Kuala Lumpur - Bangkok Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Kuala Lumpur-Bangkok route
Lion Air
Lion Air
Lion Air
Global
Malaysia Airlines
Malaysia Airlines
Malaysia Airlines
Spread the word...
Kuala Lumpur
Bangkok
AirAsia X
Global
44.2 total score
12 reviews
33% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.2/5 Customer Service
Kuala Lumpur-Bangkok route
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Airasia
Global
34.7 total score
15 reviews
27% Recommended
33% Value for Money
1.9/5 Customer Service
Kuala Lumpur-Bangkok route
39.3 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
Lion Air
Global
25.5 total score
14 reviews
14% Recommended
36% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service
Kuala Lumpur-Bangkok route
78.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
Malaysia Airlines
Global
63.7 total score
13 reviews
54% Recommended
69% Value for Money
3.2/5 Customer Service
Kuala Lumpur-Bangkok route
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Fri, 01/09/2015 07:51 AM
KUL » DMK
From Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur) to Don Muang International Airport (Bangkok)
3 out of 5
Satisfactory
Dec 2014 Departure was on time at new flight time from previous flight a month earlier, which was almost always late by up to 4hrs. Service was efficient and polite. Slightly annoyed that Baggage allowance was dropped without notice from 20kg to 15kg, but check-in supervisor waived my "excess" this time. The previous higher bag allowance, better seat clearance, free snack and entertainment gave it a competitive edge against Air Asia. Who has good feelings about excess weight gouging after staggering off a connecting 20+kg international flight? I have boycotted Jet Star for 7 years after they tried to gouge me 3kg excess on a business class flight from Melbourne! Flight attendants were polite and helpful and even moved me to a more comfortable seat. A snack was provided free and a trolley of chargeable refreshments and hot meals was also offered. Entertainment in seatback had some fairly recent movies, tv and games. Aircraft cabin and toilets generally clean, but beginning to show signs of wear and tear on the floor carpet and flattened sponge in the leather seats. Fair value for a 2hr flight!
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Advertisement
Fri, 04/26/2013 05:13 AM
SYD » KUL » BKK
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok) via Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
1 out of 5
Worst Business In The Sky
The worst business class check in service I have encounted check in took 20 minutes at Sydney International Airport. 3 staff just sitting talking doing nothing. I asked for assistance to put bags on conveyor I was told no. I explained I had a damaged arm I was told my problem not there's. Lounge was truly awful worst I have seen. Lounge staff told me that I was not able to complain as there was no one to complain to. Minimal hot food choices 3 soups or spaghetti. The spaghetti was still semi frozen with the smallest serve I have ever seen. Tiny bar with very basic choices. Very small basic buffet selection cheap dips a few deep fried frozen items & not much else. 1 waitress for whole lounge. The so called sports bar was just set up like a bistro with TV's & no food except fruit. No TV to inform you of flight had to keep asking staff. Stewards on flight fantastic. Food very average. I asked for a different wine none available I asked for a Baileys they had run out. Slide bed was truly awful I had no sleep at all so uncomfortable. I was hoping for a bit of rest at Kuala Lumpur Subang International Airport. The business class lounge was larger that Sydney but truly awful after 4 attempts I gave up getting a cup of coffee the girl was to busy texting on her phone & talking. I asked for a pot of tea what is that the girl asked. Hot food choices, chicken sausages, baked beans, grilled tomato or fried noodles. I asked for eggs none available I was told. Toast yes but no butter. I arrived at lounge at 5.30am staff were all just sitting around talking & texting on mobile phones. 1 was even laying on the floor. shower was truly filthy. No attempt to clean. Provisions non existent. Staff did not care at all.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Tue, 12/11/2012 06:22 AM
OOL » KUL » DMK
From Gold Coast Airport (Gold Coast) to Don Muang International Airport (Bangkok) via Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
1 out of 5
air asia hell
Dec 7th 2012 my wife my self and our four year old son with 90kg of check in baggage were to fly out of coolangatta at 9.05 am ,after a storm our plane was sent to Brisbane ,after a 4 hr delay we were told we would have to clear customs again and board a bus to Brisbane ,I had to collect my baggage and carry that to the bus .once we got to brisbane bags were checked in again . by the time we boarded our flight we were about 8 hours late ,so we and many others were going to miss our connecting flight to Bangkok . When we arrived at KL it was crazy and nobody knew what was going on ,we were eventually given new itinerary wich had us flying out the next morning at 6 am to not to BKK but to Phuket then wait 4 hours for conecting flight to Bangkok . they said they would provide a hotel for us for the night ,but all staff disapeared and we