Fly Jamaica Airways Reviews | Opinions of Fly Jamaica Airways shared by travelers



Fly Jamaica Airways

Fly Jamaica Airways logo
IATA code:OJ
ICAO code:FJM
Overall Satisfaction:
1.2 out of 5
5.3% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with Fly Jamaica Airways.
15.8% of people who wrote a review think Fly Jamaica Airways offers a good value for money.
81.6% of people who wrote a review think Fly Jamaica Airways offers a very poor customer service.
Classes of service
Economy
92.1%
Business
5.3%
First
2.6%
Customer Service
Excellent
5.3%
Good
0%
Satisfactory
5.3%
Poor
7.9%
Very Poor
81.6%
Spread the word...
Plan a trip
Popular Destinations
How is Fly Jamaica Airways ranked...?
#1
20.3 total score
38 reviews
5% Recommended
16% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service
Not rated
#1
59.3 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
3.5/5 Customer Service
#2
42.2 total score
3 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.3/5 Customer Service
#3
40 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
100% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#4
37.8 total score
6 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#5
16 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
#6
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#7
30.2 total score
11 reviews
27% Recommended
18% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#8
21.2 total score
18 reviews
11% Recommended
6% Value for Money
1.3/5 Customer Service
#9
20.3 total score
38 reviews
5% Recommended
16% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service

Fly Jamaica Airways Reviews

"DISAPPOINTED!!! NEVER AGAIN"

Review

April 2013 I flew with Fly-Jamaica for the first time to attend a funeral. I was really excited to support another Jamaican airlines. I liked the vibrant colors of the uniform shirts wore by the agents; the level of customer service displayed was pleasing. {note, airlines was fairly new).

A year later in April 2014, I booked a family getaway to Jamaica for our Christmas vacation. On Dec 11, 2014, I contacted the airlines to ensure that my reservation was in order. At first the agent could not find my reservation. Then after 8 – 10 minutes of being placed on hold, she located my reservation and I was then alerted that my record locator had changed and my mother was moved to a separate itinerary (with a difference record locator. Reason given: My mother had a different last name. (Huh>??) Further informed that Fly-Jamaica had converted over to a new booking system. If I had not called the airlines, I would not have found out about the change/transfer of our information had taken place. Furthermore, all our pre-assigned seats were all canceled and agent placed me on hold several times to figure out the new system she was using. I was furious giving I was calling internationally. After 33 minutes on long distance hold/ wait time the agent claimed she was able to get my original seat assignments back,[outbound flight on Dec 28,2014 – Seats 5E, 5F, 6E, 6F AND Inbound Flight January 10, 2015 Seats 5E, 5F, 6E, 6F. I requested for the agent to send me my updated itinerary. The itinerary confirmed the updated record locators and the above seat assignments.

On my arrival to the airport Sunday Dec 28, at check-in, all our seats were canceled and we were placed in the back of the plane and no longer seated together. I was PISSED!!! Got to the gate for boarding – chaos and disorganization ensued at the gate in getting everyone on board. The professional looking uniform were now replaced with a pale looking yellow shirt (not flattering) and I did not find one agent who was professional. The agents were condescending in tone and mannerisms. Outrageously obnoxious to travelers. The Flight was fully booked and the 12 noon departure flight was delayed until 1:20 p.m. Aboard the flight another lengthy wait time before it was safe to take off. [Never in the history of flying have I ever seen such unprofessionalism and disorder].

January 10, 2015, I got to the airport at 3:45 a.m. Once I got to the counter, the young lady who checked me in was worse than the agent at the check in counter on 12/28. She was unwelcoming, seemed stressed, and UNPROFESSIONAL! Face puffed up like a mad bull. Uniform, a pale creamish-yellow shirt (looked busted and disgusted).Her hair straggly and just did not meet standards of professionalism for an agent. As I stood there.. it was the lengthiest check -in I had ever encountered, a good 35 minutes. The agent supervisor was standing behind her. There seem to be conflict between the two. Before I received my boarding passes for my group, I inquired about our seat assignments. The agent ignored me and in that moment her supervisor stepped forward to the computer and took charge of the key board. The supervisor informed me that we were in rows 31 and 32. I was outraged at this point.. what is going on here? I showed the supervisor my reservation and she advised me that seat 5E, 5F and 6E and 6F were already taken that said morning. How can this be. She said no seat assignment were transferred over for any of us. She claimed the best she can do is to seat us in: 21B, 21C and 22B and 22C. I was beyond disheartened and full of regrets for having to put my family through this hassle.

