Fly Jamaica Airways Reviews | Opinions of Fly Jamaica Airways shared by travelers



Fly Jamaica Airways

Fly Jamaica Airways logo
IATA code:OJ
ICAO code:FJM
Overall Satisfaction:
1.2 out of 5
5.7% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with Fly Jamaica Airways.
17.1% of people who wrote a review think Fly Jamaica Airways offers a good value for money.
82.9% of people who wrote a review think Fly Jamaica Airways offers a very poor customer service.
Classes of service
Economy
91.4%
Business
5.7%
First
2.9%
Customer Service
Excellent
5.7%
Good
0%
Satisfactory
5.7%
Poor
5.7%
Very Poor
82.9%
Spread the word...
Plan a trip
Popular Destinations
How is Fly Jamaica Airways ranked...?
#1
20.7 total score
35 reviews
6% Recommended
17% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service
Not rated
#1
59.3 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
3.5/5 Customer Service
#2
42.2 total score
3 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.3/5 Customer Service
#3
40 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
100% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#4
37.8 total score
6 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#5
16 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
#6
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#7
30.8 total score
10 reviews
30% Recommended
20% Value for Money
1.6/5 Customer Service
#8
21.2 total score
18 reviews
11% Recommended
6% Value for Money
1.3/5 Customer Service
#9
20.7 total score
35 reviews
6% Recommended
17% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service

Fly Jamaica Airways Reviews

"Horrible Customer Service"

Review

This is the most poorly organized airline. Customer service promises calls back and never returns call. We have been trying to reschedule a flight from last Sunday (5 days). There have been lost calls, lost tickets, lies, and rude customer service. I will never fly through Fly Jamaica again. Most agents did not try to get to the bottom of the situation. Only one agent Michelle in the NY office did what she was supposed to go by going above and beyond. Even phonecalls from the supervisor were promised and never executed.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review
Advertisement

"WAITING AT TERMINAL FOR 12 HOURS "

Review

MY FREIND AND I HAD A 12:15 PM FLIGHT. UPON BORADING WE WERE TOLD THE AIRCRAFT HAD "MECHANICAL PROBLEMS" AND ANOTHER PLANE IS IN THE AIR AND WILL BE HERE SOON TO TAKE US TO JAMAICA. AFTER WAITING FOR 5 HOURS PEOPLE STARTED CREATING AVOKE AND THE DECIDED TO GIVE US A $15 FOOD VOUCHER. IT IS NOW 10:PM AND STILL NO PLANE, NO UPDATES. I FEEL BAD FOR THE BABIES AND DISABLED IN WHEEL CHAIRS...........WORST DAY OF MY LIFE !!!!!!! THESE ARE SOME OF THE REASONS WHY OUR COUNRTY WILL NEVER BE BETTER......

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE"

Review

On August 16th I was schedule to fly to Kingston Jamaica as my father was ill and on his death bed!

Per my itinerary the flight was scheduled to Depart Toronto at Approx. 5pm. Per the check in agent the flight was delayed until 7:30pm. At the allocated boarding time there was no announcement except a gate change/delayed until 9pm per the airport information board, at this point there was no Fly Jamaica rep to advise us of what was going on.

As I was travelling with an infant that was now becoming restless and zero information to go by it was an aggravating experience. I proceeded to contact your 1855 # and was advised by them via the telephone that the flight had “mechanical issues” and was now in JFK, I advised that there was no fly Jamaica agent at the gate, the Rep said he spoke with someone who said they are at the gate which I advised was incorrect, I called your 1855# 7 times!

A rep from fly Jamaica did not present themselves until 9:30pm to somewhat address the issue, she (Laura) advised that the flight is delayed and at this point she had no further information. At 10:15pm we were further insulted with at $15.00 meal voucher and an agent/Supervisor by the name of “VAN” who claimed that he did not have time to discuss my concerns and it was not fly Jamaica’s responsibility to take care of us.

