Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) Reviews | Opinions of Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) shared by travelers



Air Australia (Strategic Airlines)

Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) logo
IATA code:VC
ICAO code:AGC
Overall Satisfaction:
2.5 out of 5
40.6% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with Air Australia (Strategic Airlines).
50% of people who wrote a review think Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) offers a good value for money.
34.4% of people who wrote a review think Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) offers a excellent customer service.
Classes of service
Economy
87.5%
Business
12.5%
First
0%
Customer Service
Excellent
34.4%
Good
3.1%
Satisfactory
12.5%
Poor
18.8%
Very Poor
31.3%

Strategic Airlines became Air Australia on November 15 2011. It is headquartered in Brisbane, Queensland and operates scheduled international flights from Brisbane and Melbourne.
A subsidiary of Strategic Airlines is based in Luxemburg and operates charter flights in Europe mainly from UK to Greece and Cyprus.
Air Australia suspended all flights and was placed into voluntary administration on 17 February 2012 and into liquidation on 23 March 2012.

Spread the word...
Ceased operations
Plan a trip
Popular Destinations
How is Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) ranked...?
#1
50.3 total score
32 reviews
41% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#2
46 total score
36 reviews
36% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#3
61.2 total score
18 reviews
56% Recommended
56% Value for Money
3.3/5 Customer Service
#4
29.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#5
27.2 total score
8 reviews
13% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.9/5 Customer Service
#6
19 total score
8 reviews
0% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service
#7
31 total score
27 reviews
19% Recommended
33% Value for Money
1.8/5 Customer Service
#1
75.8 total score
15 reviews
73% Recommended
73% Value for Money
3.9/5 Customer Service
#2
61.2 total score
18 reviews
56% Recommended
56% Value for Money
3.3/5 Customer Service
#3
50.3 total score
32 reviews
41% Recommended
50% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#4
46 total score
36 reviews
36% Recommended
33% Value for Money
2.9/5 Customer Service
#5
100 total score
1 review
100% Recommended
100% Value for Money
5/5 Customer Service
#6
29.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
4/5 Customer Service
#7
27.2 total score
8 reviews
13% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.9/5 Customer Service
#8
19 total score
8 reviews
0% Recommended
13% Value for Money
1.4/5 Customer Service
#9
13.3 total score
1 review
0% Recommended
0% Value for Money
1/5 Customer Service
#10
31 total score
27 reviews
19% Recommended
33% Value for Money
1.8/5 Customer Service

Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) Reviews

"This Airline leaves you stranded- its gone into reivership"

Review

This group are broke with no assets stranding up to 4000 PAX in various parts of the world with no notice

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review
Advertisement

"great experience despite my worry"

Review

guess i have to stop reading bad reviews...i had a great flight, the cabin crew were awesome (and australian). very happy. would definately fly with them again. i think an airline is great because of its service, which is ultimately its crew...and ours was great. i only regret not taking the crew managers name because he was so great to me!!

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Excellent
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review

"Air Australia is top value for money"

Review

You will usually find reviews for airlines mostly when someone has a gripe so the numbers look somewhat poor. However our experience with Air Australia was excellent.Flew to Honolulu return out of Brisbane in January 2012. Have flown plenty of budget airlines to know a good one and we rate Air Australia amongst the best. Planes were great, seat spacing excellent(plenty of legroom). Luggage allowance exceptional. Food/drinks choice/price excellent. Service excellent. Don't let the knockers put you off. You will always find someone expecting a five star experience for a one star price and it's just not possible.If Air Australia can keep the low fares going they will open up a new affordable market to people who could only dream of going to Hawaii.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Excellent
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review

"Terrific Airline - Terrific Staff"

Review

My husband & I travelled BC from Bne-Phuket-Bne in November 2012, had great flights with Strategic & AA. the airline was so good, we booked again with them and took 2 teenage grandkids to Bali for a week. The flight out on 18 Jan, we upgraded to BC and were initially disapointed as it was the smaller plane. Our dissapointment was soon changed by the best service provided by staff and the comfort of the seating. On top of this we arrived in Bali 2 hours earlier than expected - what a bonus - only a 5 1/2 hour flight. On our return flight on 25 Jan we were in economy. My husband had Bali Belly and as a result of low blood pressure had a fall and a very nasty bang which needed stitches to the head, lip & chin 2 days before our return. He was in much pain and was very sick. I spoke with the manager in charge on the flight to see if there was any spare seats where he could lie down. She spoke with the Captain who because of my husband poor state of health upgraded him to BC. I took him straight to Princess Alexandra Hospital the next morning, It turns out he has a broken neck C5, from the fall in the bathroom caused by low blood pressure as the result of bali belly. The Bali Medical Centre failed to diagnose this - he is lucky to still be walking! Thank you so much Air Australia staff on this VC227 flight on 25/01/2012 for taking my husband's illness seriously and for caring and understanding during the flight. We cannot thank you enough, we look forward to travelling with AA again in the near future.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Excellent
Cabin:Business Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review

"easily the worst flight we have ever had"

Review

Having had good experienced with both Jetstar and Air Asia in the past we thought we would support a new home grown airline.
The checkin was not good as they obviously have no x-rays machines and hand searched all our luggage. After 4 weeks in Europe it had taken us hours to pack so this was disasterous.

We were surprised when we embarked that the plane was in fact a charter - Atlas, although we know this can happen. But were appalled at the standard of this plane and the service of the (mostly) Turkish crew. Almost nothing on the plane worked - seats were broken, the whole thing smelt rank, there was no inflight entertainment at all and the overhead reading lights did not work. As this was a red-eye this meant that if you could not sleep you got to stare into space for 9 torturous hours.

We had paid extra for exit seats which our teenagers were not allowed to sit at , despite the fact the exit doors were infact on the other side of the bulkhead in the galley and they could never have been a safety hazard. They were put 5 rows behind us but even our own seats were easily the worst exit seats we have ever seen - perhaps 5 cms extra legroom.
There was one small pasta dish offered and one drink. All our water had been confiscated at the gate, not security or checkin, and I was given one small warm cup of water the entire flight which I had to ask for repeatedly.As a result I took medication many hours late and some not at all.

I really cant think of anything good to say about this flight. It wasnt even particularly good value for money as we paid when AA were still a full service airline but we got virtually no service at all and competitors flights were only marginally more. The crew were quite rude especially one woman who sat on the other side of the bulkhead for hours gossiping with some others and laughing like a hyena. Any thought of trying to sleep was completely ruined.

I hear they are getting new planes and staff etc...but can only imagine they will have lost thousands of customers in the meantime.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Very Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review

"Great service "

Review

I recently travelled with my elderly dad who required a wheelchair as we checked in our luggage to and from the aeroplane. The staff were very happy to help going beyond the service i expected. We were given preference of seating and helped onto the plane before other passengers began boarding. The cabin crew were very accomodating to us and were all very polite and friendly. I will definately be travelling with air australia in the future.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Excellent
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review

"Worst flight ever"

Review

I am sad to say that there's nothing good when it comes to flying with Air Australia. I flew from Brisbane to Phuket in Jan 2012 and was extremely displeased with every aspect of the flight. The food was appalling, cabin crew could barely speak English, seats were very uncomfortable, no entertainment, the plane was old and unkempt. I arrived at Brisbane airport 3 hours before my flight to discover that the flight time had been changed, luckily the flight was moved to a later time and not earlier but I'm still unimpressed with the lack of notification. The flight to Phuket was unbearable as my seat felt as though it had no padding left and I could feel a metal bar at the back of the seat. On the flight home from Phuket to Brisbane about 50 passengers including myself had queued for check in only to be told that we had to move to another area for a physical inspection of EVERY piece of checked in luggage. The least that the airline could've done is ensure that this procedure was carried out prior to check in. As I was injured whilst in Thailand I paid extra for a seat with extra leg room only to be told by the check in attendant that he couldn't see evidence of this. My only option was to hobble back through the terminal, find a internet cafe, retrieve my email and print it out. On returning to the check in attendant I was told "sorry, but your seat has been allocated to someone else" I've sent an email to Air Australia detailing my concerns with no response back. If you're thinking of flying with Air Australia.....don't.

