Dubai - London Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Dubai-London route
Virgin Atlantic Airways
Virgin Atlantic Airways
Virgin Atlantic Airways
Global
Virgin Atlantic Airways
Virgin Atlantic Airways
Virgin Atlantic Airways
Spread the word...
Dubai
London
British Airways
Global
46.6 total score
23 reviews
39% Recommended
43% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
Dubai-London route
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Emirates
Global
54.3 total score
33 reviews
45% Recommended
55% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
Dubai-London route
72.6 total score
7 reviews
71% Recommended
86% Value for Money
3.4/5 Customer Service
Qantas Airways
Global
46 total score
36 reviews
36% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
Dubai-London route
52.9 total score
3 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
3.3/5 Customer Service
Royal Brunei Airlines
Global
54.7 total score
3 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
3.7/5 Customer Service
Dubai-London route
26.7 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
Virgin Atlantic Airways
Global
69.8 total score
6 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.7/5 Customer Service
Dubai-London route
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Mon, 07/20/2015 04:49 PM
MRU » DXB » LGW
From S. Seewoosagur Ram. International Airport (Mauritius) to Gatwick Airport (London) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
3 out of 5
ok
plane was ok dubai airport is horrible
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Poor
Advertisement
Thu, 04/30/2015 12:08 PM
ADL » DXB » LHR
From Adelaide Airport (Adelaide) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
2 out of 5
Damaged baggage
Bag damaged in transit to London. Qantas wrapped it in plastic and said to claim on return to Australia, which was done. After one 'you'll hear back in 15 days' standard email reply there was nothing from Qantas. 10 weeks later I wrote again - no reply. I then rang and was told that as the Qantas-badged (QF) flight was through its Emirates partner, Emirates would have to raise a claim file. Qantas had not only disowned the issue and not passed the claim information to Emirates but hadn't told me about its inaction either. I was told today to call the Emirates freight handling company, Toll Ndata, which I did. They say it's a Qantas problem and won't get involved. Conclusion? Don't trust Qantas employees' advice or processes, and seriously think twice about partnership flights. Qantas doesn't care.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Wed, 09/24/2014 04:41 PM
DXB » LHR
From Dubai Airport (Dubai) to Heathrow Airport (London)
2 out of 5
Poor customer service and no way to contact them on luggage damage
My husband and I had a connection flight via Dubai with Qantas (Destination was from Mauritius to London) in July 2014. This was our first time of using Qantas service and we were very disappointed with it. 1) Our Luggage (both items) was delayed and we received them only after 1,5 days. There were no clear reasons explained to us why it had happened. 2) When the luggage was delivered to our place, we noticed that 1 bag had been horribly damaged and it was covered in the plastic bag with many personal staff outside of it. It was a brand-new bag and all its components were working well before we received it back. 3) We tried to contact Qantas about all the above issues via sending emails to them and asking a compensation for the damaged bag. The automatic email message said that we needed to wait for 15 working days and only after that time they would contact us. No one came back to us. 4) After calling Qantas office in London, the line was busy and the operator said that it might take up to 30 mins to wait (all the minutes are chargeable). After waiting for 10 mins, we gave up. We are not sure how else they can hear from us. I suppose such poor service should be taken into account. We will never use their service anymore.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Thu, 09/18/2014 07:42 PM
SYD » DXB » LHR
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
5 out of 5
Absolutely spoilt
Qantas never disappoints. Safety, service, comfort and food are clearly a priority. The flat beds are fantastic as is the privacy and leg room around each seat. Qantas business class lounge is an amazing way to start a long journey. The only negative at all is the itty bitty toilets that remain in the plane. We are already looking forward to our return flight to Sydney.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Sun, 06/08/2014 07:45 AM
LGW » DXB » MNL
From Gatwick Airport (London) to Ninoy Aquino International Airport (Manila) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
2 out of 5
Unequal treatment of passengers!
This is the second time I have taken Emirates to Manila. Travelled both times on economy. My husband makes the trip to Manila several times a year on Business Class, he has always had a very good customer experience. I on the other hand have travelled on economy and both times have been astounded by their poor treatment of the Filipino contract workers on the flight from Dubai to Manila. The service is always excellent from London to Dubai but the onward travel to Manila is a reminder of how poorly people of other races have been treated in the past. Yes, the contract workers block the boarding gates and wreak havoc with their hand carried baggage but once on the plane they are very well behaved. The stewards and stewardess are very gruff towards these passengers. When one asked for some pot noodles which are offered he was told very brusquely that there was no more when he had only served one person with pot noodles in our section of the plane. It would be an impossibility that there was no more left. The passenger was chastised for asking for something which is offered by this airline on their menu as the flight is 8 hours. These people have paid for their tickets the same as myself and other people of different races. Why the inequality of service. It is totally out of order and unprofessional. These members of staff of Emirates should be taught common decency and to treat everyone equally whether on Economy or Business Class. My flight was EK334 from London to Manila on June 3rd.
Recommended: No
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Very Poor
Mon, 01/06/2014 12:21 AM
DXB » LHR » FCO
From Dubai Airport (Dubai) to Fiumicino Airport (Rome) via Heathrow Airport (London)
1 out of 5
I need my refund back
My name is Asif Aman Booking Ref no ZPNVDX & my wif's name is Rochelle Vergara Booking Ref no 2XGCMG. We are frequent traveler & always wanted to fly with British Airways this time around we planned to go to Italy stopping over Heathrow for few hours so we thought this is the perfect time to fly via British Airways which resulted into booking of British Airways BA0106 Dubai to London & BA0548 from London to Rome. Everything was looking great online check in was done until we reach airport counter to drop our bags 3 hours prior to flight departure & with all my surprise I was asked for a transit visa since I am holding a Pakistani Passport but for my wife it was fine since she is holding Philippines passport, Since I was not having transit visa so the BA airport counter Supervisor informed us that the only option is that we book another flight & we can have this ticket fully refunded back as he will mark in BA system as Offloaded so after getting this confirmation that we will get our money back we had to struggle at airport for more than 4 hours then we took another airline flight & continued our tour during our tour we tried to reach BA online & by phone in Rome but never got a proper reply. Upon our arrival back first thing we did to reach BA Dubai office & to made our experience worse we came to know by your representative that we were NO SHOW in your system & we can not going to get full refund but only 355/-AED it was really bad since we were told that we could get full refund back at airport which prompted us to book for another airline if we were told the same that we are not going to get full refund atleast my wife could have taken BA flight to reach Rome where we were going to lose one ticket only but that wasn't the case then we ask your rep at BA Dubai office if we could rebook the flight to London Heathrow only since we are planning to travel to UK next year but the answer was as expected straight NO we can not since the ticket terms & conditions were restricted. We work in Hospitality as well where we were taught & its in our practice that there no NO in customer service we always have to come up with solutions & if there is a mistake from our side overlooking the Visa requirement to take BA flight which was never the case with KLM, That was an honest mistake unknowingly happened which can be reconsidered atleast by rebooking the flights. Based on my short experience with BA to be honest I don't expect that my above problem will be taken care of but still hoping against hope that may be still us & our family & friends can trust again British Airways in future travel by resolving above issue.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Tue, 10/01/2013 02:13 AM
LHR » DXB » MEL
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Melbourne Airport (Melbourne) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
2 out of 5
Return trip a huge disappointment
First let me say that the trip over to the UK was wonderful and the staff very friendly. However, for some reason on the return journey, the staff seemed detached, distant and one had to keep asking for things that were given out freely on the trip over to the UK. The main issue however, was the fact that when I asked for my duvet in the middle leg of the journey, I was rudely asked what I had done with it. When I said that the stewardess on the London to Dubai section had taken it and placed it in the overhead lockers, she looked at me and said, "Well where is it now??" I told this girl that I had no idea and that I was cold and needed a duvet. She informed me that they didn't have any and offered me a very thin blanket. I was furious!! Not only because I was cold and was likely to remain cold for a further six hours but that this girl had implied that I had taken the duvet myself! I have since written to the airline in question; some three days ago and to this time, I have not received a response. I cannot recommend this airline purely and simply because of this incident as one would wonder how often this happens? The ad shows you everyone in Business Class with a duvet but I wonder how often they, "Run out of them." And wonder what happened to the one I had in the first place? I was very cold! I am miffed that this has happened because I raved about the airline after the trip to London as I found the staff on those flights simply wonderful, helpful and friendly. Not so on the return journey and I wonder how this can happen and how, when you inform the company of this discrepancy, they don't bother to contact you. Sadly, I would not recommend this airline and wouldn't travel with them again myself
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Wed, 09/25/2013 10:05 PM
LHR » DXB
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Dubai Airport (Dubai)
5 out of 5
Very comfortable and pleasant flight
We had a 7 hour+ flight and the whole experience that Emirates provided was pleasant and efficient. The staff right from the check-in through to leaving the airplane were superb and made everyone feel very valued and their service was second to none. The flight had lots of entertainment catering for tastes and ages. Something for everyone. Thank you for making our first long-haul flight so good.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Sat, 03/09/2013 01:28 AM
SYD » DXB » LGW
From Kingsford Smith Airport (Sydney) to Gatwick Airport (London) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
5 out of 5
Always Emirates
I have flown Emirates many times, back and forth to the UK, as well as other destinations, in fact I have flown with them so much, I now have a gold card. Customer service is always very good, often as a gold card holder we are upgraded to business from economy, and on a 14 hour flight from DXB to SYD that is amazing. I have worked for 14 years in the aviation industry, and travelled with many airlines and still I have never found an airline to rival Emirates. If I was to think of anything negative, it would only be how busy DXB is, not a place for the unseasoned traveller!!always crowded, but that just shows how popular Emirates is.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Mon, 10/08/2012 10:19 AM
MRU » DXB » LHR
From S. Seewoosagur Ram. International Airport (Mauritius) to Heathrow Airport (London) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
5 out of 5
I think Boeing selected the best design option for ‘double’ deck mega jumbo’s.
As I hate night flights I chose to do the Mauritius –London sector in stages. An evening flight to Dubai.(Thursday and Saturdays-EK 3701 leaving Mauritius at 18.20) with a two night stopover in Dubai and then a day flight (EK 5) departing Dubai at 14.15 to London Terminal 3. However a Dubai 96 hour visa on my Mauritian Passport sells at 50UKL a pop so I shall think twice before doing it again. A friend told me once whispered to me- Go to Dubai but Don’t buy. I have remembered it, Customer service at the Emirates Mauritius office was impeccable. Polite, quick and efficient. I couldn’t have asked for better. One slight hic was when I was informed a couple of days before leaving that the seat I had requested 6 months in advance (when I paid my ticket)was not available on the 777 type that would now operate the service. So be informed that 49AB JK is not available on some of Emirates 777-300’s & this is not always clear on the website seat map provided for the flight. . I was moved to 48B. Not what I wanted but not the end of the world. I was still in the two abreast seats at the rear of the Economy cabin. The EK flight Mauritius Dubai was absolutely full- on time and OK. Cabin service and flight deck announcements all perfect. Some of the Mauritian cabin crew assigned to the service made the trip extra friendly. At Dubai’s most modern International airport I was surprised to notice that we were bussed from the Ramp to the Arrivals Terminal. Also , even at that time of night we got snarled up in ramp traffic and runway crossings and the trip took a full 20 minutes. Two days later and I checked in on-line for the EK5 Dubai to London. An Airbus 380. I had selected at seat at the front of the economy cabin. I was looking forward to the A380 and have to confess that I was disappointed. I am mystified by the design of the nose section of the A380 which seems to be designed round a large staircase, which uses up a huge area of airborne real estate and which it seemed, no one used! (On the flight I was on it was roped off). The upper deck passengers on Emirates A380’s(first and business) are boarded by an upper deck ramp and the main deck passengers (economy) board through main desk ramps. No one uses this huge staircase,either during boarding or during the flight. The boarding announcements at Dubai were too loud , distorted and incomprehensible. I do not like the Ovoid shape of the A380 fuselage. The A380 has more space ,but often it is wasted space. It is not where you want it! For instance, whereas the seat pitch is the same cramped up for legroom as any other aircraft, but there is increased space is between the window seat and the cabin wall- where you don’t want it. To reach the overhead comfort controls- you have to stand up to reach them which is difficult when wearing a seat belt. This is not a plane to fly if you want the view. To see out of the windows- you have to crane your neck. On the upper deck you hit a pane of Plexiglas a full four inches away from the window, and that after leaning across a storage cabinet. A bit better than the main deck, but not much. The siting of the cockpit mid-deck seems to me to result in a lot of wasted space especially on the upper deck.. The forward toilets on the main deck are up a mini staircase and on exiting the toilet it is like coming out on stage and one is conscious of rows and rows of eyes examining ones posture and clothing adjustments! In my opinion Boeing made the best option for design on the 747 with a double bubble shape- and the cockpit firmly sited on the upper deck and passengers seated on the lower deck-right up into the nose. The Staircase on the 747-400’s is discreetly sited in the galley structure, and is used! However the cabin of the A380 is noticeably quiet – much quieter than the rear area of the 777. The A380 also seems to have wider seats than the cramped cabin of the 10 abreast seating that Emirates has opted for its 777’s. Sorry Airbus, but if I have the choice on Long Haul. , I would choose the B747 over the A380 every time. Sorry Boeing but I would chose the A330 or the A340 over the B777 every time. This is mainly because of the amount of two abreast seating available in the Airbus Aircraft. (and yes I do know that the 767 also has lots of two abreast seating, which is so much more comfortable on long haul). As Airbus advert states- after climbing over 35,000 ft who wants to climb over four more !
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Excellent
Wed, 04/18/2012 02:54 PM
LHR » DXB » KUL
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur) via Dubai Airport (Dubai)
3 out of 5
During Flight great.. otherwise dissapointing..
The flight itself and in flight entertainment were good. The food is not bad, and the service from the attendents is very good actually. The disappointment came where we came to check-in.. We booked our flights a long time before the day. This was because of the good price and also enabling us to select our seats long before the actual day and not worry. Come the check-in of the flight and we notice that the plane has changed (from an A380, to a smaller 777) this meant we had our seats re-allocated. This alone is OK, but not to be notified in any way at all, and to have our window seats re-allocated was very much out of order. We asked for an explanation on this, and although very politely returned in conversation, the only response we got was "sorry sir yes, a lot of passengers are finding this problem, apologies" the service otherwise is good. Its just this very simple element of customer service was overlooked.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good
Mon, 10/31/2011 06:56 AM
LHR » DXB
From Heathrow Airport (London) to Dubai Airport (Dubai)
2 out of 5
First class service worse than business class
Fly regularly and emirates service is on a steady decline. First class has the worst service and a very bad attitude. Would not recommend wasting money on emirates first class
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Thu, 10/06/2011 09:23 AM
DXB » LHR
From Dubai Airport (Dubai) to Heathrow Airport (London)
4 out of 5
Best economy option
It's the best of the economy options. For a 7hr flight, being able to choose from 50 films and lots of TV all on demand with individual screens and the ability to pause makes a huge difference. Service is generally good although they often run out of food options.
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Good