London - Melbourne Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
London-Melbourne route
Qatar Airways
Qatar Airways
Qatar Airways
Global
Singapore Airlines
Singapore Airlines
Royal Brunei Airlines
Spread the word...
London
Melbourne
Etihad Airways
Global
26.8 total score
24 reviews
13% Recommended
21% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
London-Melbourne route
40 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
Qantas Airways
Global
46 total score
36 reviews
36% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
London-Melbourne route
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
Qatar Airways
Global
46.1 total score
31 reviews
39% Recommended
42% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
London-Melbourne route
100 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
5/5 Customer Service
Royal Brunei Airlines
Global
54.7 total score
3 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
3.7/5 Customer Service
London-Melbourne route
63.3 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
3.5/5 Customer Service
Singapore Airlines
Global
56.9 total score
23 reviews
48% Recommended
48% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
London-Melbourne route
13.3 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Tue, 09/06/2016 02:32 PM
LHR » SIN » MEL
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
Hopeless airline that fails in basic customer service
This airline fails in every aspect of customer service. Check in staff were slow and disorganised. Flight was extensively delayed by hours and ground staff had no idea of what was going on. Service was okay on flight. However at the transit area, no one knew what was happening with people coming off the delayed flight and had missed onward connections. Overall a very poor airline that cares very little about its customers. This airline is not recommended and will be choosing another carrier in the future.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Advertisement
Tue, 10/01/2013 01:13 AM
LHR » DXB » MEL
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
2 out of 5
Return trip a huge disappointment
First let me say that the trip over to the UK was wonderful and the staff very friendly. However, for some reason on the return journey, the staff seemed detached, distant and one had to keep asking for things that were given out freely on the trip over to the UK. The main issue however, was the fact that when I asked for my duvet in the middle leg of the journey, I was rudely asked what I had done with it. When I said that the stewardess on the London to Dubai section had taken it and placed it in the overhead lockers, she looked at me and said, "Well where is it now??" I told this girl that I had no idea and that I was cold and needed a duvet. She informed me that they didn't have any and offered me a very thin blanket. I was furious!! Not only because I was cold and was likely to remain cold for a further six hours but that this girl had implied that I had taken the duvet myself! I have since written to the airline in question; some three days ago and to this time, I have not received a response. I cannot recommend this airline purely and simply because of this incident as one would wonder how often this happens? The ad shows you everyone in Business Class with a duvet but I wonder how often they, "Run out of them." And wonder what happened to the one I had in the first place? I was very cold! I am miffed that this has happened because I raved about the airline after the trip to London as I found the staff on those flights simply wonderful, helpful and friendly. Not so on the return journey and I wonder how this can happen and how, when you inform the company of this discrepancy, they don't bother to contact you. Sadly, I would not recommend this airline and wouldn't travel with them again myself
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Mon, 04/22/2013 06:03 AM
MEL » SIN » LHR
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
Never fly Singapore Airlines
In September last year I booked flights with Singapore Airlines for May 2013, from Melbourne to London, with a stopover in Singapore. I wanted to book preferred seating straight away, but my travel agent said that it was too early. In January this year, the travel agent booked preferred seats for my wife and I on the Singapore to London and London to Singapore sectors, being the long haul flights. We got the seats we wanted, paid for them, and we thought all was set. Last week when I was reviewing my booking online, I noticed that we no longer had preferred seats allocated to us. I went to see my travel agent, who didn't believe me at first, but after checking discovered that we had indeed lost the seats. She immediately called Singapore Airlines and they informed her that there had been a change of aircraft, so all preferred seat allocations had been lost. By the time we discovered that we had lost our paid for seats, all preferred seats had been taken by other passengers. Singapore Airlines did not inform us that we had lost our paid for preferred seats, they did not refund our money, and they refused to bump any other passengers who had booked preferred seats after we had. And to add salt to the wound, they allocated my wife and I seats that weren't together. Singapore Airlines are not an airline that honours their bookings. Just because you have booked a seat first and paid for it does not mean you will get it. They have now offered to refund our money, but I told them the money is not what is important, we want the preferred seats. My wife suffers from panic attacks when in a confined space for a long period of time, which is one of the major reasons we booked the preferred seats. The airline didn't care - they said all they could do was offer a refund. If they had have notified me back when the seats were cancelled, I would have booked more straight away on the new aircraft. This will definitely be our first and last trip with Singapore Airlines. Don't believe the nonsense that they are one of the world's best airlines. If you are considering flying with them, change your mind now and choose another airline.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Wed, 2013-04-24 05:24