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Satisfactory
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review

"Big Letdown"

Review

We were supposed to fly Australian Air but ended up with Atlas Air...Very Bad....My advice when flying with Aussie Air...Find out exactly what airline they are putting you on before you fly....No On-board entertainment,rude attendants ,Not all inclusive fair as stated....And not finding any of this out until we checked in......Very Dissappointing

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Poor
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review
Fri, 01/27/2012 11:26 PM
5 years ago

I must add that the only redeeming factor was the Australian male steward...who was extremely helpful

"Hopeless"

Review

Cabin old and dated with no working inflight entertainment. Rude cabin crew who were more interested in reading their magazines than serving you. Food was unedible and when I asked which wines were available it was met with a response of " none worth drinking". I think she thought she was being cute but it was a mix of truth and sarcasm. Much improvement required in staff training and some money spent on sprucing up the aircraft to bring it to an acceptable level. I don't expect to see them around for too long at this rate!

Conclusion
Value for Money:No
Customer Service:Poor
Cabin:Business Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review

"Not Happy Jan!"

Review

I was quite looking forward to flying with Air Australia on my recent trip to Hawaii.
Sadly I was disappointed. On the way to Honolulu the staff were very nice and friendly. However, my seat would not recline and the seat in front of me was in a fully reclined position which made it rather uncomfortable. Luckily for me the seat beside me was vacant and I managed to curl up on both seats and sleep for a while during the flight. The plane was not very clean either, dirty seats and crumbs on the carpet. I asked for the cheese and biscuits advertised on the menu and was told that unfortunately they had not been loaded on the plane so I chose not to have anything. There were a few times where we hit rough patches and were advised by the pilot (I presume) to fasten our seatbelts until the light went out. It was nice to be informed.

Matters got considerably worse on the way home. At Honolulu airport we arrived 3 hours ahead of departure and made our way to the Air Australia desk, which is beside other Australian airlines. There were no signs indicating where to line up and a staff member said all the Australian flights are being checked through this area. So we waited and when we got to the head of the line we were told that Air Australia were at the other end of the terminal. So then we had to wait a considerable amount of time to be checked in. A sign indicating the direction of where the check in is at the unmanned Australian Airlines information desk would have been very helpful.

This time I was travelling with my partner. The seats we were allocated did not recline – unfortunately for us the seats directly in front of us did so we had our TV monitors in our faces….. and they were not working! The lights were also not working which made reading difficult. So no in-flight entertainment, no lighting and upright seats with the seats in front of us reclining. On a 10+ hour flight! As the plane was quite full staff were unable to relocate us. I was offered a torch if I wanted to read. A few times the seatbelt sign came on but no announcement was given at any of these times. Staff appeared stressed – how can they be proud working for an airline that has substandard conditions for its passengers. We were offered nothing in way of compensation – we still had to pay for our poor quality food.

On arrival in Melbourne we found our way to the baggage carousels. The monitor at carousel 3 indicated that our luggage will be arriving. We waited 40 minutes until there were no more bags. There were other passengers from our flight waiting as well. Upon asking at the baggage desk we were told that our luggage is on carousel 6. There had been no announcement of the change of carousel. This was very poor indeed to say the least.

I understand that Air Australia is an airline new to taking commercial passengers and I am willing to accept a hiccup or two. However the condition of the plane, the lack of information and direction at the airports leave much be desired. These are observations that I was able to see. I shudder to think of what may be happening in the background with cleanliness, maintenance and staffing morale.

I have raised these issues via their feedback email and have not received a reply.

Not good enough really.

Conclusion
Value for Money:Yes
Customer Service:Satisfactory
Cabin:Economy Class
Comment on this review or Add your Air Australia (Strategic Airlines) review