I have never been more outraged and disappointed in travelling with an airlines. Not to mention the unprofessionalism in dealing with the airport check-in agents. No passenger wants to pay for poor service from A-Z. The check-in agents DO NOT smile and Very POOR demeanor (Major ATTITUDE).

Where did the professional folks go? Why did fly-Jamaica hired these vagabonds/ghetto recruits??!! Get rid of them and hire professional people to represent the airlines. What happened to the vibrant colors of yellow and green shirts complimented by a vest or jack with a tie (men) or scarf (women)?

Suggestion: Customer Service, Customer Service, Professionalism and highly trained individuals to represent airlines.

I am beyond DISAPPOINTED!! NEVER AGAIN

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review
Advertisement

"DISAPPOINTED!!!"

Review

April 2013 I flew with Fly-Jamaica for the first time to attend a funeral. I was really excited to support another Jamaican airlines. I liked the vibrant colors of the uniform shirts wore by the agents; the level of customer service displayed was pleasing. {note, airlines was fairly new).

A year later in April 2014, I booked a family getaway to Jamaica for our Christmas vacation. On Dec 11, 2014, I contacted the airlines to ensure that my reservation was in order. At first the agent could not find my reservation. Then after 8 – 10 minutes of being placed on hold, she located my reservation and I was then alerted that my record locator had changed and my mother was moved to a separate itinerary (with a difference record locator. Reason given: My mother had a different last name. (Huh>??) Further informed that Fly-Jamaica had converted over to a new booking system. If I had not called the airlines, I would not have found out about the change/transfer of our information had taken place. Furthermore, all our pre-assigned seats were all canceled and agent placed me on hold several times to figure out the new system she was using. I was furious giving I was calling internationally. After 33 minutes on long distance hold/ wait time the agent claimed she was able to get my original seat assignments back,[outbound flight on Dec 28,2014 – Seats 5E, 5F, 6E, 6F AND Inbound Flight January 10, 2015 Seats 5E, 5F, 6E, 6F. I requested for the agent to send me my updated itinerary. The itinerary confirmed the updated record locators and the above seat assignments.

On my arrival to the airport Sunday Dec 28, at check-in, all our seats were canceled and we were placed in the back of the plane and no longer seated together. I was PISSED!!! Got to the gate for boarding – chaos and disorganization ensued at the gate in getting everyone on board. The professional looking uniform were now replaced with a pale looking yellow shirt (not flattering) and I did not find one agent who was professional. The agents were condescending in tone and mannerisms. Outrageously obnoxious to travelers. The Flight was fully booked and the 12 noon departure flight was delayed until 1:20 p.m. Aboard the flight another lengthy wait time before it was safe to take off. [Never in the history of flying have I ever seen such unprofessionalism and disorder].

January 10, 2015, I got to the airport at 3:45 a.m. Once I got to the counter, the young lady who checked me in was worse than the agent at the check in counter on 12/28. She was unwelcoming, seemed stressed, and UNPROFESSIONAL! Face puffed up like a mad bull. Uniform, a pale creamish-yellow shirt (she looked busted and disgusted)...Her hair straggly and just did not meet standards of professionalism for an agent. As I stood there.. it was the lengthiest check -in I had ever encountered, a good 35 minutes. The agent supervisor was standing behind her. There seem to be conflict between the two. Before I received my boarding passes for my group, I inquired about our seat assignments. The agent ignored me and in that moment her supervisor stepped forward to the computer and took charge of the key board. The supervisor informed me that we were in rows 31 and 32. I was outraged at this point.. what is going on here? I showed the supervisor my reservation and she advised me that seat 5E, 5F and 6E and 6F were already taken that said morning. How can this be. She said no seat assignment were transferred over for any of us. She claimed the best she can do is to seat us in: 21B, 21C and 22B and 22C. I was beyond disheartened and full of regrets for having to put my family through this hassle.

I have never been more outraged and disappointed in travelling with an airlines than I did with traveling with Fly- Jamaica. Not to mention the unprofessionalism in dealing with the airport check-in agents. No passenger wants to pay for poor service from A-Z. The check-in agents DO NOT smile and Very POOR demeanor (Major ATTITUDE).

Where did the professional folks go? Why did fly-Jamaica hired these vagabonds/ghetto recruits??!! Get rid of them and hire professional people to represent the airlines. What happened to the vibrant colors of yellow and green shirts complimented by a vest or jack with a tie (men) or scarf (women)?

Suggestion: Customer Service, Customer Service, Professionalism and highly trained individuals to represent airlines.

I am beyond DISAPPOINTED!! NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"Poor management and customer Service"

Review

I had a trip plan to travel with this Airline. My Aunt who I was responsible for died one week before my trip. I called and I explained my situation and I was tranfered to a supervisor in Guyana. She adviced me not to cancel my flight because I would be considered to have the penalties waived based on my situation. Anyway I will keep this brief, I took her advice and called the office in Kingston the rept. told me he was not sure how my situation will be dealt with but all the flights were sold out and I would need to fax my documents to the office and proof that I will be traveling with another airline. Anyway, I decided to deal with it when I am back from my vacation. When I called the office in Kingston and I spoke to SABRINA she abruptly said no consideration will be given it has to be someone who was travelling I said to her I don't understand I called several times and the customer service rept. could'nt help because they said that is top managment decision. She got upset and said ok,, I am just a customer svce rept talk to a supervisor. That woman gets on the phone and told me we cannot help you.,, I said imagine that was my aunt I was responsible for her how could I leave for vacation with my family who would take care of the funeral expense. To date my $1500 is still in limbo.I spoke to a lady in NY office she said I have a ligitimate reason not to travel and she will have to present the case to her manager. I am still waiting on a response. But what bothers me is the fact that over 20 persons were travelling and no one was intersted in going with Flyja but me and my family. All my sibblins were going with Jetblue and Jetblue worked on getting them on different flights with no additional charges once they presentthe death certificate. And what happens to me is the same reason why they did not bother to go with Flyja because we all know "JAMAICANS" are the worst when it comes to dealing with people. I will "NEVER travel with them again....

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"DO NOT BOOK WITH FLY JAMAICA"

Review

I was scheduled to travel with Fly Jamaica on July 11th 2014 out of Toronto Pearson to Georgetown, Guyana. Upon reviewing the customer statements on this website, I've found that my experience is much like that of the other travellers. This airline is a complete NIGHTMARE to deal with. I was confident upon booking, and of course glad to save a few dollars with what seemed to be a last minute booking. On the date of travel, we received an email stating that the flight was delayed until the next day. There were 5 travellers in total (myself, my sister, her spouse, and their 3 & 5 yr old children). The flight was scheduled for departure at 9am, so we were up at 530 to arrive for 7am check-in, security etc. Once we arrived at the airport the check-in line was ridiculously long and we were wondering if we would even make it to our flight on time. A Fly Jamaica representative advised us that the flight had been delayed until 1130am (somewhat of a relief due the short time we had left). Our 1130 departure never happened. We boarded the plane (almost 12pm), and sat there for over an hour due to "mechanical" problems. They said the plane was missing a part...?????. The passengers (some who were experiencing this for the 2nd time) were obviously annoyed and we were given food vouchers while we waited (a minute offering compared to what was to follow). After over 2hrs of waiting they advised the passengers the flight was NOW cancelled. Passengers rushed to the Fly Jamaica offices in the Pearson Terminal and due to the nature/urgency of travel, the manager made arrangements for some to board a CARIBBEAN AIRWAYS flight that would be leaving that evening. There were approximately 143 passengers scheduled to travel with Fly Jamaica. The manager in the office claimed that they would be chartering a jet to depart on the 13th (he said the CEO of the airline was in the process of making this arrangement). So once again, we put our trust (whatever little was left) in Fly Jamaica. They made hotel arrangements and we waited to travel on Sunday. With no calls to update us, we called to verify the flight status. We were given SEVERAL different responses, and due to the lack of communication/awareness and customer service across ALL channels, we opted for a refund. This is where the airlines shady business practices REALLY come into play. I decided to write this letter to warn ALL passengers who are considering travel with Fly Jamaica. DON'T DO IT!!!! I wish I read the reviews before booking because I would have paid a little more to avoid such a nightmare. It's been 6 weeks and we HAVE NOT received our refund. I've called their offices several times (from Guyana to Kingston), and am constantly given the run around. One minute they are in the process of issuing the refund, the next they tell me that nothing has been posted. I've called the airlines well over a dozen times, attempting to get some definite information with over $4,000 in limbo. I advise any travellers PLEASE save yourself the hassle. It's already exhausting to fly, and my experience continues with no provision of such a service. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BOOK WITH FLY JAMAICA!!! There's more to the shady practices than meets the eye. My experience may end with legal action but ANYTHING to ensure that they don't continue doing this to people. An ABSOLUTE nightmare!

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"Stay far Away"

Review

We were stranded more than 5 days in JFK and given nothing but misinformation and attitude. The managers disappeared each day for hours at a time and the ticket agents refused to answer any of our questions. Each day we were told that we were leaving but we never did. My family ended up purchasing roundtrip tickets on JetBlue because we had already lost 5 days with no solid indication that we were even going to fly out of JFK to Kingston on Fly Jamaica. We are seeking reimbursement for our newly purchased tickets. If we have to sue them for the additional monies then we will. They are dishonest and unreliable with exceptionally poor communication and customer service. I don't know who those people were in the video but I am guessing they were paid actors/actresses to promote positive press. Don't believe the hype...this is the absolute worst airline hands down! The other negative post on this forum is what patronizing Fly Jamaica is really about. You have been warned!

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"Frustrated"

Review

Bought my ticket for 771 US dollers, right after heard only bad things about this airline. So the night before my flight i recieved a call stating my flight is delayed but no answer as to why. I was told i will be contacted the next morning. Morning came no call so i toke it onto my self to call, its still delayed they are waiting for Jfk to contact them and i will soon recieve a call. Noon came no call so once again i called back now i heard its maintainace issues and they will call back. 5''o clock came still no call so i call back and still no good news they are waiting on Norman Manley International for info. I called back after 10pm still no news as to when i would be leaving. NEVER AGAIN STAY AWAY FROM THEM

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"Terrible disorganized company"

Review

Had to travel to Jamaica for a family emergency. Fly Jamaica offered the cheapest return flight with short notice.

My 5pm flight was delayed to 2am and I did not receive any notice until I reached the airport. Their website was never updated to reflect the time change.

Once I boarded the plane, it was easy to see that it was very old. The plane could not start, the flight was cancelled until whatever piece was needed could brought in from Miami.

The airline offered to put passengers up in a hotel but was not capable of doing this in any professional or organized manner. Someone from the crew stood atop a check in desk and called out names for passengers to board small buses. This dad to confusion and needless arguments among everyone.

The missing airplane piece arrived at some point the following day and the airline notified passengers to wait in front of the hotel for bus pickup to the airport for a 4pm flight. The call was at 11:30am asking passengers to be at the pickup point for noon. By 1pm no buses had arrived - the airport asks passengers to arrive 3 hours early.

Finally a driver hired by Fly Jamaica showed up with a station wagon for 3 people!!!! There were at least 20 people waiting for pick up at this hotel.. The manager of the hotel was so shocked at this that she had all the hotel taxis to drive the passengers Ito the airport instead.

Mr. Foga and the flight crew were very nice and I hope they get paid well because the company as a whole is a nightmare!

Overall I would recommend to STAY AWAY FROM THIS AIRLINE!!!! Or book you flight plans with a lot of leeway. The night that the flight was canceled some passenger were livid because they had been stuck for almost a week due to other canceled flight with fly jamaica.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"horrible customer service "

Review

Our flight was delayed from 9am to 4pm, despite the weather condition, the customer service was horrible. We missed our connecting flight and the manager made us wait 45 min infront of the office without giving us an update. We had to knock then he told us he was waiting on a call. He went outside to smoke a cigarrette, all smiles, made us wait 2 hrs for a shuttle bus, sending us in -15 + windshield back and forth telling us the shuttle bus was here then advising us its the wrong bus, after supposedly checking that it was our bus. We were 4 and they could only accomodate 3 of us. We waited 40 min for our bags which cost us our connecting flight. On our way to guyana, 28/01/2014, our flight was delayed 1hr due to a mechanical issue. Departing Guyana, their engineer had to check out a part and we were delayed again. Now we are at the airport waiting 7hrs for the first connecting flight to montreal. I dont recommend fly jamaica. I will never fly with them ever again. This is the 1st and last time. The employees run around like headless chickens, call us liars when we have proof. I recorded the conversation on my cellphone. They dont know how to speak to their customers.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review