Singapore Airlines, but much the same price
Went to London at Christmas last year with Qantas and did the same thing a year before flying Singapore Airlines. What a difference in these two airlines, but the cost of tickets no different! Qantas is supposed to be the flagship of Australia and charges premium prices for its' service, but it's not up to scratch. The food is awful. Plastic food served with plastic cutlery. A tired dirty plane and the brand new A380 not much better. You know why you get yukky snacks on demand now - less staff on board to serve them up. On both Singapore flights we had a power supply for our laptop. The Singapore leg on the older plane with Qantas didn't and the crew couldn't get the power supply working on the A380, despite many valiant attempts. Check in is a measly 24 hours prior to flight, Singapore 48hours. Staff nicer on Singapore too. Sack Alan Joyce and put someone in the job who can fix these things. I'd only fly Qantas now because I have frequent flyers up my sleeve. Even my 10 year old groans at the mention of a holiday starting with them!!!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Tue, 07/17/2012 04:17 AM
LHR » SIN » BNE
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Brisbane International Airport (Brisbane) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
2 out of 5
Not a patch on the old Qantas
We flew QF First Class LHR to SIN This nmonth JULY 2012. Then SIN to BNE Business as no first offered. The service, layout, food and cabin service on the A380 were not a patch on the BA First Class Hong Kong to Heathrow on the outward journey. Can you believe on the 7.5 hour Singapore to Brisbane there was no food choice as "this is only a short leg and there is no time to offer choices". This is Business class on a tired old 747. No wonder Qantas is riding Southon the ratings chart. Who is in charge of this train wreck? Kerry Pugh
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Sat, 09/10/2011 09:37 PM
SIN » LHR
From Changi Airport (Singapore) to Heathrow Airport (London)
5 out of 5
First class on economy class!
I´ve flown 550.000km, spent 676 hours on 66 flights with Singapore airlines. Business class and economy. I´ve flown 41 other airline and no one tops Singapore Airlines. Top class service. For a frequent air traveller like me there is only one thing that pops up in my mind. " I wish all airlines were like SIA ".
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Sun, 06/05/2011 03:34 AM
LHR » SIN
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Changi Airport (Singapore)
2 out of 5
Very uncomfortable seating
Awful. I will avoid flying with Qantas after my first experience with them from Heathrow to Singapore. About the only thing good about my experience was the in-flight entertainment. The Qantas A380-800 flight had a great choice of movies and music. Other than that, I had a terrible time trying to sleep and get comfortable. The seats are just far too small. I'm not a big person, but slightly taller than average. I'm only 13 stone and 6ft2inches tall. Legroom is ok if you're prepared to keep your legs under the seat in front of you and one thing I quite like is the elimination of those clunky foot rests. But the seats are just far too narrow and the pitch is too short, particularly if the person in front reclines their seat. Before I boarded, I had read the seats were designed by some famous designer and were supposed to be state of the art. What a load of rubbish. The seats are awful. Plain and simple. They've eliminated everything on the seats including any ruggedness and functionality. You can feel every little tap from the person behind pressing on the touch screen and kicking the seat with their knees. And for some reason, the seats seem to amplify the vibrations so it's near impossible to rest if you're a person like me that can't stand sudden jolts of movement. The seat width is too small. Not the smallest I've seen, but then again, seats that I have experienced that are narrower have been on very short haul flights. I didn't expect that from a long haul, especially after an excruciating 13 hour flight. And to make matters worse (some industrial designer needs to get sacked for this one), the earphone socket points towards your leg so when you plug in the earphones, you have even less room and often jolt the plug out when you move. The arm rests only fold back three quarters of the way and mine refused to stay up. Dreadful and inhumanely uncomfortable seating aside, the food served was also not great. The first meal had chicken which tasted as if it had been soaked in detergent and the trays are just too small. Cutlery is plastic, cheap and nasty. There is nowhere to put your cups (most other airlines I've flown with have cup holders on the seats so you can put the tray table away). I wish I could find something good to say about the seating, but I can't - honestly. The service from the cabin crew was ok though and they did their best to ensure everyone was as comfortable as possible - they probably know how bad the seating is. In comparison to other long-haul flights I've had with British Airways, Singapore Airlines and Cathay Pacific, Qantas is definitely (by far) the worst out of the bunch. I certainly will not be flying with them again.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Sun, 02/13/2011 10:10 AM
SYD » SIN » LHR
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
2 out of 5
Too many seats
We were very disappointed with the A380. We had flown on one previously which was operated by Singapore Airlines and were so impressed with the extra space in Economy that we chose to book on the Qantas A380 rather than the Boeing 747. However they had installed many more seats and we found it much more uncomfortable even than the normal 747 configuration. We were quite surprised though that the cabin staff on this occasion seemed much more civil although they wouldn't clean the toilets. We won't be flying Sydney/Heathrow again with Qantas and would prefer to use one of the Asian airlines where the staff have a much better attitude and keep the toilets spotless.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Satisfactory