He then proceeded to say he does not have the time to stand and talk to me because he’s “busy” and walked off. I later observed a passenger express that she does not have ride because her ride was coming from far and left, and he said “that is not my problem” It is now 11pm we’re told that the flight was still in JKF and then 15mins later we’re told that the flight Is now on route, I waited for 8.5 hours with a baby, not enough food as I packed for a 4hr flight, a rep that was beyond rude and disrespectful 5 gate changes, inconsistent information, 3 messages at your 1855 # for a supervisor to contact me which they have not done to date, I would like to know how will I be compensated for such blatant unprofessionalism?

I’m in Jamaica every other month and have never encountered such service with any other airline I’ve posted on your Instagram and will be going to Facebook, given that Fly Jamaica recently started services to Toronto one would think valuing customers would be a priority, at minimum it should be expected that agents are mindful in the way they treat people, perhaps this treatment was executed because we were flying to Jamaica and somehow they thought that we’re less than human why this would have been acceptable.

A GRANT

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"POWER DRIVEN SUPERVISORS WITH NO CUSTOMER SERVICE"

Review

FLY JAMAICA WAS MY MOST HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE AT THE AIRPORT EVER. THEY ARE MORE INTO DEMONSTRATING POWER RATHER THAN GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE SUPERVISORS ARE UNPROFESSIONAL AND ARE MAKING, TAKING, AND HANDLING MATTERS FROM A PERSONAL BASES. THEY ARE USING THEIR POWER TO ABUSE TRAVELERS RATHER THAN TRYING TO ACCOMODATE THEM.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"NEVER AGAIN! BEYOND DISAPPOINTED!"

Review

This airline is beyond FUCKED UP!
We were travelling from Toronto Pearson International Airport on to Georgetown, Guyana arrived 2 hours before the the departure time, we then check-in and I must mention we had a BROWN ASSOCIATE who behaved like a perfect fucking bitch saying that we are baggages were overweight when the limit for checked in baggage is 50 lbs per suitcase and 22 lbs for luggage, however, one of our suitcase was 39.2 lbs to be specific and the other was 52 lbs; he weighed them side by side and he made us pay $75 CAN for overweight suitcases when it was not overweight.

When the time came for boarding they told us that we couldn't keep our luggage in the over head cabin they took it and packed it where they keep all the suitcases. How convenient is Fly Jamaica then? 0 out of 100 I'd say!

They are a waste of time and money! I rather sail with a ship to get to my final destination than to fly again with is airline. ABSOLUTE WORST!

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"NEVER AGAIN! BEYOND DISAPPOINTED!"

Review

This airline is beyond FUCKED UP!
We were travelling from Toronto Pearson International Airport on to Georgetown, Guyana arrived 2 hours before the the departure time, we then check-in and I must mention we had a BROWN ASSOCIATE who behaved like a perfect fucking bitch saying that we are baggages were overweight when the limit for checked in baggage is 50 lbs per suitcase and 22 lbs for luggage, however, one of our suitcase was 39.2 lbs to be specific and the other was 52 lbs; he weighed them side by side and he made us pay $75 CAN for overweight suitcases when it was not overweight.

When the time came for boarding they told us that we couldn't keep our luggage in the over head cabin they took it and packed it where they keep all the suitcases. How convenient is Fly Jamaica then? 0 out of 100 I'd say!

They are a waste of time and money! I rather sail with a ship to get to my final destination than to fly again with is airline. ABSOLUTE WORST!

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"DISAPPOINTED!!! NEVER AGAIN"

Review

April 2013 I flew with Fly-Jamaica for the first time to attend a funeral. I was really excited to support another Jamaican airlines. I liked the vibrant colors of the uniform shirts wore by the agents; the level of customer service displayed was pleasing. {note, airlines was fairly new).

A year later in April 2014, I booked a family getaway to Jamaica for our Christmas vacation. On Dec 11, 2014, I contacted the airlines to ensure that my reservation was in order. At first the agent could not find my reservation. Then after 8 – 10 minutes of being placed on hold, she located my reservation and I was then alerted that my record locator had changed and my mother was moved to a separate itinerary (with a difference record locator. Reason given: My mother had a different last name. (Huh>??) Further informed that Fly-Jamaica had converted over to a new booking system. If I had not called the airlines, I would not have found out about the change/transfer of our information had taken place. Furthermore, all our pre-assigned seats were all canceled and agent placed me on hold several times to figure out the new system she was using. I was furious giving I was calling internationally. After 33 minutes on long distance hold/ wait time the agent claimed she was able to get my original seat assignments back,[outbound flight on Dec 28,2014 – Seats 5E, 5F, 6E, 6F AND Inbound Flight January 10, 2015 Seats 5E, 5F, 6E, 6F. I requested for the agent to send me my updated itinerary. The itinerary confirmed the updated record locators and the above seat assignments.

