Bangkok - Gold Coast Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Bangkok-Gold Coast route
Scoot Airlines
Scoot Airlines
Scoot Airlines
Global
AirAsia X
AirAsia X
AirAsia X
Spread the word...
Bangkok
Gold Coast
AirAsia X
Global
44.2 total score
12 reviews
33% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.2/5 Customer Service
Bangkok-Gold Coast route
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Scoot Airlines
Global
30.1 total score
136 reviews
18% Recommended
29% Value for Money
1.6/5 Customer Service
Bangkok-Gold Coast route
14.1 total score
7 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.1/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Mon, 08/10/2015 02:50 AM
OOL » SIN » DMK
From Gold Coast Airport (Gold Coast) to Don Muang International Airport (Bangkok) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
Blackmail at Singapore Transit - pay $40 or miss connection.
I recently flew Scoot from OOL Gold Coast to Bangkok on one booking (Itinerary) with a 2 hour 15min stopover in Singapore. Flight into and out of Terminal 2 Singapore. The flight was 20mins late. After a 15min walk to the transit lounge and a 45min wait in the queue I was told I had to go out through Immigration - go through check in and back through Immigration to get on my flight (leaving in 40mins) or pay $40sin and they would process my transfer. There was No Warning when I booked the ticket of this. All other airlines I've flown have transfers through without leaving the International departure area. Air Asia are brilliant at doing this for their customers. Scoot staff could not care less. They were only after the MONEY. I had a choice - miss my flight or pay up. If I had known about this I would never have taken the ticket. Be warned Scoot maybe cheep but you will end up paying more.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Advertisement
Sat, 08/23/2014 05:46 AM
OOL » SIN » BKK
From Gold Coast Airport (Gold Coast) to Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
Beware your cheap flight will not be cheap
Read very carefully Scoots Conditions of Carriage T & Cs before you part with your money, they have many nasty surprises. We are no strangers to LCC airlines travelling with Air Asia many times, Ryan Air, Easy Jet, Air Transat, Tiger, Jetstar, we even the worlds first LCC Freddie Lakers Skytrain from New York to London in 1978 but Scoot takes the cake for the worst we have experienced. We booked Gold Coast to Bangkok 10th August 2014. The first sly trick is that the web site appears to give you a through ticket with the words Gold Coast and Bangkok on the itinerary. On closer inspection and reading the terms and conditions what you have purchased is two single point to point legs from GC to Singapore and SP to Bangkok, with Scoot stating that (unlike all the other carriers) unless you purchase their “Scoot Thru” product not only will you have to go through Singapore immigration, pick up your bags and re check in for the 2nd leg they will not honour the second leg if their first leg is delayed for any reason. So after forking out $20 SP per person per leg for the ‘service” charge which is not clearly disclosed as per Australian law on the header price we had to fork out another $20 SP per person per leg for the “Scoot Thru” charge. Especially as we saw that the 7 day average for that flight was 1 hour late. We also had travel insurance that covers flight delays ($250 excess), so what could go wrong.. hah hah. The flight was scheduled 9am, at 5.30am we got the text, 2.5hrs late at this stage. Now you might think would give you extra time to get to the airport but.. no as per the T & Cs you need to get to the airport 90 minutes prior to the SCHEDULLED departure. This is because Scoot does not have any employees only contractors who have other duties once their Scoot time is up. Off we traipsed to the airport at 7am for an 11.30am flight. Eventually we got going around 12.20 about 3hr.20 late. Mechanical problems on the inbound flight they said. Despite having more than 50 people that needed to make the connection they made no attempt to make up the time, actually flying slower than the 7 day average. I read on a pilot’s web site that when they got the handed down 777s from SQ they de-rated the engines to save fuel and reduce landing fees leaving them under powered for the amount of seats they have crammed in. One wonders with fuel saving being the pilots number one priority what their policy is for flying around thunderstorms and volcanic ash, but I guess we already know parent company SQs policy on war zones so you have your answer. The crew refused to contact Singapore to delay the Bangkok leg (something that I have seen Air Asia do many times), they really wanted us to miss it, the BK flight even left 5 minutes early! So we missed it by 20 minutes. Off we went to Transfer desk E where the staff were surrounded by a crowd of angry people some without Scoot Thru who were shown the door to the $200 plus Air Asia flight. Prior to this we had checked that there were 4 tiger flights available before the next Scoot flight and Scoot had on its Scoot Thru terms this statement. • "No worries: You’ll be put on the next Scoot or Tiger flight, without extra charge, should the connecting flight be delayed." Wrong again, Scoot staff refused to put us on any of the Tiger flights despite seats being available on all of them; instead they gave us boarding passes for the next Scoot flight 24 hours later! This meant as one of our party was travelling on a non Singapore visa on arrival passport we were stuck in the transit lounge for 24 hours savouring the delights of the pay by the hour Transit Hotel whilst our pre paid Bangkok accommodation went up in smoke. Now here’s the real kicker item 9.6 of the conditions of carriage, if you miss your connection due to any reason at all, Scoot will cancel your return ticket ( and re- sell it presumably) unless you contact the call centre within 48 hours and have them put a notation on the return that you still want it. Simple you may think get the Scoot transfer staff to do this. Wrong, we got flicked again and also they would not supply and insurance letter re the flight delay. We were directed to ring the call centre. This invloved an expensive phone call from Singapore to the Australian number which then diverts back to the Philippines call centre and the battle with English as a second language staff who did not seem to understand their own conditions of carriage. We are still waiting on the insurance letter, good luck people have posted they have waited more than 6 months for credit vouchers that have a six month expiry. Hidden away on the Scoot web site is the Australian Passenger flight disruption policy, which over rides their terms and conditions of “No refunds under any circumstances” policy and also the NSW registered Australian ABN 85 155 097 322, so obviously people are taking them on and winning at the small claims tribunal otherwise they wouldn't have a special policy for Australians. You will need this info when your flight gets cancelled. Their 41 year old New Zealand CEO recently told the Sydney Morning Herald that they would be cancelling some Australian routes due “softness” in the market caused by the weak Australian $. Our Gold Cost flight was only half full. I suggest he might take a closer look at how his company treats its customers. They are operating the same way that Tiger tried to for 6 years in Australia despite cherry picking the best routes failed to make a profit before being taken over by Virgin. If you treat your customers with contempt sooner or later you will get taken over or go out of business or at the very least if your government props you up end up cancelling routes. PROS: Great Value if you like hanging round in departure and transit lounges whilst your pre booked travel costs go up in smoke. CONS: When they stop flying Air Asia prices will go up.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Tue, 2015-01-06 07:24

What, this is not good. When did the CEO say they were starting to cancel routes in the Sydney Morning Hearld ?
Bought return tickets, now a week later from 26 March 2015 all returning flights from Bangkok to Sydney have been taken off, there are no flights from Bangkok to Sydney now on there web site so what do we do now ? they have not advised me, guess they wait till I'm in Bangkok and on my way home . . . . No plane !
Is it Australian law that they must give us flight home, we bought return ticket, not our fault they cancel all flights back to Sydney, via Sinapore. If they not give us a way home, I'm stuck there, what do To do ?
I have travel insurance, didn't buy theirs as not very good. Other travel insurance but I don't think they cover another airline cancelling routes. What a mess and stress.

Any advice please
ST

Thu, 07/24/2014 10:46 AM
DMK » SIN » OOL
From Don Muang International Airport (Bangkok) to Gold Coast Airport (Gold Coast) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
Changed flights twice, time between to short for connection, no communication
We originally booked a return trip to Bangkok from Singapore. Our original return flight left us with almost a full day to connect with a flight home to the Gold Coast. That flight was cancelled and a new flight had been assigned to us with barely over 2 hours to connect for the flight home. Then they sent a notice two months later that they cancelled the flight to BKK and gave us a flight to DMK with less that two hours to connect. We have found the connects to take a very long time in the past. We cannot communicate with the airline. I have been on telephone hold for 30 minutes, finally getting frustrated and emailing. All emails are immediately returned as un-deliverable I can only assume that the company is in financial trouble and we are going to be left out in the cold on these flights. We are very, let me emphasize, very dissatisfied.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Wed, 11/27/2013 04:26 PM
BKK » SIN » OOL
From Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok) to Gold Coast Airport (Gold Coast) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
dont waste your time!
Well this review is before ive even boarded the flight! I recieved an email a couple of days ago which looked like junk email luckily I checked it and it was informing me that my flight had been cancelled and rearranged for a day earlier which doesnt suit my plans I tried to rebook through the website but it wouldn't allow me to. I live in the uk and had to spend over a 100 pounds calling there centre in australia the only compensation they could offer was a no booking fee on my flight change. WOW THANKS! So the flight you cancelled you won't charge a booking fee on a new one really generous! I've spent more money now than on any other good carrier knowing on my flight there will be no free drinks no free food it hasnt saved me anything do not be conned by these people!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Wed, 06/05/2013 07:41 AM
OOL » SIN » BKK
From Gold Coast Airport (Gold Coast) to Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
Beware advertised prices!
