Atlanta - Fort Lauderdale Flight Reviews

Most Recommended Best Value for Money Best Customer Service
Atlanta-Fort Lauderdale route
Delta Air Lines
Delta Air Lines
Delta Air Lines
Global
Delta Air Lines
Delta Air Lines
Delta Air Lines
Spread the word...
Atlanta
Fort Lauderdale
Delta Air Lines
Global
52.1 total score
26 reviews
50% Recommended
46% Value for Money
2.8/5 Customer Service
Atlanta-Fort Lauderdale route
73.3 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
Spirit Airlines
Global
22.1 total score
35 reviews
9% Recommended
9% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
Atlanta-Fort Lauderdale route
16 total score
3 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
Advertisement
Mon, 10/27/2014 10:58 AM
LGA » ATL » FLL
From La Guardia Airport (New York) to Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale) via Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (Atlanta)
3 out of 5
Mostly good trips on Delta.
I selected the flights and managed to get them paid for on line using my Mauritius issued Credit Card and all this from Mauritius. I did it myself on the easy to use Delta Website. I booked well in advance to be sure of flights and seats selection. A couple of weeks after selecting, booking and paying I had an email informing me of a schedule change on the outward journey. It also involved a complete change of equipment and seats. I accepted the equipment changes (from a 737-800 and 757-200 to an MD88 and 737-900, and managed to re-select the seats I wanted). Later on there was another schedule change alert sent-but this time it was just a new timing for the flight- at one hour later from the original time Baggage. The fares on Delta are very reasonable (in my opinion) and offer a much better deal than using American (BA’s partner airline in the One World Alliance.) All hold baggage has to be paid for –only carry aboard baggage goes included in the fare (nothing is for 'free' despite what they tell you). There was another slight snag as my travel companion noticed a one letter omission on the ticket print out – no ‘s’ on the end of his middle name. So I emailed Delta to ask if this was likely to be a problem at check in. They replied with the rules-i.e. names on identity document and tickets must match – but kindly added –‘don’t worry you will be OK at check-in’ which was a comfort. So we did an online check in from our Hotel. It worked out OK. Saturday Sept 27th 2014. Baggage drop at Le Guardia Delta Terminal was easily done. Nice flight in an MD90 all on time. Delta offer you a complimentary soft drink or coffee and the famous Delta ‘Cookies’. The flight from Atlanta to or Lauderdale was in one of Delta’s new Boeing 737.900ER’s skillfully and smoothly piloted through some stormy weather. Very good IFE and Maps on the touch seat back screen. Next Flights Oct 5th 2014 Fort Lauderdale-to Los Angeles via Detroit. These sectors also underwent schedule & equipment changes in the weeks prior to flight. These changes even took seatguru.com by surprise and were not registered on their site. The MD88 from FLL-DTW became a 757-200 and the flight from DTW to LAX changed time, changed flight number (from DL1223 to DL19) and equipment- from a B767-300 to a B757. FLL to DTW was notable for the fact that the Captain retrieved some dollar bills that fell from my pocket in security- and even remembered to remind me of the event as we left the plane at DTW. Very good flight and excellent- (indeed- exceptional) Flight deck announcements about things to see on the ground on the route. Check in at FLL was exclusively on self op machines with only baggage tags needing assistance from a counter clerk. Elderly travellers may find this a bit daunting. I noted that on the flight from DTW-LAX my carefully chosen seat requests had been arbitrarily changed without my being notified . DELAY The flight DL 19 on Sunday October 5th was announced as being delayed due to the fact that the flight crews were operating another flight which was due to arrive in DTW 15 minutes before our scheduled departure time. This situation became worse when the crew did not turn up at all. What happened to Delta’s rostering !! A good question. And this, for a flight that had originated in London (DL19 LHR-DTW-LAX) Public address announcements were made- requesting the missing crew- by name (!) to report for duty. No one turned up Eventually after over an hour of waiting, of the cabin crew needed, only three of the four required for a 757 turned up and it seemed that after a two hours delay and wait that an off duty member was hauled in at short notice. Eventually we got away, only to land late at a very busy LAX and find the assigned gate already occupied and a wait of 15 minutes for the gate to be free and then a towing in to enable us to disembark. Passengers who were due to connect/transit to flights to Australia and New Zealand must have missed their flights. Apart from this incident, all my Delta flights were OK
Recommended: Yes
Value for money: Yes
Customer Service: Satisfactory
Advertisement
Thu, 04/26/2012 04:18 PM
LBE » FLL » ATL
From Westmoreland County Airport (Latrobe) to Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (Atlanta) via Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale)
2 out of 5
No Customer Service knowledge or accessibility
In order to even ask about a lost bag, one would have to be present at the airport. I left the airport without my bag late last night - after waiting at the Carousel and then not finding a desk or person to report it to. I left the airport and emailed and called to no long waits and call centers who repeated, "We're extremely sorry Ms Kelley but you have to go to the airport baggage claim." to which i replied, I am no longer at the airport. I am in my sons' apartment in his clothes with no vehicle. I just want you to help me report my bag is lost.... You cannot even track your bag unless it has been reported. In order to report it you have to be at the airport. No provisions for the Spirit Baggage desk being closed at 1 am or for persons looking and not finding it late at night. It must be a joke in the countries where they take the calls - they have no power but to say, "i'm extremely sorry." And now I know why.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Thu, 03/22/2012 09:00 PM
ATL » FLL
From Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (Atlanta) to Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale)
1 out of 5
Just Awful
Worst flight experience ever! Flight was delayed both ways. Many hours for the return flight and once they boarded us, we have to sit on the plane at the gate for another 45 minutes as the captain shared with us that "their corporate office had not logged our flight and we could not leave until that was processed:. So we sat in seats that did not recline, no magazines provided and the most unfriendly staff. Prior to boarding the nine Spirit terminal counters around us had not one employee avaiable to answer and questions or provide assistance. To check a bag was less expensive than to carry on a bag. How backwards is that!!! Never! Never! Again! I would be willing to pay more money to not have my flight delayed and have friendly staff to assist me.
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor
Fri, 03/25/2011 02:52 PM
CUN » FLL » ATL
From Cancun Airport (Cancun) to Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (Atlanta) via Fort Lauderdale International Airport (Fort Lauderdale)
1 out of 5
WORST AIRLINE EVERY WITH THE MOST HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND PASSENGER APPRECIATION
SPIRIT HAS TO BE THE WORST AIRLINE WITH ALL THE DAMN FEES AND HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE HOW ARE THEY IN BUSINESS!!! There were 15 of us on a return flight from Cancun, Mexico to Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Two of us, myself and another friend that was in the group were continuing on to Atlanta, Ga. The flight out of Cancun was scheduled to depart at 11:19am. The flight didn’t leave until about 12:00pm (Cancun time). The following is the original flight details: Sunday, March 13, 2011 Spirit Airlines # 436 Cancun (CUN) to Fort Lauderdale International (FLL) Departure (CUN): March 13, 11:19 AM CST (morning) Arrival (FLL): March 13, 2:57 PM EDT (afternoon) Sunday, March 13, 2011 Spirit Airlines # 600 Fort Lauderdale International (FLL) to Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson ATL (ATL) Departure (FLL): March 13, 4:00 PM EDT (afternoon) Arrival (ATL): March 13, 5:57 PM EDT (evening) We didn’t arrive into Fort Lauderdale till about 3:15 and didn’t get thru customs till about 4:15. Finally after going thru customs (mind you they did not expediate those of us catching connecting flights), we went to the re-check where we had to re-check our bags and after doing so the agent there said we need to run to the gate. We then still had to go thru security which again they did not expediate us. We get to the gate and then the flight was already gone, right now is about 415 420pm. We then had to figure out alternative ways to get back to our home city of Atlanta, Ga. We went to the ticket counter and they said the next available flight to Atlanta was not until Tuesday 3/15/11. Now how the hell could we take a flight 2 days later. WE HAVE A JOB TOO!! We could have went on standby on the 9:25 flgith but there was two of us and even that WAS NOT guaranteed. So according to the ticketing agent, our flight was to depart at 4pm and the next flight wasn't till 925. THAT IS A 5 HOUR GAP! HOW THE HELL DO THEY NOT HAVE A FLIGHT THAT LEAVES FOR ANOTHER 5 HOURS WHEN THEIR MAIN HUB IS THERE IN FT. LAUDERDALE!! We then spoke with a supervisor named KENNETH and he told us to contact Spirit’s Corporate office. Mind you Spirit's corporate office is in Ft. Lauderdale!! That is their main hub. We did just that and they were closed. We then told Mr. Kenneth to give us some kind of credits and vouchers and he said they could not do anything. By now it is already 5:15 or so and we just got fed up with talking to the airport ticketing counter for Spirit because we had to decide what to do. So we went to see if our bags made it on the flight. Apparently they did because they lady at the baggage claim service radioed down to the baggage handlers and they said our bags were not there..now ONE of TWO thigns happened. 1) the bags were gone and they made it on the flight so that means the plane SHOULD HAVE waited for us since our bags made it on the flight and they knew we were coming and we could have made it or 2) they lied to us and didn’t bother checking for our bags. HOWEVER, ANOTHER INCONVENIENCE. So we finally decided to just rent a car and drive back to ATLANTA 10 HOURS!! ANOTHER INCONVENIENCE and something we should NOT have had to do. We did not have a choice!! We left Ft. Lauderdale at 630pm and arrive into Atlanta at 4:30am and then had to go to the airport to return the car and see if our bags had arrived. We then were at the airport in atlanta and upon arrival we returned the rental to the rental car company and went inside the airport to see if our bags had made it home. I called the baggage claim service for Spirit at the Atlanta airport around 1030pm to see if our bags had made it there and NO ONE ANSWERED!!!!!! Nothing new! So then when we got to the airport OUR BAGS WHERE THERE!! HOW DID OUR BAGS ARRIVE? I swear this has been the WORST EXPERIENCE EVER..who makes passengers drive 10 hours home. That morning of arrival into Atlanta I sent them an email and did not get a response from until 3 days later at which point all they were willing to offer me was for two people total amounts were $325 + our bag fees. Forgetting we spent $200 on the rental, and $100 in gas getting home plus the drive overnight. So where is the compensation for that. After speaking with a lady named Delores at the customer complaint department I told her I wanted to speak with a supervisor, VP or someone, again no RESPONSE FROM ANYONE...no surprise. i will be posting this posting at every and all airline review websites because people need to be aware of the UNPROFESSIONAL, UNWILLING, AND JUST HORRIBLE AIRLINE SPIRIT AIRLINES IS!!!!!
Recommended: No
Value for money: No
Customer Service: Very Poor