On my arrival to the airport Sunday Dec 28, at check-in, all our seats were canceled and we were placed in the back of the plane and no longer seated together. I was PISSED!!! Got to the gate for boarding – chaos and disorganization ensued at the gate in getting everyone on board. The professional looking uniform were now replaced with a pale looking yellow shirt (not flattering) and I did not find one agent who was professional. The agents were condescending in tone and mannerisms. Outrageously obnoxious to travelers. The Flight was fully booked and the 12 noon departure flight was delayed until 1:20 p.m. Aboard the flight another lengthy wait time before it was safe to take off. [Never in the history of flying have I ever seen such unprofessionalism and disorder].

January 10, 2015, I got to the airport at 3:45 a.m. Once I got to the counter, the young lady who checked me in was worse than the agent at the check in counter on 12/28. She was unwelcoming, seemed stressed, and UNPROFESSIONAL! Face puffed up like a mad bull. Uniform, a pale creamish-yellow shirt (looked busted and disgusted).Her hair straggly and just did not meet standards of professionalism for an agent. As I stood there.. it was the lengthiest check -in I had ever encountered, a good 35 minutes. The agent supervisor was standing behind her. There seem to be conflict between the two. Before I received my boarding passes for my group, I inquired about our seat assignments. The agent ignored me and in that moment her supervisor stepped forward to the computer and took charge of the key board. The supervisor informed me that we were in rows 31 and 32. I was outraged at this point.. what is going on here? I showed the supervisor my reservation and she advised me that seat 5E, 5F and 6E and 6F were already taken that said morning. How can this be. She said no seat assignment were transferred over for any of us. She claimed the best she can do is to seat us in: 21B, 21C and 22B and 22C. I was beyond disheartened and full of regrets for having to put my family through this hassle.

I have never been more outraged and disappointed in travelling with an airlines. Not to mention the unprofessionalism in dealing with the airport check-in agents. No passenger wants to pay for poor service from A-Z. The check-in agents DO NOT smile and Very POOR demeanor (Major ATTITUDE).

Where did the professional folks go? Why did fly-Jamaica hired these vagabonds/ghetto recruits??!! Get rid of them and hire professional people to represent the airlines. What happened to the vibrant colors of yellow and green shirts complimented by a vest or jack with a tie (men) or scarf (women)?

Suggestion: Customer Service, Customer Service, Professionalism and highly trained individuals to represent airlines.

I am beyond DISAPPOINTED!! NEVER AGAIN

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"DISAPPOINTED!!!"

Review

April 2013 I flew with Fly-Jamaica for the first time to attend a funeral. I was really excited to support another Jamaican airlines. I liked the vibrant colors of the uniform shirts wore by the agents; the level of customer service displayed was pleasing. {note, airlines was fairly new).

A year later in April 2014, I booked a family getaway to Jamaica for our Christmas vacation. On Dec 11, 2014, I contacted the airlines to ensure that my reservation was in order. At first the agent could not find my reservation. Then after 8 – 10 minutes of being placed on hold, she located my reservation and I was then alerted that my record locator had changed and my mother was moved to a separate itinerary (with a difference record locator. Reason given: My mother had a different last name. (Huh>??) Further informed that Fly-Jamaica had converted over to a new booking system. If I had not called the airlines, I would not have found out about the change/transfer of our information had taken place. Furthermore, all our pre-assigned seats were all canceled and agent placed me on hold several times to figure out the new system she was using. I was furious giving I was calling internationally. After 33 minutes on long distance hold/ wait time the agent claimed she was able to get my original seat assignments back,[outbound flight on Dec 28,2014 – Seats 5E, 5F, 6E, 6F AND Inbound Flight January 10, 2015 Seats 5E, 5F, 6E, 6F. I requested for the agent to send me my updated itinerary. The itinerary confirmed the updated record locators and the above seat assignments.