An update on my review - Singapore Airlines have now reinstated our preferred seats on one of the sectors, and they have seated us together on the other sector. I would now rate the airline higher than I did originally, but it seems I can't modify my original rating or review. It has still been a very stressful time trying to get the airline to fix up the stuff up they caused, but all looks better now.

Mon, 2013-05-20 19:50

Have Always Found Singapore Airlines very good in both Econ. And Bus Class. in all respects on the ground and in the air over many many years of flying with them....well done SA

Mon, 04/08/2013 09:54 PM
MEL » SIN » LHR
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
4 out of 5
A380 - the best Qantas experience
Having flown Qantas for many years, so I thought I knew what to expect but was pleasantly surprised with my first experience of this great A380. Apart from the lovely newness of it, economy was really very comfortable. The netting as a footrest helped there, the entertainment the best. Apart from that too, the plane seemed quieter, the take off and landing seemed smoother and the food was really nice. Even the attendants seemed to do a better job than my experiences on 747's or domestic. Would never hesitate to use Qantas again when flying in an A380, it was pretty near as good as it can get while flying economy.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Tue, 02/28/2012 06:10 AM
LHR » AUH » MEL
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) via Abu Dhabi International Airport (Abu Dhabi)
3 out of 5
Over-promise, under-deliver
Cramped business class cabin - I pay £4,000 for space. Lounge in Abu Dhabi - wifi didnt work (they kept having to re-boot) - this occured both times when i had a stop over in Abu Dhabi. Virtually no plug sockets in lounge at abu dhabi Food on the return leg (sydney - abu dhabi, and abu dhabi to london) was cold.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Wed, 08/31/2011 01:43 AM
LHR » DOH » MEL
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) via Doha International Airport (Doha)
5 out of 5
Great flight home
A fabulous flight - both legs in the 777 which is a spacious and comfortable airline to fly in. Service form check in at Heathrow to arrival in Melbourne was excellent - and good lounge access in Heathrow new Terminal 4. Change of plane in Doha was very quick - hardly had time to use the Business Class Terminal. Departure on time and arrivals were on time. It is a long flight but very comfortable and would certainly fly QATAR again. ON such a long flight the meals become a bit out of order, but the menus is as requested which is great.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Thu, 01/01/1970 12:00 AM
MEL » BWN » LHR
From Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Brunei International Airport (Bandar Seri Begawan)
5 out of 5
Royal Brunei airlines offers an outstanding service at a minimal cost. I found that the seats on the Dreamliner were fantastic and the lie flat bed was a great addition (i am 6ft and had no issues). I had access to the Cathy pacific lounge in Mel, royal skies in Brunei and Etihad First and Business in London, all were to a good standard. I found the crew were excellent and very attentive. The food was to a very good standard and you definitely won't go hungry. All the normal priorities were given which makes the fight so much easier. The only details that may set this airline apart from the top tier are, Royal Brunei is a dry airline which maybe a problem to some (i don't drink so found this very pleasant) and there is no in flight wifi which would be nice. Brunei airport is quite small so if you are going economy and have an extended stay there i would recommend bringing a large amount of entertainment due to there being no decent shops and only one cafe. Brunei are currently undergoing renovations of the airport and i don't know if part of that is going to extend the airport facilities which are minimal at present. All things considered i think the negative sides of this airline are very small and would definitely fly with Royal Brunei again, I can certainly agree with the new branding of a "better fly" which is exactly what i received.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent