Air Berlin

28.5 total score
32 reviews
16% Recommended
25% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
Germany Flag Germany
» A traveler has already reviewed this airport:
I wish LH would make this their largest hub, rather than FRA
5 out of 5
So much nicer than FRA if you are connecton through Lufthansa. Unfortunately, they do not have as many flghts from here....read more
Germany Flag Germany
» A traveler has already reviewed this airport:
Worst international airport
2 out of 5
Rude staff , shabby facilities and no free wifi...read more
» A traveler has already reviewed this airline:
Terrible service and scumbag crew
1 out of 5
Just spent 16 hour on the airport in Tunisia being blatantly lied to by the crew. The flight was delayed 13(!) times, an...read more

"WARNING! Lost luggage for 11 days now"

Review

Flew from gothenburg airport via Berlin Tegel to Munich! First shock: berlin tegel - horrible old fashioned airport, unorganized with signs hanging everywhere, hard with a tight connection.
Landed in Munich, no luggage in sight. Lost and found office searched for it, they had no idea where it was, but they said: "We THINK its still in berlin since you had a short connection" . Got a "sorry" from the staff and a "IF we find it we will call" .. Great . Two weeks in germany without any clothes, allergy/astma medicines, gifts to my german friends. Constantly calling Aerogate Munich lost and found and is getting through the call 2 times and they still dont know where the luggage is the first days. After 5 days its the Berlin office responsibilty to handle lost luggage. Getting on their hotline several times and is after one week only able to reach them once with a "sorry no news lugggage still gone" . Contacting berlin airport directly on day 8 and is getting several different numbers to different air berlin offices, and is still not getting a hold of anyone.
Has been sending several emails to air berlin offices in both munich and berlin and no response.

MY LUGGAGE MIGHT BE GONE FOREVER AND NO ONE CARES, CUSTOMER SERVICE DOESNT EXIST AT AIR BERLIN !!

BIG WARNINGS FLYING WITH THIS AIRLINE! I READ HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ONLY ON THEIR TWITTER ACCOUNT WITH LOST LUGGAGE CASES!

Im starting to think Air Berlin are THIEVES! keeping peoples luggage and not giving them back!!! SHAME ON AIR BERLIN!

I paid 400 euros for a roundtrip between sweden and germany and what do I get? And overpriced ticket and lost luggage!

IM WARNING EVERYONE TO THINK TWICE BEFORE FLYING WITH AIRBERLIN AND CHECKING IN LUGGAGE!

I have been flying worldwide and my luggage never got lost with any other air lines, and here I board a 40 minute flight to Berlin and my luggage gone missing!

HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT NO ONE KNOWS WHERE A SUITCASE IS AFTER 11 DAYS? And after boarding such a short flight it cant be that hard to trace a suitcase down?

At the airport in Sweden my friend that checked if my luggage maybe got stuck in sweden got told my luggage ticket number was never registrered when it left the airport, the number doesnot exist in their computer system. So my suitcase does currently not exist ! What is this!?!?!

AIR BERLIN DOESNT CARE ABOUT THEIR PASSENGERS! BIG WARNINGS TO ANYONE WHO IS THINKING ABOUT FLYING AIR BERLIN!

I will keep spreading this in social media Air Berlin, but I guess you will just keep ignoring this like everything else?

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Are you working for Air Berlin?
If you are working for Air Berlin and would like to comment and reply to this review, please, create an account with a corporate email address and username that identifies you as being part of this company. Then, you'll be able to comment and answer your customer.
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review
Sat, 07/06/2013 03:55 AM
4 years ago

Why not start a Facebook Page: Air Berlin Lost My Luggage
I am sure you would get a lot of likes.
Lost luggage is a very serious problem on AB.

Thu, 08/08/2013 03:01 PM
4 years ago

I started it & up and running :)

Thu, 08/08/2013 04:33 PM
4 years ago

Hi - I also had terrible difficulty with Air Berlin, flying from JFK to VIE via TGL. Neither my luggage nor my husband' s arrived in Vienna. The lost luggage desk in Vienna was not helpful (although they tried) when we managed to get through. [By the way, it is very expensive to phone from hotels, and the phone went to a queue, and then 4 out of 5 times the phone cut out after about 10 minutes of waiting, so I still had to pay anyway].
Nothing at all from Air Berlin. My bag was delivered after 3 days, my husband's was still missing. After 5 days baggage express takes over the search. Again, absolutely nothing from them, except to tell my husband to spend "as little as possible" on emergency clothes/toiletries. Bear in mind, this was about 10 days into our trip (and he had no clothes except those he wore on the plane).
We did get our luggage back. Here's how. I had 2 friends (Germans living in Germany) who spent in excess of 3 hours each calling Air Berlin and enquiring. Neither of them got anywhere. I have another friend in NY who lives near JFK. She went to the airport to search for the bag. She is young and very pretty, and I guess the guy at the lost and found wanted to help her. He said the bag didn't even leave NY, but that it had now been sent to Vienna via Dusseldorf. Maybe he even sent it, I will never know. At this time we were no longer in Vienna, but in Prague. So I emailed Dusseldorf lost and found and miraculously they told me they had the bag and that it was being sent to Prague (and gave details of which flight). I alerted Prague airport lost and found and they too replied when it had arrived and had it sent to our hotel.
Then, I emailed Air Berlin and Baggage Express, telling them where my bag was! Bag was received after 12 days. After 4 weeks I received an email from Air Berlin telling me that if the bag was not found after 6 weeks, I could claim (with receipts for the contents) provided I had no travel insurance!!
Air Berlin have no idea what is going on. They do have chocolate hearts on their flights, though, if that is any consolation.
My advice to you if Air Berlin has lost your bag, and is doing nothing and not even communicating: have a friend go to the airport to look for it. Obviously not always possible. Oh and if you have a pretty female friend, all the better.

Sat, 07/06/2013 03:55 AM
4 years ago

Why not start a Facebook Page: Air Berlin Lost My Luggage
I am sure you would get a lot of likes.
Lost luggage is a very serious problem on AB.

Thu, 08/08/2013 03:01 PM
4 years ago

I started it & up and running :)

Thu, 08/08/2013 04:33 PM
4 years ago

Hi - I also had terrible difficulty with Air Berlin, flying from JFK to VIE via TGL. Neither my luggage nor my husband' s arrived in Vienna. The lost luggage desk in Vienna was not helpful (although they tried) when we managed to get through. [By the way, it is very expensive to phone from hotels, and the phone went to a queue, and then 4 out of 5 times the phone cut out after about 10 minutes of waiting, so I still had to pay anyway].
Nothing at all from Air Berlin. My bag was delivered after 3 days, my husband's was still missing. After 5 days baggage express takes over the search. Again, absolutely nothing from them, except to tell my husband to spend "as little as possible" on emergency clothes/toiletries. Bear in mind, this was about 10 days into our trip (and he had no clothes except those he wore on the plane).
We did get our luggage back. Here's how. I had 2 friends (Germans living in Germany) who spent in excess of 3 hours each calling Air Berlin and enquiring. Neither of them got anywhere. I have another friend in NY who lives near JFK. She went to the airport to search for the bag. She is young and very pretty, and I guess the guy at the lost and found wanted to help her. He said the bag didn't even leave NY, but that it had now been sent to Vienna via Dusseldorf. Maybe he even sent it, I will never know. At this time we were no longer in Vienna, but in Prague. So I emailed Dusseldorf lost and found and miraculously they told me they had the bag and that it was being sent to Prague (and gave details of which flight). I alerted Prague airport lost and found and they too replied when it had arrived and had it sent to our hotel.
Then, I emailed Air Berlin and Baggage Express, telling them where my bag was! Bag was received after 12 days. After 4 weeks I received an email from Air Berlin telling me that if the bag was not found after 6 weeks, I could claim (with receipts for the contents) provided I had no travel insurance!!
Air Berlin have no idea what is going on. They do have chocolate hearts on their flights, though, if that is any consolation.
My advice to you if Air Berlin has lost your bag, and is doing nothing and not even communicating: have a friend go to the airport to look for it. Obviously not always possible. Oh and if you have a pretty female friend, all the better.