On my arrival to the airport Sunday Dec 28, at check-in, all our seats were canceled and we were placed in the back of the plane and no longer seated together. I was PISSED!!! Got to the gate for boarding – chaos and disorganization ensued at the gate in getting everyone on board. The professional looking uniform were now replaced with a pale looking yellow shirt (not flattering) and I did not find one agent who was professional. The agents were condescending in tone and mannerisms. Outrageously obnoxious to travelers. The Flight was fully booked and the 12 noon departure flight was delayed until 1:20 p.m. Aboard the flight another lengthy wait time before it was safe to take off. [Never in the history of flying have I ever seen such unprofessionalism and disorder].

January 10, 2015, I got to the airport at 3:45 a.m. Once I got to the counter, the young lady who checked me in was worse than the agent at the check in counter on 12/28. She was unwelcoming, seemed stressed, and UNPROFESSIONAL! Face puffed up like a mad bull. Uniform, a pale creamish-yellow shirt (she looked busted and disgusted)...Her hair straggly and just did not meet standards of professionalism for an agent. As I stood there.. it was the lengthiest check -in I had ever encountered, a good 35 minutes. The agent supervisor was standing behind her. There seem to be conflict between the two. Before I received my boarding passes for my group, I inquired about our seat assignments. The agent ignored me and in that moment her supervisor stepped forward to the computer and took charge of the key board. The supervisor informed me that we were in rows 31 and 32. I was outraged at this point.. what is going on here? I showed the supervisor my reservation and she advised me that seat 5E, 5F and 6E and 6F were already taken that said morning. How can this be. She said no seat assignment were transferred over for any of us. She claimed the best she can do is to seat us in: 21B, 21C and 22B and 22C. I was beyond disheartened and full of regrets for having to put my family through this hassle.

I have never been more outraged and disappointed in travelling with an airlines than I did with traveling with Fly- Jamaica. Not to mention the unprofessionalism in dealing with the airport check-in agents. No passenger wants to pay for poor service from A-Z. The check-in agents DO NOT smile and Very POOR demeanor (Major ATTITUDE).

Where did the professional folks go? Why did fly-Jamaica hired these vagabonds/ghetto recruits??!! Get rid of them and hire professional people to represent the airlines. What happened to the vibrant colors of yellow and green shirts complimented by a vest or jack with a tie (men) or scarf (women)?

Suggestion: Customer Service, Customer Service, Professionalism and highly trained individuals to represent airlines.

I am beyond DISAPPOINTED!! NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review

"Poor management and customer Service"

Review

I had a trip plan to travel with this Airline. My Aunt who I was responsible for died one week before my trip. I called and I explained my situation and I was tranfered to a supervisor in Guyana. She adviced me not to cancel my flight because I would be considered to have the penalties waived based on my situation. Anyway I will keep this brief, I took her advice and called the office in Kingston the rept. told me he was not sure how my situation will be dealt with but all the flights were sold out and I would need to fax my documents to the office and proof that I will be traveling with another airline. Anyway, I decided to deal with it when I am back from my vacation. When I called the office in Kingston and I spoke to SABRINA she abruptly said no consideration will be given it has to be someone who was travelling I said to her I don't understand I called several times and the customer service rept. could'nt help because they said that is top managment decision. She got upset and said ok,, I am just a customer svce rept talk to a supervisor. That woman gets on the phone and told me we cannot help you.,, I said imagine that was my aunt I was responsible for her how could I leave for vacation with my family who would take care of the funeral expense. To date my $1500 is still in limbo.I spoke to a lady in NY office she said I have a ligitimate reason not to travel and she will have to present the case to her manager. I am still waiting on a response. But what bothers me is the fact that over 20 persons were travelling and no one was intersted in going with Flyja but me and my family. All my sibblins were going with Jetblue and Jetblue worked on getting them on different flights with no additional charges once they presentthe death certificate. And what happens to me is the same reason why they did not bother to go with Flyja because we all know "JAMAICANS" are the worst when it comes to dealing with people. I will "NEVER travel with them again....

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Fly Jamaica Airways review