Air Berlin Reviews | Opinions of Air Berlin shared by travelers



Air Berlin

Air Berlin logo
IATA code:AB
ICAO code:BER
Overall Satisfaction:
1.6 out of 5
14.8% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with Air Berlin.
25.9% of people who wrote a review think Air Berlin offers a good value for money.
66.7% of people who wrote a review think Air Berlin offers a very poor customer service.
Classes of service
Economy
92.6%
Business
7.4%
First
0%
Customer Service
Excellent
11.1%
Good
0%
Satisfactory
3.7%
Poor
18.5%
Very Poor
66.7%
Spread the word...
Plan a trip
Popular Destinations
How is Air Berlin ranked...?
#1
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#2
16 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
#3
41.6 total score
22 reviews
32% Recommended
41% Value for Money
2.3/5 Customer Service
#4
28.2 total score
27 reviews
15% Recommended
26% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#1
69.8 total score
6 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.7/5 Customer Service
#2
69.3 total score
6 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.3/5 Customer Service
#3
55.6 total score
6 reviews
33% Recommended
83% Value for Money
2.8/5 Customer Service
#4
54.4 total score
6 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.8/5 Customer Service
#5
52.7 total score
8 reviews
50% Recommended
63% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
#6
48.9 total score
25 reviews
44% Recommended
52% Value for Money
2.4/5 Customer Service
#7
47.1 total score
28 reviews
46% Recommended
54% Value for Money
2.2/5 Customer Service
#8
44.7 total score
22 reviews
36% Recommended
41% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
#9
100 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
5/5 Customer Service
#10
100 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
5/5 Customer Service
#11
100 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
5/5 Customer Service
#12
89.3 total score
2 reviews
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4.5/5 Customer Service
#13
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#14
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#15
86.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#16
81.3 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
#17
78.7 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#18
77.3 total score
3 reviews
67% Recommended
100% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#19
73.8 total score
3 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.7/5 Customer Service
#20
73.7 total score
4 reviews
75% Recommended
75% Value for Money
3.5/5 Customer Service
#21
73.3 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
0% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#22
73.3 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
#23
71.1 total score
3 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.7/5 Customer Service
#24
70 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#25
66.7 total score
3 reviews
67% Recommended
67% Value for Money
3.3/5 Customer Service
#26
56.7 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
#27
56.7 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
#28
50 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
#29
48 total score
4 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.5/5 Customer Service
#30
43.3 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#31
43.3 total score
2 reviews
50% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#32
39.6 total score
3 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.3/5 Customer Service
#33
36 total score
3 reviews
33% Recommended
33% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#34
34.7 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#35
28 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
#36
26.7 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
100% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#37
24.7 total score
4 reviews
0% Recommended
50% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
#38
24 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
3/5 Customer Service
#39
20 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
#40
18.7 total score
3 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#41
18.7 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#42
18.7 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#43
18.7 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
2/5 Customer Service
#44
17.8 total score
3 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.3/5 Customer Service
#45
16 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
#46
15.1 total score
3 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1.3/5 Customer Service
#47
13.3 total score
3 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#48
13.3 total score
3 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#49
13.3 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#50
13.3 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#51
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#52
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#53
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#54
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#55
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#56
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#57
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#58
10.7 total score
2 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
0.5/5 Customer Service
#59
42.6 total score
16 reviews
31% Recommended
44% Value for Money
2.4/5 Customer Service
#60
41.6 total score
22 reviews
32% Recommended
41% Value for Money
2.3/5 Customer Service
#61
36 total score
8 reviews
25% Recommended
38% Value for Money
1.9/5 Customer Service
#62
28.5 total score
10 reviews
20% Recommended
20% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#63
28.4 total score
23 reviews
17% Recommended
22% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#64
28.2 total score
27 reviews
15% Recommended
26% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#65
26.5 total score
8 reviews
13% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.8/5 Customer Service
#66
24.4 total score
6 reviews
0% Recommended
17% Value for Money
1.7/5 Customer Service
#67
22.5 total score
10 reviews
10% Recommended
10% Value for Money
1.5/5 Customer Service
#68
13.3 total score
6 reviews
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service

Air Berlin Reviews

"WARNING! Lost luggage for 11 days now"

Review

Flew from gothenburg airport via Berlin Tegel to Munich! First shock: berlin tegel - horrible old fashioned airport, unorganized with signs hanging everywhere, hard with a tight connection.
Landed in Munich, no luggage in sight. Lost and found office searched for it, they had no idea where it was, but they said: "We THINK its still in berlin since you had a short connection" . Got a "sorry" from the staff and a "IF we find it we will call" .. Great . Two weeks in germany without any clothes, allergy/astma medicines, gifts to my german friends. Constantly calling Aerogate Munich lost and found and is getting through the call 2 times and they still dont know where the luggage is the first days. After 5 days its the Berlin office responsibilty to handle lost luggage. Getting on their hotline several times and is after one week only able to reach them once with a "sorry no news lugggage still gone" . Contacting berlin airport directly on day 8 and is getting several different numbers to different air berlin offices, and is still not getting a hold of anyone.
Has been sending several emails to air berlin offices in both munich and berlin and no response.

MY LUGGAGE MIGHT BE GONE FOREVER AND NO ONE CARES, CUSTOMER SERVICE DOESNT EXIST AT AIR BERLIN !!

BIG WARNINGS FLYING WITH THIS AIRLINE! I READ HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ONLY ON THEIR TWITTER ACCOUNT WITH LOST LUGGAGE CASES!

Im starting to think Air Berlin are THIEVES! keeping peoples luggage and not giving them back!!! SHAME ON AIR BERLIN!

I paid 400 euros for a roundtrip between sweden and germany and what do I get? And overpriced ticket and lost luggage!

IM WARNING EVERYONE TO THINK TWICE BEFORE FLYING WITH AIRBERLIN AND CHECKING IN LUGGAGE!

I have been flying worldwide and my luggage never got lost with any other air lines, and here I board a 40 minute flight to Berlin and my luggage gone missing!

HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT NO ONE KNOWS WHERE A SUITCASE IS AFTER 11 DAYS? And after boarding such a short flight it cant be that hard to trace a suitcase down?

At the airport in Sweden my friend that checked if my luggage maybe got stuck in sweden got told my luggage ticket number was never registrered when it left the airport, the number doesnot exist in their computer system. So my suitcase does currently not exist ! What is this!?!?!

AIR BERLIN DOESNT CARE ABOUT THEIR PASSENGERS! BIG WARNINGS TO ANYONE WHO IS THINKING ABOUT FLYING AIR BERLIN!

I will keep spreading this in social media Air Berlin, but I guess you will just keep ignoring this like everything else?

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review
Sat, 07/06/2013 03:55 AM
1 year ago

Why not start a Facebook Page: Air Berlin Lost My Luggage
I am sure you would get a lot of likes.
Lost luggage is a very serious problem on AB.

Thu, 08/08/2013 03:01 PM
1 year ago

I started it & up and running :)

Thu, 08/08/2013 04:33 PM
1 year ago

Hi - I also had terrible difficulty with Air Berlin, flying from JFK to VIE via TGL. Neither my luggage nor my husband' s arrived in Vienna. The lost luggage desk in Vienna was not helpful (although they tried) when we managed to get through. [By the way, it is very expensive to phone from hotels, and the phone went to a queue, and then 4 out of 5 times the phone cut out after about 10 minutes of waiting, so I still had to pay anyway].
Nothing at all from Air Berlin. My bag was delivered after 3 days, my husband's was still missing. After 5 days baggage express takes over the search. Again, absolutely nothing from them, except to tell my husband to spend "as little as possible" on emergency clothes/toiletries. Bear in mind, this was about 10 days into our trip (and he had no clothes except those he wore on the plane).
We did get our luggage back. Here's how. I had 2 friends (Germans living in Germany) who spent in excess of 3 hours each calling Air Berlin and enquiring. Neither of them got anywhere. I have another friend in NY who lives near JFK. She went to the airport to search for the bag. She is young and very pretty, and I guess the guy at the lost and found wanted to help her. He said the bag didn't even leave NY, but that it had now been sent to Vienna via Dusseldorf. Maybe he even sent it, I will never know. At this time we were no longer in Vienna, but in Prague. So I emailed Dusseldorf lost and found and miraculously they told me they had the bag and that it was being sent to Prague (and gave details of which flight). I alerted Prague airport lost and found and they too replied when it had arrived and had it sent to our hotel.
Then, I emailed Air Berlin and Baggage Express, telling them where my bag was! Bag was received after 12 days. After 4 weeks I received an email from Air Berlin telling me that if the bag was not found after 6 weeks, I could claim (with receipts for the contents) provided I had no travel insurance!!
Air Berlin have no idea what is going on. They do have chocolate hearts on their flights, though, if that is any consolation.
My advice to you if Air Berlin has lost your bag, and is doing nothing and not even communicating: have a friend go to the airport to look for it. Obviously not always possible. Oh and if you have a pretty female friend, all the better.

Advertisement

"lost luggage"

Review

because the delay of freight, the transfer time too short, lost our family 3 luggage, after arriving CPH, wait 5 hour got 1 luggage, wait 4 days my princess cruise help follow luggage, at Berlin, my wife got her luggage, but mine was waiting 14 days after my return JFK still didn't get my luggage, I knew this Europe luggage transfer handle by a Novia company, airline can blame them, but the thing is they didn't email customer, or give a proper phone number to claim, even JFK cuastomer service no one answer the phone. so never use their airline, they don't want provide service to customer, AA as a partener seem don't take responsible to help, Novia company will ship my luggage through Delta air to me later. I follow CPH airport myself, don't think airline will trace for you, if you don't trace yourself. possible more than one month still can not find. web page baggage search result not correct alway pending, only Luggage transfer service center can find for you! and compensation need see recipt, not daily payment, very disappointment their service.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review

"Find another way to go"

Review

We were pushed onto Air Berlin by out frequent flyer company in spite of their reputation because they were the American Airlines' new “partner”. The flight from New York to Berlin (en route to Krakow) was 1 hour and 45 minutes late to take off with no explanation. This caused a problem with the continuing fight, so they announced the we needed to rush to meet the flight. The Berlinairport has only roll-up stairs, buses to the terminal, a nightmare of ramps and stairs, and then secondary buses. We are elderly and we left a bag with our medications on the last bus. We inquires about it in Krakow. We were given a strip of paper with a telephone number of the Berlim lost-and- found, which had been disconnected. With the help of local people, we eventually secured a series of numbers from various unspecified Air Berlin personnel, only one of which worked. The party on the end of that call hung up on us. On the way home, we stopped in Berlin. We located the lost-and-found and waited until we were in danger of missing or flight. The line waiting for service never moved over the considerable time we were there. After arrival, we made a claim on the Air Berlin website. Nothing was returned to us, of course, and we expect nothing.

Air Berlin needs decent administration. Stay away for now.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review
Sat, 07/06/2013 09:21 PM
1 year ago

Can you please provide a working phone number for those of us frustrated, angry and still waiting for our luggage that no one is doing anything to find?

"Terrible service with no one to help"

Review

On the 18th of January, myself and another traveler had a flight from Düsseldorf to Berlin. Our flight left at 6:20am and between traffic and weather, we arrived at the airport at 5:48. We rushed to the ticket counter and the time, literally, was 5:51. While trying to check-in, we were told ( by the person who was checking us in) that we just missed the deadline for check in. Airberlin did nothing and didn't try to help us get on that flight or obtain another flight with money we had already paid for our previous flights. To make a long story short, I lost that money and the only way to get on another flight, I would have to buy another ticket in full.
AIRBERLIN IS THE WORST AIRLINE EVER!!

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review

"Air Berlin ist sehr gut!"

Review

Recently, my wife and I took the train from Paris-Dusseldorf, then travelled nonstop to LAX on airberlin. This was our first time flying on this airline, and we were pleasantly surprised. We chose this airline solely because of the low business class fares which were unbelievably cheap compared to the larger European carriers. All personnel were friendly, courteous and eager to help us in any way possible. Check in was quick and routine, boarding was equally smooth and efficient, The A330 business cabin was very comfortable, with AVOD at each seat, and a good choice of audio and visual programming. Food and beverage service was first-rate, and the flight attendants were professional and accomodating. Overall, neither my wife or I, both frequent international travellers, could fault air berlin. For those extra picky fliers who go out of their way to find faults with airlines, there are a few things you should know before booking this airline. Although it may have been a meager, low cost carrier in its early days, that is no longer the case with today's service and new aircraft which continue to expand the fleet and operations to more markets. Business class isn't over the top pampering that comes with higher prices, but it is comfortable and far superior to anything else available at this price point. And, yes, as some have pointed out before, the seats do not fully recline to a flat sleeping position, but are comfortable nontheless. Seat pitch and width are very accomodating--even for my 6'3" frame. Also, the amenity kit, though quite servicable, may seem skimpy to those of international, long haul carriers. Otherwise, it's two thumbs up for this up and coming airline.

was

airfare

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Excellent
Cabin:Business Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review

"Incompetence made worse by lack of Customer Care"

Review

My Air Berlin flight left JFK almost 10 hours late. Customer Service was almost non-existent and made no effort to transfer passengers to other flights. Adding insult to injury, passengers were offered a meagre $15 food voucher to cover expenses during the 10 hour wait at the airport.

On arrival in Rome, I and numerous others found that our luggage did not get on our plane. Although my luggage did arrive the following day, it took Air Berlin five days to send it to my hotel.

It is now several months since my return home and I've wasted further time trying to get compensation from air Berlin. Mostly their so-called "customer service" staff just ignore my correspondence or create lies to avoid responsibility. The level of incompetence and disregard for customers is apalling. I still have not received compensation.

If you wanted to be treated like garbage, you will enjoy traveling Air Berlin. If you want a decent experience, try any other airline.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review

"Dont fly this airline"

Review

The worst experience I ever had other then Delta. The flight was delayed twice, they rescheduled to the most inconvenient flight, without asking me what I really want or would we be on time. The food was disgusting, they did not let extra 2 kg in overage and I had to pay like 120$ extra which negated any savings of what I was bringing, After I filed a claim with insurance company they were reluctant to give their number to me or any other information .. totally waste of time and money. I would suggest you buy more expensive airline tickets instead of dealing with air Berlin.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review

"Very, very poor service and non-existent customer care"

Review

This is an amateur airline run by uncaring people who take no responsibility for their errors, delays or for loss of luggage.

I traveled from New York's JFK to Rome on September 6, 2012. The Air Berlin flight was delayed for 9 hours and there were virtually no staff on hand to explain the problems or book alternative flights with other carriers. Air Berlin offered an insulting $15.00 meal voucher for the 9 hours. They offered no hotels, or lounge rooms to rest comfortably even though the rescheduled flight did not depart until 2:30 AM.

In my case they also lost my baggage(and the luggage of other passengers). In trying to get the luggage to me in Rome, they transferred it to a Brussels Airlines flight (or so they claimed). When the luggage was lost, Air Berlin advised me "We wish to advise that in accordance with the Interline baggage handling agreement, the airline who is the final carrier of the passenger takes full responsibility for the passenger claim, regardless of which airline is ultimately responsible for the mishandling." In other words, even though Air Berlin transferred my luggage to another carrier (that I was not flying with), they more or less said "It's not our problem. Don't bother us."

Customer Service is non existent in Rome. Customer Care in Berlin could give a damn about the problems they create.

On the return leg from Venice, I was scheduled to Depart at 3:35 in the afternoon. Air Berlin resceduled my flight to the very early AM requiring me to get up at 3:00 AM in order to be at the airport by about 6:00 AM. Again, no explanation, no compensation, no apology. But if a customer requested a flight change, they would be charged several hundred dollars.

The management policies are disgusting. I would not even recommend them for transporting garbage out of state. I'm sure they would screw that up too.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review

"Problem with payment and customer service"

Review

I brought ticked on airberlin.com and i got message that i got reservation, after few days i check my bank account and they didnt take the money, so i called to the support center, and tried to pay again and shes tellin me now i have to pay more, so i said whatever just pay, and on the same day i write to Germany an email what is goin on with my payment, and after 4 days they send me a msg that they receive the payment. But again i checked my bank and againthey didnt took money, so i send another email with the question, for confirmation payment and my reservation number, after 2 weeks still no answer.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review

"never again"

Review

While the perceived cost of the trip seemed to warrant value for money, next time I'll take a more experienced airline. My trip was preceding well, we had loaded the plane and starting taxing out to the runway on time when the pilot brought us back to the terminal. Seems there was a warning light that he was not happy with. Great, I'd rather have an airline be safety concerned and cautious. However the next ordeal was excruciating. While I admit the plane crew seemed customer friendly, every other part of their organization was not. We ended up having an 8 hour layover. Why the airline is not prepared for such events, I don't know. First we got water. Then a little later water, cracker and a snack bar. They finally decided to feed up giving us a 15 euro voucher but telling us to be back at the gate in half an hour. So you had a couple of hundred passengers descend on the airport restaurant all at once to eat. Then we had to go through security again. (This was my third time through security. When landing at Berlin from Munich, we walked onto a tram. No one told me to stay on the tram to the next terminal, I didn't even know they were going to the next terminal, to avoid going through security again. I never had that experience before, usually walking into the terminal there were signs indicating what to do for transfer flights.) Once again on the plane I saw every one watch video. I asked for earplugs several times before someone explained they are locked away until after take off. I should have kept the pair for my next flight on some other airline. Getting to New York I was too late for the continuation of my trip home by bus. However AirBerlin said that since the final destination of my trip according to the itinerary was JFK they would not provide me with a room for the night. To me, everything they did was to cut corners. I will certainly never fly on them again even if it costs me more money. See my comment below for my experience with their online services and customer service.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Berlin review