could not find any one after an hour we found some other people from the plane and they said we had to collect our bags so I had to get back into the arrivals and find all our bags which nobody told us to collect .we then found on staff member that led us a long way to some busses ,had to carry the bags a long way by my self as the trolleys could not be used . I put our 8 bags on as 3 staff memebers stood around smoking and never helped .30 minutes later we arrived at dingy hotel ,we there not enough rooms for the people on the bus ,some went back to the airport and slept in Mcdonalds as airport was shut . we were lucky enough to get a few hours sleep at the hotel before heading back to the airport were we changed to 12.40 flight to Phuket and that was delayed and we were going to miss the next conecting flight to Bangkok again ,all the time staff gave us little info. Everyone by this time was very stressed and tired . we finally arrived in Phuket with half an hour before the next flight and this is were things changed ,the staff in Thailand could not have been better met us all at the baggage carousel and helped with the bags got our boarding passes for us and helped everyone to the gate . the difference between the staff in the two countrys could not have been more different ,Malaysia staff did not comunicate with us and ran the other way ,the Thai staff were excellent .so in the end our trip that was going to be an 8 hour flight and then on to Bangkok with a short stop over took two whole days and one night and five airports all the time with a four year old kid and over 120 kg of bags ,it was the worst experience of my life . Shane
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Sun, 11/13/2011 07:09 AM
KUL » BKK
From Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur) to Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok)
2 out of 5
U get for what u paid
The cheap budget allows many to travel like never before. However, u cant complain for all the hassle u will or may encounter during during flight. Now they imposed fee to check in at the counters, the hotline (telephone) never work and though we use web-in or barcode scanner, we still have to queue to drop our baggage. This process usually time consuming like counter check in. No point to use this system if it has no improvement from counter check in. Air asia seldom faced delays because they put their passengers in as fast as possible even while re-fueling the plane. Is it even allowed? Online booking can be tricky as u might ACCIDENTALLY adding unwanted extra fee such as GoInsurance, seating booking fee or bus ticket. Sometime u will receive SMS informing u of the delay or change of departing flight. U might even missed the flight if the airasia re-schedule to earlier time. in Big city like Kuala Lumpur, it can take up to 2-3 hours to travel to Low Cost Carrier Terminal (LCCT) due to insane traffic jams. Overall, if u are on tight budget, use air asia but ready for delay and prepare to go to airport EARLY. if not, use other carrier.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Poor
Sat, 10/29/2011 12:13 PM
KUL » BKK
From Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur) to Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok)
1 out of 5
Frustrating flight ... unneccessary, hidden costs ... and a big qustion mark over safety
Value for money? Yes and no. It is a cut-price carrier, but is it worth it? I found the online booking process arduous and deliberately misleading, with nag-screens and boxes to click that look as if you're accepting terms and conditions of the airline, but in reality it is a sign-up flogging AirAsia Insurance. I am sure that a huge number of passengers are unwittingly charged. This airline has also introduced a $3 'tax' if passengers don't use automated check-in by printing out their itinerary and scanning the bar code, citing that this is for our convenience. What? My printer was broken! You still have to queue up to deposit your bags, so where is the convenience? As to the planes, mine was looking pretty filthy both inside and out, and was delayed due to mechanical issues after we had boarded. An hour and a half wait with no aircon, and we were away. It wasn't until I was safely back on earth and online that I saw the anti-AirAsia blog about safety - http://airasiaannus.blogspot.com/2009/09/airasia-safety-part-2.html - so I am sure that was the last time I will fly AirAsia. Reading the blog, I actually took the time to check the links to original news articles where the airline's senior management brag about cutting corners on safety matters, ie, ""Connor McCarthy says AirAsia's operating secrets aren't so secret: a lot of small cuts on the cost side and a lot of incremental increases on the revenue side. A no-frills airline requires fewer staffers -- Singapore Airlines flies nearly the same number of passengers but has four times as many employees -- and Southeast Asia's labor costs are low. Regulations are more lax too; a Ryanair pilot can only fly 900 hours a year under European Union law, but AirAsia's crew can log 1,000." from the AirAsia boardmember, Connor McCarthy [Jeff Chu - Washington Post/Portfolio.com: Business Travel, Tuesday, October 23, 2007] And that comment is the tip of the ice berg. Fly AirAsia? Not Me.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor