Etihad Airways Reviews | Opinions of Etihad Airways shared by travelers



Etihad Airways

Etihad Airways logo
IATA code:EY
ICAO code:ETD
Alliance: Arab Air Carriers Organization
Overall Satisfaction:
1.6 out of 5
13% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with Etihad Airways.
21.7% of people who wrote a review think Etihad Airways offers a good value for money.
60.9% of people who wrote a review think Etihad Airways offers a very poor customer service.
Classes of service
Economy
73.9%
Business
26.1%
First
0%
Customer Service
Excellent
4.3%
Good
4.3%
Satisfactory
8.7%
Poor
21.7%
Very Poor
60.9%
Spread the word...
Plan a trip
Popular Destinations
How is Etihad Airways ranked...?
#1
54.3 total score
33 reviews
45% Recommended
55% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#2
26.2 total score
16 reviews
13% Recommended
19% Value for Money
1.8/5 Customer Service
#3
20.8 total score
8 reviews
13% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.3/5 Customer Service
#4
27.4 total score
23 reviews
13% Recommended
22% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#1
54.3 total score
33 reviews
45% Recommended
55% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#2
46.1 total score
31 reviews
39% Recommended
42% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
#3
69.6 total score
9 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.6/5 Customer Service
#4
41.7 total score
4 reviews
25% Recommended
25% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
#5
33.9 total score
10 reviews
20% Recommended
40% Value for Money
1.9/5 Customer Service
#6
32 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
100% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#7
26.5 total score
7 reviews
14% Recommended
14% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#8
20.8 total score
8 reviews
13% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.3/5 Customer Service
#9
14.1 total score
7 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.1/5 Customer Service
#10
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#11
29.4 total score
13 reviews
8% Recommended
23% Value for Money
2.2/5 Customer Service
#12
27.4 total score
23 reviews
13% Recommended
22% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#13
26.2 total score
16 reviews
13% Recommended
19% Value for Money
1.8/5 Customer Service
#1
54.3 total score
33 reviews
45% Recommended
55% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#2
100 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
5/5 Customer Service
#3
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#4
73.3 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
#5
69.6 total score
9 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.6/5 Customer Service
#6
50 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
#7
38 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#8
33.9 total score
10 reviews
20% Recommended
40% Value for Money
1.9/5 Customer Service
#9
20.8 total score
8 reviews
13% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.3/5 Customer Service
#10
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#11
46.1 total score
31 reviews
39% Recommended
42% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
#12
29.4 total score
13 reviews
8% Recommended
23% Value for Money
2.2/5 Customer Service
#13
27.4 total score
23 reviews
13% Recommended
22% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service

Etihad Airways Reviews

"First time with Etihad - Brisbane > Singapore 2013"

Review

First time with Etihad in Economy from Brisbane>Singapore return from 29 March>3 April 2013 on A330 Aircraft - with 2.4.2 seating configuration.
Windows seats - try and avoid as they are VERY narrow - particularly when you also have a large gentleman next to you (after 7.30 hours you know what I mean!).
Service from the crew was efficient, however there was absolutely NO drink service after your meal was served at all for approx. 5 hours... not even water which was disappointing as the dehydration rate in the cabin was very high and the most they would pour was in a small red plastic cup (so take your own empty water bottle as a good hint to fill up on the plane)
The return leg was only half full which was great so had the 2 seats to myself. All up good value fro money at approx. $740 return from Bris>Singapore and would definitely fly with them again.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Good
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review
Advertisement

"in flight and on airport customer service was extremely poor"

Review

I travelled with Etihad airways in 2010 from Toronto to lahore and came back to Toronto in 2011 february. While going to Lahore, i was travelling with a six months old baby. We changed flight at Abu dhabi airport. This one was also Etihad airways smaller plane. It aparently had only 4 washrooms, 2 in front and 2 at the back. My son soiled his diaper. I went to the washrooms at the back but they were occupied. So i took my son to the washrooms in the front. When i tried to go there the air hostess anubbed me and shut the curtains (separatig business class and economy class) on my face. I just waited for the back washrooms to be empty, for 30 minutes holding my son. The hostesses should be taught to be courteous with mothers travelling alone with small children.

While comig back to Toronto: in the flight from lahore to Abu dhabi, i ate something that upsetted my stomach. I threw up at the airport. Hence, the airlines didt let me board the plane from Abu dhabi to Toronto. The next flight to Toronto was in 2 days. They gave me one night stay at airport hotel. I was supposed to pay for the second night. Which i think was very unfair, since i got sick because of the food offered on the plane and now i am asked to pay for my stay. I saw the doctor at the airport and he said i was good to travel on he plane that i was scheduled to travel in the first place. But the lady at the check in (she was Srilankan lady) stopped me and didnt let me board the plane. I begged her but she said no. I had to stay at the airport hotel with my son. I had no choice. I filed a complaint with Etihad airways , they never got back to me. Today was reading reviews about different websites and this page came up so i decided to share my story.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review

"FLIGHT DELAY & BAGGAGE DAMAGE"

Review

Dear Sir,

I am farzan zuheer, i flied from kozhikode to moscow on 29th early morning 6.35 am in ethihad airways. but actual time refer in my tiket is 4.30 am. And the flight arrived in abudhabi at 9.00 clock. abu dhabi local time. And my connection flight from abudhabi sheduled at 8.45 am. But due to the delay from kozhikode , my connection flight missed from abudhabi. . After that the etihad airways authority told me to fly moscow via doha by qatar airawys. Afetr issued the boarding pass from abu dhabi for qatar airways, etihad airways authority again told me that, my 3 baggage will SEND ONLY ON NEXT DAY IE.30.01.2013.

I LOST MY VALUABLE THINGS (new mobile and other things) AND YOUR BAD SERVICE SPOIL MY CERIER.

Actually my travelling purpose for moscow is to attend the two interviews. BECAUSE OF MY FLIGHT MISSING AND DELAYED BAGGAGE , i missed my golden opportunity to start my cerier because i reach late and my all documents and dress are in my luggage. And yesterday [e 30.01.2013, i went to air port to collect my 3 baggage. my home is 100 km. away from the moscow DME airport. When i approach the custom officer in moscow DME airport, they asked first to pay $300 and after that they will give the 3 baggage.

First of all i want to asking for you , who is responsible for these irresponsible work. after i got the 3 baggages, i opened . i cant believe my eyes. from 3 baggages two of them are opened and number of my very valuable things lost from my baggages .AGAIN I AM ASKING YOU SIR WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL THESE IRRESPONSIBILITY.

MY LOST VALUABLE THINGS VALUED TOTAL 2035 DOLLARS. . ALSO I AM MENTALY AND PHYSICALLY UPSET. THIS IS FIRST TIME HAPPENED IN MY LIFE. NORMALLY I AM USING EMIRATES FLIGHT.BETTER YOU STOP THE SERVICE, BECAUSE SUCH A DIRTY SERVICE NO BODY WILL GIVE..DUE TO THE BAD BEHAVIOR FROM YOUR COUNTER STAFF ,I MENTALLY SHOCKED.

THIRD CLASS CHEAP SERVICE, DRAMA ALSO PLAYED IN KOZHIKODE AIRPORT. THEY ISSUED FOR ME ONLY ONE BOARDING PASS FOR CONNECTION FLIGHT TICKET. I DON'T KNOW IS THIS NEW IATA LAW.
I WANT TO CLAIM AGAINST ALL THESE MY LOSS.
if you are not responding this mail i will send the same mail to IATA.
Please note my ticket number: TKT607-2626340882 PNR#57TKDW
NAME:FARZAN ZUHEER

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review

"Many issues and poor after-sale service"

Review

A short feedback about my unpleasant experience during this flight:
- We left from Dubai to Abu Dhabi by Etihad bus before taking the flight: Why do Etihad ask us to arrive to the bus station before 7:00am while they wait for ALL the passengers to arrive before going to AD. We only left at 7:45am, after waiting 45mn...
- The plane was old and the crew confirmed that it was one of their first planes and needed some refreshments
- Entertainment programs and TV weren't working during the 6 hours flight
- Crew took more than 2 hours to try to solve the problem and didn't succeed to do it after rebooting the system many times
- Flight was full, then it wasn't possible to change my place, and upgrade hasn't been proposed, while it should be the minimum in this kind of situations
- I spent a very unpleasant flight with absolutely nothing to do, while the entertainment service should be a minimum requirement in a supposed premium company like Etihad. For me, it's a 'part of the deal' or you should clearly advise that this flight was a low cost flight for me, and in this case, i would have gladely travelled with a small cheap company.

I'm a gold skywards member with Emirates and never experienced such a disagreement during a flight with a top company

I wrote this feedback to Etihad customer services, who took some time before offering a ridiculous 10,000 miles...

Avoid Etihad and prefer Emirates, Qatar, Turkish or Singapur for your future flights to Asia

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review

"compensation Delated flight mor than 5 Hour"

Review

The policy is very clear 90% do not claim and the 10% how do the give wordless guest miles.
Compensation for over 5 hours delete flight for 4 people (10.000 Guest miles)is really ridiculous.
For me and my guest it`s done, I will stop my membership by Air Berlin and I , my guest and Family will never fly with Air Berlin and Etihad Airways agene.
Together we book every year about 15 Flights from Europe to Bangkok and 90% with this two companies.
I know this is not so much but this bookings and my negative experience with this matter will cost much more than the a reasonable compensation but not this wordless miles.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review
Etihad Airways
Tue, 12/04/2012 10:08 AM
5 years ago

Hi Realist,

Thank you for your post. We would like to investigate this further. If you could email the details to socialmedia@etihad.ae, one of our team will look into this for you.

Kind Regards

Etihad Helper
Etihad Airways

" AN APPEAL FROM A DEPRESSED PASSENGER"

Review

DEAR,
James Hogan,
President and CEO of Etihad Airways.

P.O.Box 35566, Head Office,
Khalifa City A,
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

SUB: AN APPEAL FROM A DEPRESSED PASSENGER

Assalamualaikum

On Friday 13th march 2009, I had scheduled departure with my family from Quaid -e-Azam air port Karachi , to CANADA via Abu Dhabi on your flight, EY228,having booking ref as under

# 5KDDBQ ( Mr Siddiqui Masrur Husain , e-ticket # 6073511818770 )

and ( Ms Siddiqui Beenish e-ticket # 6073511818771 )

# 5KMGJK ( Mrs Imam Akhtari ), e-ticket # 6073511818773

# 5KMEWC. ( Ms Siddiqui Madeha ), e-ticket # 6073511818768

I was very much depressed and shocked by the attitude of your staff deployed on boarding counter at Quaid-e Azam air port on 13/ 03/ 2009. I reached the boarding counter to catch my flight EY228 one hour before flight departure time which was 22:40 local time. but your staff refused to issue me and my family boarding cards and accused me that you came in late we are closing our counter.

I requested them to issue me boarding cards and told them that I was successfully completed on line boarding, you do not have to spend to much time to issue me boarding card, but they did not listen to my request & sent me back home and they put me and my family on your system as NO SHOW status, they even did not show any respect to my wife and my two daughters and they misbehaved with them.

Then on next morning I went to your office located on 3rd floor of The Forum Clifton building ,Karachi and I had to pay extra, cad $ 500.00 ( Rs 31920.you’re your stock control # 60700025678763 and document # 0607- 2700111116-2, to get another flight which was scheduled on 16th march 22:40 local time.
Due to bad customer service and laziness shown by your staff deployed on 13th march, 2009 at Quaid-e Azam air port we ware delayed to reach TORONTO and all my family members lost there wages which is cad $ 700.00 due to late arrival at Toronto.

Actually I was very much happy with the customer service provided by your staff deployed at Pearson airport, Toronto. I reached air port on Saturday 14th feb 45 minute before my flight EY 140 with my on line boarding pass they cleared me right away.

But your staff at Quaid-e-Azam air port had no concept of on line boarding and they told me they do not accept any on line boarding pass in Pakistan.

At the end I like to say that I still prefer to fly with Etihad airways as it is our air line but I am so much upset with the behavior of your staff at Quaid-e Azam air port, especially your staff namely Mr WAHEED ( Gust service agent ), ph # 9071504 he works at your office located on the air port building .

This is my humble request to James Hogan, CEO Etihad Airways please look at my request on humanitarian ground and refund me cad $ 1200.00 which I lost due to bad dealing of your staff.

THANKING YOU

Yours truly

MASRUR HUSAIN SIDDIQUI

Home Ph # 905-997-7371
Work # 905-494-7156
Cell # 647-896-4451
Unit # 7, 1015 Galesway blvd
L5VOA8, MISSISSAUGA
CANADA

Go to Previous message | Go to Next message | Back to Messages
| Full Headers
Reply Reply All Forward Forward

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review
Etihad Airways
Tue, 12/04/2012 10:10 AM
5 years ago

Hi Masrur1952,

Thank you for your post.

We are aware of your complaint, and one of the Guest Affairs team will be in touch shortly.

Thank you for your continued patience.

Kind Regards

Etihad Helper
Etihad Airways

"BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE"

Review

ABUDHABI-SEOUL-ABUDHABI.I have received the online upgrade offer email informing that my flight is eligible for an upgrade, so i made an offer, my cridet card was charged for the flight upgrade for an amount of 4890 AD.However i didnt get the upgrade when i got to the airport.I contacted Etihad gust service via Telephone and Email and so i was informed that it was a mistake,am still waiting for my refund ,and am contacting them almost every day but still no use
Transaction of cridet card was on the 4th of the 10th 2012.call centre did not help and they were very rude

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Business Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review

"The worst ever"

Review

I've flown with Etihad several times, on economy and business class. First, I think lost baggage happens a bit too often with them.
Flight delays are the norm, it's happened every time with my friends and me.
I decide never to fly again with them, after they cancelled a segment of my flight, 3 weeks after I paid for it (as if they'd never known by then) and substituted it by a coach!!! I spent 2 weeks trying to convince them that the coach arrival time was too late for me. After more than 10 elusive calls, the blunt answer was take a refund (25% of what I paid for), sort it out yourself or make a complaint.
They unreliable, disrespectful and above all rude.
The flight itself was not much different from Qantas or Emirates, although a bit cheaper. I'd pay the extra 200 dollars, because I know for a fact if anything goes wrong with them, they wouldn't fix it even if they could.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Business Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review

"Haven't left my departure"

Review

#FAIL #EtihadAirways meant 2 depart from JHB 6pm, they say flight cancelled becuse the pilot is sick, come back 5am, get back at 5am- no the flight cancelled come back 10am. All the compensation is a meal voucher. And they not sure the flight actually leaves at 10am!

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review

"Over-promise, under-deliver"

Review

Cramped business class cabin - I pay £4,000 for space.

Lounge in Abu Dhabi - wifi didnt work (they kept having to re-boot) - this occured both times when i had a stop over in Abu Dhabi.

Virtually no plug sockets in lounge at abu dhabi

Food on the return leg (sydney - abu dhabi, and abu dhabi to london) was cold.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Satisfactory
Cabin:Business Class
Comment on this review or Add your Etihad Airways review