Scoot advertises online a fee of $28 for check-in baggage up to 15 kg if purchased online which rises to $55 to "purchase 15kg at check-in". But BE AWARE!! They can and do totally ignore this and charge whatever they like, which renders the online advertised price as nonsense! They justify this by the disclaimer in fine print at the bottom of the page which states, "For services rendered at the Airport, additional service fees may apply". In my case, they charged me $95 for a 9kg bag, but in their view, they could have charged me whatever they liked. Furthermore, they did not explain the difference and it has taken me three months and countless emails with clueless minions to get an explanation, which I do not accept and will be taking further. You have to wonder why they go to the trouble of specifying a higher $55 fee when they actually charge $95. Why not specify $95 so it is clear to the customer? To add insult to injury, their policy in flight is to deny customers disposable cups to access the water outlets to force you to buy a drink to get the cup! Either that or die of thirst! It's Air Asia for me next time. Similar prices and three times the service!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Tue, 12/11/2012 06:22 AM
OOL » KUL » DMK
From Gold Coast Airport (Gold Coast) to Don Muang International Airport (Bangkok) via Kuala Lumpur International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
1 out of 5
air asia hell
Dec 7th 2012 my wife my self and our four year old son with 90kg of check in baggage were to fly out of coolangatta at 9.05 am ,after a storm our plane was sent to Brisbane ,after a 4 hr delay we were told we would have to clear customs again and board a bus to Brisbane ,I had to collect my baggage and carry that to the bus .once we got to brisbane bags were checked in again . by the time we boarded our flight we were about 8 hours late ,so we and many others were going to miss our connecting flight to Bangkok . When we arrived at KL it was crazy and nobody knew what was going on ,we were eventually given new itinerary wich had us flying out the next morning at 6 am to not to BKK but to Phuket then wait 4 hours for conecting flight to Bangkok . they said they would provide a hotel for us for the night ,but all staff disapeared and we could not find any one after an hour we found some other people from the plane and they said we had to collect our bags so I had to get back into the arrivals and find all our bags which nobody told us to collect .we then found on staff member that led us a long way to some busses ,had to carry the bags a long way by my self as the trolleys could not be used . I put our 8 bags on as 3 staff memebers stood around smoking and never helped .30 minutes later we arrived at dingy hotel ,we there not enough rooms for the people on the bus ,some went back to the airport and slept in Mcdonalds as airport was shut . we were lucky enough to get a few hours sleep at the hotel before heading back to the airport were we changed to 12.40 flight to Phuket and that was delayed and we were going to miss the next conecting flight to Bangkok again ,all the time staff gave us little info. Everyone by this time was very stressed and tired . we finally arrived in Phuket with half an hour before the next flight and this is were things changed ,the staff in Thailand could not have been better met us all at the baggage carousel and helped with the bags got our boarding passes for us and helped everyone to the gate . the difference between the staff in the two countrys could not have been more different ,Malaysia staff did not comunicate with us and ran the other way ,the Thai staff were excellent .so in the end our trip that was going to be an 8 hour flight and then on to Bangkok with a short stop over took two whole days and one night and five airports all the time with a four year old kid and over 120 kg of bags ,it was the worst experience of my life . Shane
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Sat, 11/17/2012 04:40 AM
OOL » SIN » BKK
From Gold Coast Airport (Gold Coast) to Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
never again, would rather stay home.
This is the worst air line I have ever flown. Might be cheap to start with but when you add all the extras it is not. You pay air port tax twice each way. Pay for luggage, meals I would not feed to an animal, Beer $7 a can, $6 for a bottle of water, no entertainment, 22 hour stop over between flights, so you have accom. to pay and meals. No pillow etc. No head rest, seats were like sitting on wooden bench. beeper in arm rest that you keep knocking and these bep all night, no sleep. They might be budget but they are crap. Air Asia much better.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Poor
Wed, 09/19/2012 07:45 AM
OOL » SIN » BKK
From Gold Coast Airport (Gold Coast) to Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok) via Changi Airport (Singapore)
1 out of 5
Beware this airline!
This airline is ok as long as your booking arrives ok and has no mistakes. We had to pay to make name changes over the phone and they did not make the changes properly, so then they wanted another $360 to fix the name mistake that THEY made (yes thats right $360 just for a name on top of the fee we already paid). Ticket ended up 2 x the price of a major airline. Their online staff are 100% heartless and reading from a script in the Philippines. No compassion whatsoever, will not give you to a manager, will not give you any numbers to call apart from the main one. Its a shame as the air crews on board are really nice....but it will collapse due to the absolute thievery going on behind the scenes with the heartless phone robots. Stay away.The food is absolute rubbish too. This is one very upset Aussie business traveller.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor